We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an exceptional experience”
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #8 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Words can’t really do justice to the level of service provided by Jill and Damien at this little gem. The Riad is an oasis of calm, coupled with discreet hospitality – it’s as if you are the only guests – and there’s no sparing attention to detail. We chose to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary somewhere entirely different – and couldn’t have been more delighted by this exceptional experience. The staff are quietly charming, there’s generous help and advice on all aspects of your visit and, if you choose to dine in the Riad itself (highly recommended!), Latifa’s cooking is a treat. Every inch of the place has been carefully designed, and is spotless. We’ve booked for next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yodarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at the Riad Noir D'Ivoire for a week after originally intending to stay for just 3 nights. We studied Tripadvisor before we left and I'm so pleased we followed the positive recommendations and booked. It was a really memorable holiday.

The Riad is a complete oasis in the old part of town and most definitely has the wow factor; the website pictures don't do it justice. Jill (the owner) is an incredibly talented interior designer and the look is ultra sophisticated yet homely. We were immediately given a lovely welcome and and sat sipping gin and tonics by the pool while our bags were whisked away.

The Riad is a very welcome antidote to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The old town feels completely safe but is an assault on the senses and it's impossible not to get lost. It is therefore important to be able to retreat to calm after exploring.

Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff. They are all a really happy and welcoming bunch and complete professionals. We enjoyed massages in the spa and really delicious meals throughout our stay. We were also escorted to restaurants etc. when we weren't sure of the way. It is easy to tell that Miriam, the housekeeper, and the rest of the team are very proud of their work and the place is completely spotless and perfectly presented at all times.

Whilst the rooms are situated around two open courtyards, there are lots of nooks and crannies to sit and have a drink or a quiet read. One night, for example, we came back from dinner and had coffee curled up in one of the libraries. We also had drinks on the roof terrace or round the pool.

Damien should be mentioned for all his help and recommendations while we were there. He figured out what we liked very quickly and recommended perfect restaurants and places to shop. Other couples did more unusual activities like hot air ballooning and trekking in the mountains. At all times, both Damien and Jill are on hand to help without being intrusive.

After three nights we were supposed to stay in the Palmerie for the remainder of our stay but were so disappointed by the second hotel (which was also recommended by Mr & Mrs Smith) that we came running back within an hour and a half! The second place had its faults but, in truth, we had also been spoilt by that stage.

If you're not sure which room to pick don't be put off by the smaller rooms because they are still luxurious. During the second part of the stay, however, we moved to the Camelion, which was uber luxurious with a big bath and lots of space. We also asked to see some of the other rooms and were impressed by the Camel and the Panther.

Finally, the real star of the show is Jill, who is enormous fun and the perfect host. I am very surprised by the 2 "terrible" comments on Tripadvisor because they simply don't accord with our experience, which was entirely positive.

I have no doubt we will return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank APReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We would like to thank you both (but especially Damien) for the care and attention we received during our stay in Marrakech, which was the best that we have ever received in any city and made our break both memorable and extraordinarily relaxing.

To quote Zorro “we shall return”.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robireland52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and it was heavenly. After some hectic hours in the medina you'll enter an oasis of rest and peace, you'll be welcomed by their lovely staff and amazing managers, Jill and Damien, who are pleased to give you a lot of tips, make reservations, arrange a driver, whatever you like! We'll be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmerceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had five fantastic days in this beautiful Riad. The service was very personal and friendly.
The room and all the facilities was very tasteful and charming, and the food was also very nice. The location was also great, with just a few minuts walk to the Souk. We will definitivly be back.
Laila & Helge, Norway

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We spent 7 nights at Noir D'Ivoire on honeymoon and I cannot think of a better place to start our married life together. Jill, Damien and their terrific team made the whole experience unforgettable and were so incredibly attentive and kind. We arrived a little frazzled after a very early start from London but arriving into the Riad we felt instantly calm and relaxed. Nothing is too much trouble at the Riad and whilst the look and feel of the place is luxurious it is also incredibly comfortable which makes you feel at home. Damien provided us with some excellent advice on restaurants (including La Maison Arabe which has a fabulous art deco-style bar) and that coupled with the wonderful breakfasts at Noir D'Ivoire meant we returned home a little heavier than we arrived!

We were very lucky to receive an upgrade whilst staying at the Riad, the first room was gorgeous but the second room really was incredible - the Zebre - complete with a private roof terrace and hot tub. A real treat!

We will definitely return to Noir D'Ivoire, it will always be a very special place for us. And they make a cracking martini!

Zoe & JP

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

What a delightful RIad - just perfect. Celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary here choosing the Panthere Suite to make it special. Jill and Damien have a great team of friendly staff and offer excellent restaurant recommendations. You are given the comfort of mobile telephones should you need assistance. Breakfast is excellent and the RIad itself is beautifully furnished - a charming oasis to return to after exploring Marrakech. Thank you Jill and Damien for making our anniversary so memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seday23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
1,304 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#18 of 499 in Marrakech
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 499 in Marrakech
1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
1,037 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £149 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic, luxury boutique hotel composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include bar, Spa with traditional hammam, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing