We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It will be in your memories forever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #10 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It will be in your memories forever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

An utterly wonderful place to stay, indulgent, decadent and romantic. Never in your face as can be the case of some more luxurious hotels, but you will need for nothing! A hugely warm and heartfelt thanks to the team there at the Riad. They made everything from the booking to the departure an enjoyable process and I was glad that they got to play an important part in what was a very special and personal moment in our lives!
Marrakech is a hub of activity and its fast pace leaves your head spinning. The Riad is the perfect place to escape and indulge! Jill has an incredible attention for detail and is perhaps the most welcoming host of a hotel that I have ever experienced and I have spent the last 10 years travelling far and wide so that is something to behold!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    35
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
155
934
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

We found Noir d'Ivoire to be everything that fellow Trip Advisers say about it. So instead of repeating the rave reviews (which are fully justified) I will just add three tips. 1. Wear good serviceable shoes - the Riad is right in the middle of the old town (medina). The nearest taxi location is 5 minutes walk and the main square (Djemaa el Fna) is a good 20-25 minutes walk. Taxis are next to useless within the medina so walking is your main option.
2. Try to keep a stock of 20Dhm (about £1.50/€2/$2.40) notes - handy for tips and taxis (outside the medina).
3. Take the open top bus tour (Dhm130) from the Koutoubia Mosque stop near the main square to get an overview of Marrakech and particularly the very pleasant new town area.

Lastly we visited for 5 days and, with a day trip into the Atlas Mountains (arranged, as ever, by the hospitable Damion and Jill) we found this was just about right to see all of Marrakesh and surrounds.

Oh, and don't stop anywhere else - this is the best.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

From the moment CousCous comes to pick up your bags from you upon your arrival at the medina, you are in the best of hands at the Riad Noir D'Ivoire. I had previously been to the riad with a friend and we had enjoyed our stay-- the beautiful room, the divine hammam, the delicious mojitos in the evening, but going back with my husband was magical.

The Noir D'Ivoire is romantic to the extreme, without ever feeling over the top-- the freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning gets your day started right and turning down in the evening with a bath in your hammered tub, relaxing by the fire in your room is pure heaven...

Jill is the most welcoming and helpful of hosts-- her taste in everything is just beautiful-- if only the shop at the riad was more affordable!!

We will surely never want to stay anywhere other than the Noir D'Ivoire in Marrakech-- why would anyone??!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireNYNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

The team at Riad noir d’ivorie during the four nights that we stayed displayed those all too rare attributes of service with a smile, were courteous, discreet, were and attentive during our stay and are a credit to the Riad. We have stayed in Hotels that have a five star rating in major cities yet the service can leave a lot to be desired. Jill and her team make into our top 3 establishments that we have had the privilege to stay in with ease - because in contrast you can have the best facilities in the world but lousy service which can spoil a trip whether business or pleasure. Yes it's not the easiest place to find in the old town, but book the airport transfer which will meet you at arrivals. Whisking you into town to be met by Couscous the donkey and helper to take your bags and guide you through the alleys to the Riad. Thoughtfully Jill provides a good map and locally connected mobile phone from day one in case you get lost in the maze of the souk and down town. Recommendations and guidance on what to see and where to eat are given without strings or fuss attached - so if you want to "do your own thing" it’s up to you. However, the food at the Riad is very good, served in intimate surroundings if you cannot face the souk after a hard days bargaining &shopping. No, its not the cheapest Riad but it is good value at the higher end of the scale, but you do get what you pay for. A well stocked comfortable study of topical books, small gym and massage are all available for poor weather or after a hard days sight seeing. Finally a sundowner on the terrace with hot tub and views of the snow capped Atlas Mountains behind seals the day.

Service, safety and attention to detail are everything in a customer facing business; The team led by Jill plus the facilities and décor at Riad noir d’ivorie have that special "je ne sais quoi" which makes all the difference! - Especially if you are visiting Marrakesh for the first time. This Riad is worth spending extra on to get that "little bit more" the previous reviews confirm our thoughts and experiences - Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9grapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at Riad Noir D'Ivoire after reading the excellent reviews about it on trip advisor. I must say it not only lived up to its reputation in every sense of the word but far exceeded it. Nothing was too much trouble for Jill, Damien and the team...

Lighting a fire in your room, no problem. Walk you to a restaurant through the maze that is the Medina, no problem. Offer you probably the best room I've ever stayed in (The Panther Suite), no problem.

Just like to say a massive thank you for making it a wonderful weekend, we will be sure to recommend it to every person we meet.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Echoing the sentiments of all of the other reviewers, we can only reiterate that this boutique hotel is unique in all respects: the incomparable service, attention to detail, stunning and comfortable surroundings, attentive and entertaining ambience..all serve to create a wonderful haven in the centre of the medina. We love it and would recommend it without hesitation. Jill, Oliver, the staff: all fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMrandMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Everyone has written so eloquently that there's not much left to say. I would, however like to submit that Noir d'Ivoire was also excellent for kids. I just returned from a week at the Riad with my husband and 3 children (11, 9, and 7). Jill, Damien, and the entire staff treated them like an indulgent aunts and uncles. They tracked down a special pancake they had read and fantasized about, they hoisted our youngest up on donkey Cous-Cous's cart to his delight, they smilingly served up hot chocolates at any hour of the day. I had asked Jill for some suggestions for day trip out of the city, and she went above and beyond the call of duty by arranging the entire trip for us, including driver and accomodation. And what a trip it was: an unforgettable odyssey to the distant 20-story Saharan dunes to ride camels.

In a daunting city to tackle with kids, Noir d'Ivoire made it a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Property: Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing