We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Grande Dame”
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #11 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“La Grande Dame”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Noir d'Ivoire is, undoubtedly, La Grande Dame of Marrakech riads. Unequalled in looks and service, comfort and style.
A few things sets it apart from other also beautiful properties: it has plenty of spaces, nooks and crannies to rest, sunbathe, sit alone with a book or a drink, without feeling intruded upon by other guests or staff. Aaahhh, its staff! They are just wonderful. Salient among them are Noury and Hicham, both charming, professional, friendly and funny -always ready to make one’s day even more comfortable. Also Mama, the great cook who prepared the most scrumptious beef tajine I had in all of Marrakech. Aziza and Abdoul have a permanent lovely smile to greet you. Meriam is always ready to help, even with packing. The atmosphere is calm and it is noticeable that the staff enjoys working there and does it professionally. A sense of calmness and harmony pervades the spaces.
Travelling by myself, their two smaller rooms were comfortable, pretty and perfect. Their suites are lovely –I adore Chameau, which overlooks one of the two stunning patios. The pool, whilst not huge, is plenty good enough for a medina riad, and it is wonderful to sunbathe a couple of hours in the afternoon, in between souk visits. Its terrace is beautiful, with great views, and comfortable areas to sit, have breakfast or a drink. There is even a small but very adequate gym.
Not too far, are a couple of very pleasant medina restaurants, namely Le Jardin, La Terrace des Epices and Café Arabe. I was able to go out in the evening and return by myself at around 10 or 10.30 pm without any problems, but the riad also offers a mobile telephone during one’s entire visit so that one can always call to be rescued if lost or in need. That is a very welcome touch.
The riad is located in the Bab Doukkala area, with its antique shops, and tailors –ideal!
I have tried many riads in Marrakech, since I visit with certain frequency.
In its category, Noir d’Ivoire is hard to beat. Go if you want to be pampered and wooed by its beauty and its staff. Not for nothing does it have many return visitors.

Room Tip: Chameau is so lovely. Tourterelles or Gazelle for single occupancy or short stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    36
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
155
947
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Each time I have stayed at this riad, my experience has been faultless. It's an amazing and very special oasis right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The staff are warm. And can't do enough for their guests. Nothing is too much. I was made to feel special, as if I were their only guest. The Riad itself is breathtakingly stylish, and also very comfortable. I could quite happily go there and never leave the Riad. It's that sumptuous!! I can not wait to go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from 5 days in Morrocco to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and our stay at Noir d'Ivoire was certainly a highlight. The riad is located in the Medina and a short walk to the hustle and bustle of the Souks and is a tranquil oasis. As everyone else has commented, this is very unlike a stay in a hotel - you are treated like family more than guests. Rather than a standard "check-in", we were welcomed with a drink and Afaf sat us down to explain a few things. They then presented us with our own mobile phone for the duration of out stay so if we needed anything we could just ring. That might be to say where we wanted to take breakfast (in our room, in the central courtyard, on the roof terrace etc....!) or a call to be guided out of the souk maze (luckily not needed). Such a nice idea but one that demonsrates the lengths they go to offer the personal touch. Afaf, Hassan and the rest of the team are extremely hospitable and very knowledgable about the city. They even helped us organise a bit of the trip that wasn't even organised by them. We didn't try the food in the riad as we ate out in the Medina every night but slightly regretted it as every night we returned to talk to those who had eaten in the riad who said it was amazing, where our's was a little average. Probably not a good place for those with young children as part of the charm is the peacefulness. As lovely as they are, my three children would probably not enhance that tranquilness! Believe all the hype - it's amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astuarthunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Noir d'Ivoire is a perfect paradise inside the busy and crowdy Marrakesh! We have just returned from our trip in Morocco of which we spent 6 nights in this amazing riad. Our words are few to describe these days in Riad Noir d'Ivoire. We were welcomed by Hassan and he introduced us to whole stuff! We even didn't carry our baggages up to the room! Hassan gave us an excellent map and tips for what we will visit, eat, buy etc. Afaf also recommended some places to see and both were there every time we wanted them. They also give us a cell phone to give them a call any time of the day if we needed something or in case we got lost to sent someone to pick us up. Everything we wished for was in our room or booked for us. The stuff was so friendly, kind and they always give you a big smile!! Our suite (panther) was also amazingly furnished and so so clean!!! The riad is full of luxury and you feel like you open the door to paradise! One night we stayed for dinner in the riad and Mama cooked a delicious meal for us! Hicham also was always there for us and he arranged many of our excursions! Breakfast was excellent! Hassan and Afaf said "this is your home now feel free to ask everything you need"!! We believe these words give the whole picture....!!!! The location was perfect for wandering around the Medina! Hassan recommended some places for dinner or lunch and we definitely believe he knows what will please you!!! We even had the opportunity to have our private taxi driver Mohamed who is also very kind and has a beautiful sense of humor, he even dropped us until the door of the Riad when we were out late at night! Believe us, having a private taxi driver that you know he will pick you every time you want and he will leave you just outside of the riad is a big relief in Morocco. We left the riad at 5:30 am and they even had ready the breakfast for us! Everything was fabulous and we thank all the stuff for our beautiful stay and memories in Marrakesh!!! We definitely recommend this place and we eager to come back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphrodite T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just returned from a week in Marrakech, the first three nights of which were spent in this magical place. The experience was fautless, We were met at the airport, as arranged and driven to as near to the Riad as a car can get. Then we were met by Riad staff and the house donkey, Cous Cous (a very sweet donkey, by the way) who towed a little cart with our luggage in it through busy alleys to the Riad itself. Unremarkable from the outside, we entered a different world. We were welcomed by Hassan and Afaf and given a welcome drink and painless check in. Were also given a really excellent map, with a detailed version overleaf and - a great touch this - our personal mobile phone with the Riad's number, as well as those of Afaf, Hassan and Hicham programmed into it. This was our means of calling for any service, their means of contacting us and a mobile panic button if we got lost. Thanks to the excellence of the map, we never did!

The riad comprises two buildings, which intercommunicate. The original one houses the winter, covered, courtyard with a small swimming pool, reception, a little boutique and six rooms, some of which are junior suites. There is a roof terrace with open views. The second building houses the bar, a wonderful open summer courtyard with a larger pool, a fumoir and the hammam. There are three master suites in this section, one of which we had, all of which have their own roof terraces. The decor and attention to detail was faultless. Our suite was excellent with powerful air conditioning (necessary) a beautiful bathroom and sitting room overlooking the courtyard.

Service was impeccable - nothing was too much trouble and the staff were all charming. Mama's food was excellent - breakfasts were delicious and dinner was so good that we dined at the Riad twice. The location was perfect in the North Medina and only 15 minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the central square, with souks on the way. It was a pretty easy walk to the Majorelle Gardens in the New Town and on to the centre. So all in all a perfect location for a magical little place. We went to La Mamounia for lunch one day. It seemed over large, expensive and impersonal. We were so pleased to return to our home from home in the Medina. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: I can only speak for our room, a master suite called Guepard. It was spacious, beautifully appointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Noir D'Ivoire is a really wonderful oasis of peace, style, and luxury right in the centre of the old city. It’s a small boutique hotel, beautifully appointed, and with the intimacy of the second home of one’s dreams. The food and service and staff were great and Hassan (the manager) could not have been more helpful. Wonderful hotel which can be unreservedly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms are particularly desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had the most amazing time at Noir D'Ivoire. From the moment we arrived and met couscous (the Donkey) and Hassan we were made to feel like the Riad was our second home. The Riad and rooms are incredible and extremely luxurious. I would highly recommend this place if you are planning a trip to Marrakesh. The restaurant recommendations were spot on and the map Hassan gave us made sure we didn't get lost (too much)! The location was perfect for wandering the small alleys in the Medina, the souk and the main square. We had the most amazing breakfast every morning served by the amazing staff. Great place highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganTomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,987 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#21 of 500 in Marrakech
1,410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Property: Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic boutique hotel composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include bar, Spa with traditional hammam, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing