We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Riad Dar Tamlil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Tamlil
Ranked #297 of 1,154 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
1 review
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This Riad is only a 2 minute walk to the centre of the big square (Djemaa el-Fna). You couldnt wish for a better location. The Riad is to a perfectly clean standard with spacious rooms and beautifully decorated with a moroccan theme. My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights in this riad and had done very little research about morocco before we left, the owner - Abdul (the person who made our trip as amazing as it was) informs us about everything that we needed to know, ranging from how much we should pay for certains things in the market as people will try to rip you off, how to get to other places in morocco, even including what herbs to buy when my boyfriend fell ill. I will strongely recommend anyone this Riad down to the hospitality this man showed us throughout our stay. We also left our bags with him whilst we went on a 3 day trip to Essouria - which he helped us organise, bus times, where the bus station was, how much we should pay for taxis are and where the best place to stay in Essouria would be. (Bags when we returned were perfectly safe.)
The riad also has a beautiful roof terrace which is very peaceful, making you forget you are only seconds away from the crazy and packed square.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    56
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
83
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Had a really great say at this riad. My boyfriend and I stayed for 7 nights (although 3 of them we were away on a trip - extremely safe to leave all possessions in room for these 3 days). Found the owners very friendly and helpful when asking questions. Location couldn't have been better (although slightly tricky to initially find!). Breakfast each morning was fresh bread, pastries and orange juice - eating up on the roof terrace was a great way to start each day! There is a riad directly opposite that offers fantastic massages!! Overall, this Riad added to what was a brilliant trip to Marrakesh - would definitely stay again and recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moche89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This Riad (B&B) is tucked away only minutes from the wonderfully hectic, but fascinating Medina or town center. A dirt alleyway leads to an iron door which opens to the most adorable mosaic courtyard with orange trees, individually decorated rooms, and a very welcoming staff. Breakfast was delicious and filling, rooms were clean, showers were hot, and any possible questions we could have had were answered by the amazingly kind staff.
Such a great value and so close to everything you want to see in Marrakech. This is not your luxury European hotel located right next to the airport and isolated from the true Marrakech. This is the Marrakech experience that you don't want to miss out on!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizwa, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This Riad is nestled in the Medina, less than a minute walking from the open space of Djama al Fna... Incrdibly comfortable place to stay, very traditional and has a lovely terrace. Abde is the care taker of this Riad and is one of the most humble, helpful and incredible people you will ever meet.

Riad Dar Tamlil was reccomended to me by somebody else, and I would recommend it to everyone. It incredible and peaceful. It works out very cheap, particularly if you 3 people travelling, because an extra bed works out much more reasonable.

(Disclaimer)However the bathrooms have no doors, instead there are thick curtains. But its an experience. :D

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyeshaMualla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We arrived into Marrakech quite late at night in 2 seperate parties. The group I was in were greeted by Abdul in the riad and we were offered maps of the city and information about organising tours straight away (which is what we wanted). Our friend arrived after us and sadly didn't have the same experience as there was only a night guard on duty.

The double room we stayed in was stunning although there was only a curtain seperating the ensuite from the bedroom and there was no ceiling to the ensuite either so everything can be heard from the bedroom!

The 'triple' was actually a double bed and a single bed which was a shame as we had wanted a triple as our friends were 3 single people.

The riad itself was very pretty with a big tree in the middle of it. We had breakfast upstairs on the roof terrace which was plentiful (although our friend couldn't have this as she left early in the morning before the night guard was relieved of duty by people who work there).

The riad is in a small souk very close to the main square so is perfect in terms of location but is also fairly quiet.

All in all I'd say this was a really good value Riad but sadly I think you get a different service if staff aren't there to help you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This Riad offers 4 quiet, clean and charming rooms a couple of meters away from the busy Place Jemaa El Fna. Fair prices, very friendly staff, good breakfast and awesome tips for day trips to the desert and the mountains! Very much recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The riad has a very good, aprox 2-3 minutes walk from the Djema El Fna market. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The Staff is very friendly and willing to help you with everything. Very good value per money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad 11 Zitoune
Riad 11 Zitoune
#144 of 500 in Marrakech
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#161 of 500 in Marrakech
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#206 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#273 of 500 in Marrakech
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Tamazouzte
Riad Tamazouzte
#716 of 1,154 in Marrakech
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Maissoun
Riad Maissoun
#532 of 1,154 in Marrakech
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tamlil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tamlil

Property: Riad Dar Tamlil
Address: Rue riad Zitoun el Kedim | Derb Lakhdar no 7, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 1,154 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Tamlil 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at 150 METERS of the famous Square DJEMAA-EL-FNA, Riad of charm situed in a historical district of the medina, at calm, but in the immediate vicinity of the main monuments, souks and animation. The riad has 4 rooms with private ensuite (shower/WC or bath/WC), air-conditionned/heating. All rooms have sight on a beautiful PATIO with a fountain, trees and many plants. A pleasant TERRACE on the roof makes it possible to benefit from the sun or enjoy a mint tea contemplating the view of the medina. The ACCESS is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Tamlil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing