We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #15 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

From the moment we walked through the arrivals hall in Marrakech to the minute they dropped us back a week later we were looked after beautifully by Jill, Damien and the team. They went to great efforts at all times to ensure we were not only having a great time but that we were getting the most out of Marrakech and it's surroundings.
The rooms are lovely (we were travelling with friends so saw a few of them) and the attention to detail makes the place very special.
The service is just right - attentive but without being in your face. The entire staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel has an extremely relaxed feel to it.
We will be back, that is for sure - thanks Jill and the gang!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    34
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
154
925
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

From the moment Cous Cous the donkey and the staff met us, I knew that we were going to like this place and we wasn't disappointed.
The moment you walk through the doors of the Riad you are transported into an oasis of calm and tranquility, which is a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.
The Riad itself is absolutely stunning, the decor is beautiful and the attention to detail is second to none.
We stayed in the Zebra suite, and again the comfort and decor in the room was incredible.
As we stayed for 8 days we ate at the Riad on a couple of the evenings and a the food did not disappoint. it was the best chicken tagine we had ever eaten. Breakfast was also lovely!
However the thing that really makes this place so wonderful are the staff, nothing is too much trouble for Jill and her team.
Jill puts you at ease from the minute you arrive and makes you feel like you are at home.
Damien has a wealth of knowledge of what to do and where to go in Marrakech and his advice and suggestions are invaluable. The cookery course he recommended was great fun.
The whole team of staff are amazing and the service they provide is really second to none.
This really is a truly amazing place, everything about is absolutely spot on, we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaKaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Simply put this hotel has it right.

The rooms are exceedingly comfortable and each individually styled.

The staff under the management of Jill & Damian do look after you and indeed Jill & Damian make you truly feel at home (yes its a cliche but there is no other way to put it).

The hotel menu is limited but what they do could not be any better. If you want something special, then its no problem at all.

Our only concern is be careful of some of the places that you may go from here - some of the nearby restaurants are bit too touristy (catering to tour buses). But reading a few reviews will fix this...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We picked this riad from the excellent website and the previous reviews. We were not disappointed.It is located within the walls of the ancient Medina and having seen the luxurious hotels outside in the new town, we made the right decision.

The riad is ideally situated for exploring the souks, restaurants,various gardens and palaces. Jill and Damien are excellent hosts and will gladly organise any trips to suit your taste.The other members of staff are courteous, friendly and efficient-nothing was too much trouble and they will provide a simple meal at any time.The decor and rooms are lavish and totally in keeping with the locality. We would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minchinhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

A rare gem hidden away behind a door within the crumbling walls of the old Medina. A sanctuary away from the hustle & bustle, yet still in the heart of it all among the maze of winding, narrow, dusty, scruffy alleyways. What a "Shan-gri-la" awaited us once we had passed through its portal! Jill has created a beautiful haven of peace & tranquility whose stunning decor & attention to detail is so impressive. Our suite was sheer luxury & blissful to return to after a day's sight-seeing. The charming staff glide silently & discreetly in the background ensuring all one's needs are catered for! Damien's advice and suggestions were invaluable. He is the "Genie of the lamp" whose magic, it seems, can grant your heart's desire. Our wishes were his command!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

I use trip advisor a lot when booking trips away - it has become my personal travel agent if you like! When I looked up Riad Noir D'Ivoire I couldn't believe how many positive reviews there were - I felt sure that all those people could not be wrong so set about booking 3 nights for my friend and I. After a few emails between Jill and I ,our stay was booked and she even offered to have us picked up from our first destination which was Essaouira - 3 hours away from Marrakesh!!!

I am not going to repeat what has already been written on here other than to say that I can't think of a more perfect place to stay when in Marrakesh. It really is an oasis of calm in a city of chaos and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel relaxed, taken care of and at home.

Nothing is too much trouble and Jill & Damien go to great efforts to ensure that you get the best out of your stay in the city - from booking restaurants, arranging trips out or a driver for the day, to giving you a mobile phone so you can call the Riad if you get lost or have any problems (what a lovely touch!)

We were accompanied by a member of staff during the evenings from the riad to the area where the transport can get to so we didn't have to walk down dark alleys at night on our own, and when we returned there was always a member of staff waiting for us to escort us home again! What a service! We really appreciated this and it meant that we could relax and enjoy ourselves in the evening without being concerned about what time we were coming home and walking home in the dark!

We had a hammam while we were there which was excellent, as well as some henna tattoos - literally as soon as you mention being interested in a particular activity they were there on hand to make it happen.

We only ate in the Riad for one evening as there were so many other restaurants that we wanted to experience but I have to say that the lamb tagine I had there was out of this world! As indeed was breakfast which you can have at anytime of the day and changes daily with whatever fresh local produce the chef has bought.

The attention to detail in this Riad is second to none and many other hotels around the world would do well to stay here see how it should be done!

The only down side was that our trip was too short! There is so much to do in and around Marrakesh that 3 nights is just not long enough.... the upside is that we have a bonefide excuse to go back!!! And I can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsTokes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

I have arrived in marakesh for 4 days. Has specially decided to stop in Medina, in the center medini and there was this hotel. At first it seemed to me that the arrangement isn't so convenient, but it only during the first moment. When from noise of streets and huge number of dealers it wanted to have a rest - I came into hotel, in the number and it there was an oasis. Very beautiful from within. Decorative and second pool for bathing. Pleasant free breakfasts with tasty toasts, jams and fruit AS I love. To understand in medina to me has helped staff and I never absolutely have lost the way, when went on Medina and in the evenings came back in hotel.
In the heart I was subdued by their massage and to boors. Morocco 70 country in the list of my travel and to surprise difficult, but extra a class massage by stones was super to boors, and next day. It really becomes professionals. And comfort and cosiness atmosphere was everywhere and everywhere. I am grateful to this hotel that I lived in it and pleasure marocco. Sincerely to you I recommend to visit it when you will arrive in marocco

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#14 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Property: Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing