We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting - but disappointing”
Review of La Pause

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Pause
Ranked #269 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
296 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - but disappointing”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I booked the Pause whilst in Marrakech for a week for dinner with 2 friends following a recommendation from our hotel. We were picked up from near our hotel and arrived after a 45 minute ride and It really is a most beautiful setting. We were shown around the hotel and then sat and admired the stunning views. We then had our dinner in a tent overlooking the valley.. The food sadly was very disappointing, a fairly basic salad followed by the worst Tagine I have had to date... The set menu is €45, transfer we were charged €80 and with pricey drinks added came to a total of €90 per person...( The bill was in Euros).. Lovely setting and maybe the hotel is great but for an evening with food and prices like this, its just not worth it ..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    40
    14
    16
    9
See reviews for
58
89
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We loved the place, our room was so big and so beautifully decorated. I loved the fact that there is no electricity makes the evenings so serene with all the candles and fires.
Very friendly staff and best food we have had in Marokko. A 20 min camel ride was included in the price we really enjoyed that. So quiet and peacefull can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirjamreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Uopon recommendation of a friend, we decided to have lunch at La Pause. We were picked up by a driver and it took us about 40 minutes to get to La Pause. We were warmly welcomed and accompanied to our tent. Amazing! So romantic and such a beautiful setting. No sound, just you and nature. The service and food was excellent. Our waiter had to walk up and down the hill, poor him, but always with a smile! After lunch we relaxed and the children had a ride on the camels. We were also lucky to see one of their rooms and hopefully we will manage to stay there for a couple of nights during our next visit to Marrakech. We loved it all! Great job to all of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilseanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our first 2 nights in Morocco were spent in this incredibly peaceful, unparalleled property situated 1 hour outside of Marrakech in an oasis of stylish adobe mud cottages, berber tents and lush desert flowers. The "camp" is located along a dry river bed with shepherds tending to their sheep and goats on the surrounding hills. There is plenty of luxury here, but nature is fully integrated into the property. This was March, so nature was in full bloom.
Our expectation levels were exceeded by the service of the staff, the natural surroundings, and the fantastic and freshly made food. I loved the fact that the only illumination came from candle light, so you should be prepared for that with your cottage. It adds a huge element of serenity and relaxing to your time at La Pause. Another lovely treat was a nightly delivery of a hot water bladder wrapped in a cozy fleece casing to place in your bed. It was one of our highlights of our stay. Each cottage has a fireplace for perfect warmth and comfort.
There are excellent hikes that can keep you occupied in the surrounding area. All are walkable from "the camp" of La Pause. Our favorite hike was the canyon dry river bed trek that was approximately 3 hours round trip. You may even have a La Pause dog follow you all the way to and from your hiking journey. This is a special place. Use this time to escape and enjoy nature's gifts.

Room Tip: Our Room 12 was on a hill top. Great panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

...the fewer people that hear about this place the better. I want it to be my secret.

There is a term used in the UK currently - not sure if it travels - "Glamping", Glamorous Camping. La Pause is an up market version of Glamping. Wonderfully unique location in the foothills of the Atlas mountains. Every room is different. The food is amazing. Unusual activities - cross golf for instance. Very relaxing. A simple holiday destination.

You probably wouldn't want more than a few nights here. And if you are expecting or need a 5* hotel - then don't bother. You won't like it. You need to be prepared to go with the flow. Great staff.

Simply fantastic.

Please don't go though. I don't want you to tell your friends about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Staff is very dedicated and friendly, the food is very very good and the nights with the bonfires, candles and fireplaces are quite magic. The surroundings are beautiful and the quads or dune-buggy tour is so so much fun. The attitude of the French owner is not the best and left us both times we went with a unpleasant feeling: one gets the impression that the philosophy which led to this place as to be forced on the guest rather than suggested and enticed. Overall a good experience in particular if you don't have to interact with the French owner (the other owner, the Moroccan gentleman was very nice on the other hand).

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CdeSanctis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent only 1 night at La Pause and, at the end, I felt as relaxed as if it had been a 2 week vacation. We stayed in "Cabane Kebira" and it was completely private--a 3-walled deluxe "cabin" opening onto an enormous private deck, fitted with table and chairs and a deck daybed. The bedding inside the cabin was luxurious and we loved having only candlelight and a wood fire at night. The food was--lunch and dinner--some of the best I've had in Morocco. I actually am dying for some of the recipes. I would recommend this to anyone and want to make it an annual treat to ourselves and our marriage! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: "Cabane Kebira"--we stayed in this room and loved its privacy and beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
11.8 mi away
Kasbah Agafay
Kasbah Agafay
#341 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
16.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fellah Hotel
Fellah Hotel
#239 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant du Lac
Le Flouka Auberge et Restaurant ...
#1 of 3 in Lalla Takerkoust
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#109 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Terre Des Etoiles
Terre Des Etoiles
#12 of 278 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pause? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pause

Property: La Pause
Address: Douar Lmih Laroussiene | Commune Agafay, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
La Pause Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing