We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Fabulous”
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #11 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Utterly Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at Riad Noir D'Ivoire after reading the excellent reviews about it on trip advisor. I must say it not only lived up to its reputation in every sense of the word but far exceeded it. Nothing was too much trouble for Jill, Damien and the team...

Lighting a fire in your room, no problem. Walk you to a restaurant through the maze that is the Medina, no problem. Offer you probably the best room I've ever stayed in (The Panther Suite), no problem.

Just like to say a massive thank you for making it a wonderful weekend, we will be sure to recommend it to every person we meet.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    36
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
155
947
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Echoing the sentiments of all of the other reviewers, we can only reiterate that this boutique hotel is unique in all respects: the incomparable service, attention to detail, stunning and comfortable surroundings, attentive and entertaining ambience..all serve to create a wonderful haven in the centre of the medina. We love it and would recommend it without hesitation. Jill, Oliver, the staff: all fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMrandMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Everyone has written so eloquently that there's not much left to say. I would, however like to submit that Noir d'Ivoire was also excellent for kids. I just returned from a week at the Riad with my husband and 3 children (11, 9, and 7). Jill, Damien, and the entire staff treated them like an indulgent aunts and uncles. They tracked down a special pancake they had read and fantasized about, they hoisted our youngest up on donkey Cous-Cous's cart to his delight, they smilingly served up hot chocolates at any hour of the day. I had asked Jill for some suggestions for day trip out of the city, and she went above and beyond the call of duty by arranging the entire trip for us, including driver and accomodation. And what a trip it was: an unforgettable odyssey to the distant 20-story Saharan dunes to ride camels.

In a daunting city to tackle with kids, Noir d'Ivoire made it a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

It seems that there is little to say about the Riad Noir d'Ivoire that has not already been captured by the host of happy reviewers justly singing its praises.

Located in the Medina, an 11th century maze seemingly designed by a master puzzle-maker intent on inducing near constant dis-orientation, the riad is in an area that seems somewhat less frequently traversed by European travelers as it is a 20 minute walk to the souks and Jemaa el Fna. The Medina is a mad, discordant and thoroughly untamed mess during the day with peoples of all backgrounds (Arabs, Berbers, Africans from further south on the continent, Europeans, etc) jostling to make their way through the narrow winding streets while trying hard not to get run down by seemingly insane scooter drivers apparently intent on killing innocent pedestrians and themselves. Late at night the streets and alleys are quiet and spooky, with soft yellow lighting, shadowy corners, and dark passages that can seem frightening at times. Arriving back at the riad, whether from the perils of the day or the mysteries of the night, is a transcendental experience that is not unlike waking from a fitful dream to find yourself sunk warmly into your own comfortable bed.

Making your adventures in the Medina , the new city, or further afield easier and more enjoyable are Jill (the owner) and Damien (the GM). Together, working as a tag team of helpfulness, they managed to worm their way into the lives of this somewhat jaded and cynical couple in a matter of days. From strangers we were paying to accommodate us (and from whom we would typically need little more than concierge services), they rapidly became our friends and confidants. They seemed to have the amazing ability to sense who needed help, how much and when - like emergency room doctors performing expert triage - and quickly suggested and made arrangements that seemed to best suit the "adventure-level" of the guest in question, from door-to-door hand-holding to "take a left at the orange barrels".

While we might otherwise have been predisposed to shun the active participation of strangers in our vacation, Marrakech is the kind of place where you need a native guide. While neither Jill nor Damien is actually a native, their guidance was critical to our happiness and enjoyment.

All the gushing and praise for the hotel, its staff and accoutrements are deserved, but equally important is the light touch and steady hands of Jill and Damien that make this place tick and give it heart. I would not hesitate to recommend the Riad Noire d'Ivoire.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simarkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at the Riad Noir d’ivoire for one week after Christmas in 2009 and it was absolutely magnificent. The Riad is renovated with a stunning love to detail and the unique style of its interior is astonishing. Without doubt I can say that it belongs to the most beautiful boutique hotels I have seen so far. Even though the Riad was fully booked we had the feeling of enjoying our own private luxury Riad throughout the whole time. The Riad contains of two courtyards and as there are no guest rooms on the lower floor it is more than spacious. It is situated in the northern Medina about 10 minutes from the Souks. Staff was very friendly and helpful and gave lovely hints and tips for enjoying Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JermynStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battersea, london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Marrakech can be a daunting prospect, but you will be met by your driver at the airport, transported as far as you can bring a car, then met by staff and Cous Cous, the donkey and cart... and then you step over the threshold of Riad Noir D'Ivoire and all thoughts of madness disappear...

We have stayed at other Riads and they tend to bring the madness inside with crazy colours and tiles but Jill's Riad is calm and considered, there is madness however, brought on by Poppy the One Eyed Cat that has reinvented herself after being rescued by Jill, Poppy (Pop Eye) lives every minute to the full!

We experienced varied weathers while we were at the Riad, the scorching sun and cold nights, by day the riad was cool and in the afternoons and evenings there were roaring fires with olive wood, the flames dance and play like no other wood, perfect with fresh coffee or a bottle of Sahara wine.

The Riad is quite massive but is comfortably parcelled up into different areas, all of them allow you to have your privacy or share with friends, the rooms are beautiful, we had the luxuries of an office, (should we want to work, no!), lounge area, roaring fire, satelleite tv, fabulous bathroom with his and hers sinks, private terrace, private steps up to our private roof terrace and jacuzzi... would you want more? well there is, there are the main areas with pools and you can eat anywhere...

Further luxuries include a gym, massage therapy, a Hammam in the Riad so that you just have to pop downstairs in your dressing gown for some more luxury!

You can have as much as you like, the wine cellar is extensive from local Sahara to LPR and the food from the kitchen is great for a cosy night in...

Can you tell that i am very keen? Jill, the owner, has extensive knowledge of what to do, where to go, where to eat and they supply you with a mobile should you ever get lost... a couple got lost while we were away and the Riad dispatched staff to 'bring them home'. The staff are fabulous, very discreet and kind, they seem to know that its your time and that really matters.

After a day out in the Souks of Marrakech, what you need is a place and people to come 'home to' and that is what Riad Noir D'Ivoire delivers...

Go visit, you will be very glad that you did..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frostyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

What can I say, I have stayed in a number of Riads in Marrakech but Riad Noir D'Ivoire is the absolute best! I will never stay anywhere else again on future visits to Marrakech.
The rooms and decor are immaculate, the staff is helpful, discreet and have an eye for details that I miss when staying at other hotels worldwide. It is a piece of relaxing heaven in a mad bustelling city.
Jill and Damien are a great source of knowledge when it comes to the best places to eat (although the chef in the Riad whips up a mean moroccan meal for you if you want).
Do also make use of the excellent treatments they have available, we had a massage and a hammam both of which were out of this world!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Mad-Otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
1,987 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#21 of 499 in Marrakech
1,410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 499 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Property: Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic boutique hotel composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include bar, Spa with traditional hammam, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing