We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanctuary from the chaos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Tzarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tzarra
Ranked #190 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sanctuary from the chaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is such a wonderful little riad a real sanctuary away from the chaos of the medina. The staff are so hospitable and accommodating you couldn't ask for more. We stayed in the Africa room and were very happy, the entire riad is decorated in a simple modern moroccan style and wasn't dated like many of the others we saw online. Your breakfast is included in the price and each day you get a delightful surprise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakira b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azzouna, Manager at Riad Tzarra, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind TripAdvisor review, it makes doing what we do that much more enjoyable. We enjoyed meeting you at the end of your Moroccan holiday and hope that we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best, Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    19
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have just had a great first visit to Marrakech with 6 friends - a visit made wonderful by staying at the superb Riad Tzarra in the heart of the Medina moments away from the Souks. This small Riad is lovely. The atmosphere calm after the bustle of the Medina, the rooms comfortable, the staff so charming and helpful, service impecable and the food - breakfasts and dinners - delicious. We were extremely well looked after by Stuart and Mandy who organised our trips out, booked restaurants and guided us to the most interesting parts of the souks. We also visited the other Riads owned by Pure Riads and all had the same calm beauty. We could not recommend Riad Tzarra more highly.

Room Tip: We were in the African room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivepicker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradou
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have just had a fantastic five day break with 6 friends in Riad Tzarra, to celebrate my birthday. The riad is absolutely magnificent , all the staff utterly charming , helpful and efficient and the breakfasts and dinners delicious ; We were so well looked after by Stuart and Mandy who organised all our restaurants , with a day in the Atlas mountains for the actual birthday . I can't recommend it too highly , and we shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyParadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arles, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful few days at Riad Tzarra in Marrakech. The Riad is beautiful situated in the heart of the Medina minutes walk from the Souks. The attention to detail, organisation and service were superb. We viewed the other Riads owned by Pure Riads and loved them all. The breakfasts and dinners were superb and the staff amazing. If planning a trip to Marrakech - we could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmunchie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our group of 4 stayed in two rooms at Riad Tzarra from April 5 to April 7; after returning from a Sahara trek we stayed at their sister riad, Dar Hanane from April 10 to April 13 (both 2012).

Both PROPERTIES were elegantly decorated in what I'd call at Nouvelle Moroccan style. Both were superbly kept, immadulately clean, and the beds firm and restful. Both are located on the same derb (alleyway) about a 10 minute (times given are for newcomers who don't know the streets intimately) walk to Jema Al Fnaa; 5 minutes to the souks, and and less than 1 minute walk to a covered passage that had "neighborhood" establishments (i.e., grocers, herborists, "street" food, baked goods, soda/candy). The staff also recommended nearby restaurants - the proximity of good food nearby came in especially handy after tiring days of walking.

Even more than location, the SERVICE was impecable. Each day the general manager of PureRiads (the riads' holding company) - Mandy - greeted us personally and inquired in depth about our stay and satisfaction. Mandy also arranged 2 exceptional private guides for us (for sightseeing and through the souks), and gave us "tips" for getting the most from our vacation (without which we sould have been hit up for baksheesh (tips) for "directions" offered by young Marrakchis when we were lost - and getting lost in Marrakesh is inevitable.) (One guide in particular, SIMO, took us through the souks; Mandy selected him because he doesn't take commissions from merchants.) The housekeeping staffs were friendly and eager to serve. Lovely breakfasts served anywhere in the riads, fresh coffee and/or mint tea (and water) anytime. Also, Mandy arranged a special birthday celebration on the rich side of town - Hivernage - at Le Comptoir. Besides seeing how wealthy Marrakchi's live (at western prices) we were entertained by excellent bellydancers and east-meets-west people watching. We felt like Pashas.

It still astounds me that prices within Morocco (once you get there) are so reasonable. No doubt its because the dirham is a currency unique to Morocco (I believe). In the US (based on 8 dirham @ $1) a comparable bed and breakfast would have cost $300/night/room or more; @ PureRiads, it came out to barely $120/night/room. A three course meal for $10-$15? Grilled meat sandwiches (fresher and tastier than McD's) for $1? Its certainly worth the high airfare, and you can make up alot of that cost if you're willing to eat like a local.

Room Tip: PureRiads upgrades to the best room availalbe when you arrive, so try to arrive earlier. To get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The riad is in a perfect location for access to the souks, museums of Marrakech and photography, and a very good restaurant la fondouk.

Our stay was made very enjoyable by exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. As first timers to Marrakech we appreciated the 24 hour assistance and guided escorts to and from the maze that is the old town when needed.

The riad food was authentic and very tasty and a welcome respite from the western approach we are used to.

The room we stayed in was a good size, tastefully decorated, and well worth the start-of-the-season nightly rate.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed at Dar Hanane (sister riad just around the corner) but came to Riad Tzarra for our hammams and massages - a great treat which made us feel both clean and relaxed at the same time. ASfter the treatments, we had mint tea on the divine terrace and just chilled for an hour. Beautiful riad and lovely staff - thank you !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimiable1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#152 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#31 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#97 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#27 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#24 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tzarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tzarra

Property: Riad Tzarra
Address: 22 Derb Lalla Azzouna | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tzarra 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, beautiful, refined. Riad Tzarra is an elegant house in one of the oldest neighbourhoods of Marrakech. Lovingly restored by the renowned architect, Christophe Siméon, Riad Tzarra offers guests a comfortable and serene home in the centre of the Medina, close to the Musée de Marrakech and the Medersa Ben Youssef and only minutes from the entrance to the Souks and the Place Jemaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tzarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tzarra Marrakech
Riad Tzarra Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing