We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
1,350
39
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,350
39
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscouscousmobile phonezebra suitepanthere suitehoneymoon suiteprivate rooftop terraceatlas mountainsan oasisevery guesthome away from homerose petalsrestaurant recommendationsfour nightsday trippublic areasbeautiful roomvisiting marrakech
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

I can confirm what everyone else has said about Noir d'Ivoire: it's beautiful, and the staff are warm, welcoming, and helpful. I've tried to come up with some helpful tips for your stay at the riad, and in Marrakech in general:

1. If arriving by air, do the Fast Track service that the riad arranges. Totally worth it.

2. The riad is definitely tucked away in the medina. It's quite a hike to Jemaa al Fna, for example. The pro is that it's nice and quiet. The con is that you will probably get lost if you try to navigate the streets/alleys alone. The riad always sent a staff member with us when we went out to restaurants, and we hired a guide to take us to the palace, tombs, and through the souks. Especially at night, I don't think you would want to venture out alone. Be upfront with your guide about shopping (whether you want to do it, what you're looking for, what you're NOT interested in, etc) so that you don't waste time.

3. We stayed in the Chameau suite, and it was a perfect size for us. There is a nice sitting area inside, as well as on the balcony just outside the room overlooking one of the courtyards. I wouldn't worry too much about which room or suite you book- the courtyards and common spaces are so beautiful, particularly at night, that you won't want to be in your room. There are many cozy nooks, sofas, and lounge chairs around the courtyards to hang out in, so you'll probably only use your room for sleeping and showers.

4. The staff made excellent recommendations for activities during our trip. We took a cooking class, did a hammam, hired a guide to tour us around the medina, and spent a day in the Atlas mountains which included riding mules to a traditional Berber house for lunch (or you can book lunch at Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot, which is beautiful and accessible by car). The mule experience was such a highlight, and the mountain villages we passed through are quaint and peaceful. I would do it again in a heartbeat, and we took about 200 pictures.

5. Dinner at La Maison Arabe. Again, a staff recommendation. It was spectacularly beautiful, and only a 5 minute walk from the riad. Get a table by the pool.

Enjoy! Your stay will be wonderful, and you'll write a glowing review just like all the others :)

Room Tip: Chameau Suite has indoor and outdoor seating nooks
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, General Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and useful review about your stay with us at Riad Noir d’Ivoire.

It’s always so good to hear from our guests and know you have found the Riad beautiful and the staff warm and welcoming.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your experience with us and sampled some of the activities and services we offer our guests, it sounds like you have fully embraced exploring Moroccan culture and the surrounding area. We hope you will continue to use your new cooking skills and the 200 photos you took on your trip through the Atlas provide you with lots of good memories.

Please come back and see us again, you are welcome anytime.

Warm regards

Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

I stayed in this Riad a while back as a birthday treat, but never got round to writing a review. After travelling extensively to various places this Riad is still the place for me that marks exceptional service and quality. The start of the experience was interesting, being greeted by cous cous the donkey who helped bring our luggage to the Riad. Once you're at the riad, the decor is divine and the staff go above and beyond to ensure that guests are comfortable. Unfortunately on my first night there I was suffering from a headache and forgot to bring painkillers. They went to the pharmacist and bought painkillers for me. The mobile phone given to guests throughout there stay is nice touch, you can call them for room service and use it whilst you're out and about exploring the city if you are lost/need advice. The food is wonderful, they have both French and Moroccan cuisine that is all homemade. Definitely the best quiche I ever had. Finally the best thing is that there is no set time for breakfast, which is ideal if you want a long snooze, especially after travelling. You just call on the mobile that they've given you and they bring a freshly made breakfast to wherever you want to eat in the Riad (room, roof terrace or dining area). The moroccan pancakes are amazing and even after all this time I still crave them! Do not hesitate to book into this Riad!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kks87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Public Relations Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Good afternoon,

We are happy to receive such a complimentary review, thank you for taking the time to write about all the different elementd of your stay at Riad Noir d’Ivoire.

We are delighted you have returned to stay with us for a second time, this in itself is a huge compliment to our team who are dedicated to providing not just a stay but an experience to our guests. We hope to welcome you many more times!

Warm regards

Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The Riad is a real hidden gem in Marrakech! We were at New Years Eve at the Riad, enjoying great food and wine ( great cellar- hard to find in the Médina!) and above all an amazing ambiance. We had to contact them to pick us up and guide us through the little alleys. After a short minute walk we arrived at the place where you can see only a door. As soon as the door opens you are in paradise! The place is incredible! The people of the hotel are so nice and welcoming!The hotel manager is so professional, warm and kind! A great place to stay or to have a lovely dinner! Strongly recommend it!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ThaleiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Public Relations Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Good afternoon,

Happy New Year! We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Riad Noir d’Ivoire.

We are delighted you have found the Riad ‘incredible’. Thank you for choosing to share your New Year’s Eve with us, it’s great to know you enjoyed the evenings food, ambiance and of course our unique wine cellar!

Come back soon if not before, for next New Year’s Eve. You are welcome anytime.

Warm regards

Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I am not used to write on TripAdvisor, but once I’ve visited this place it was obvious that my first comment would be about sharing my experience in this beautiful boutique hotel.

Noir d’Ivoire is a mysterious place hidden in the heart of the Medina. You just can’t except such a beauty when walking in the narrow streets of this neighborhood. It might seems confusing for those who are not familiar with an exotic country, but the staff provide you with a cellphone which you can keep all your stay along.

The rooms are incredibly beautiful with a fireplace, a Bang&Olufsen Sound system, a lounge area and a private terrasse and Jacuzzi for those who are lucky to stay in a master suite.

The staff is always smiling to you and ready to help no matter what you ask for. The breakfast is so tasty, big up to the lady in the kitchen for her work.

Thanks to Nabila the manager of the Riad, a lovely young lady, always making us feel comfortable. It was nice to share stories with her. We will definitely come back...

We are already missing coscous.

Authentic and luxurious, this is 100% the best place ever to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelL2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Public Relations Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are happy to hear about your stay with us at Riad Noir d’Ivoire.

We are delighted you have found the Riad ‘luxurious and beautiful’ and the staff helpful in your time with us. We hope for our guests to feel that staying with us is more than just accommodation but an experience of all the elements you have so kindly wrote about.

We hope to see you back again with us, you are welcome anytime.

Warm regards

Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The Riad is located in the middle of the medina, in a narrow lane. Initially it may be difficult to find, but someone from the Riad always is happy to walk with you to the main street. The Riad has individually designed rooms, all of which are beautiful. Although the Riad is in the middle of the median, it is very calm and relaxing inside. We'd come back any time.

Room Tip: All rooms looked beautiful
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Public Relations Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it’s good to hear about your stay with us.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your time at Riad Noir d’Ivoire and found it relaxing. The layout of the medina can be challenging so it’s great to hear the staff have been helpful in negotiating the streets and it’s for this reason we offer all our guests a local telephone to call ahead and one of the team will happily meet them.

It would be our pleasure to see you again, you are welcome back anytime.

Warm regards

Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews