We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene”
Review of La Pause

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Pause
Ranked #242 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are looking for peace and quite, a holiday destination free from modern noise and gadgetry then this is a place for you. Other reviews commented on the lack of communication from the staff, I'd just say they misjudged what this place is about as I think that's exactly the point of it (but that said, if him ask for anything then they know how to get it, sort it or arrange it) it is serenely quiet, at night it comes into its own, with little paraffin lamps lighting the pathways.

Be aware of what some will say are downsides, there is no electricity, so no electric light, no a/c (and boy it's hot at night!) no tv , the food (lovely) is what you get and there's no menu. Buts these are not downsides to everybody so just be aware is all I'd say.

Very comfortable and authentic rooms, comfortable beds and battery lights brought up to your room at dusk, there is both hot and cold water and plenty of space indeed, just don't expect the water pressure in the shower to knock you over!

Oh, and if you do want to do noisy things, as we did, then you can go camel trekking, hire quad bikes or dune buggies and the like very easily (and if on motorised stuff, wear the goggles provided as your sunglasses are not good enough, and please don't wear white clothes as you will never get the sand and dust out!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

La Pause is the answer to a question: "How can you create the best, most authentically Moroccan experience possible without electricity". And they have done just that. Every single aspect of the experience is carefully thought through, always with the guest in mind. The lodges are stunning, the food is delightful and the environment, with its olive groves and huge Berber tents, is a pleasure to spend time in. We were only there for one night but wished we could have stayed for longer. It's so amazingly peaceful - I hope we can return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a fantastic time in this amazing place - lunching in our own huge Berber tent, walking along the river bed to the local village. Relaxing by the pool in the olive grove and then watching the sun set from our luxurious accommodation. La Pause becomes magical at night as our house and all the paths are lit by candlelight. The staff were great, the food very good. We chose to pay for evening entertainment - a dancer and a fire-eater. In hindsight, they were too expensive for what we got. Our young girls enjoyed seeing the dancer, but the fire-show was about 3 mins long. The free 15 mins camel ride was great and all you needed. This is a great way to recover from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We will come back.

Room Tip: all rooms are great - separate houses with their own space, views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swissgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

La Pause is a very special place and experience, connected to something deeper than the common luxury hotel. You can expect to relax and rejuvenate in the stark beauty and tranquility of an unplugged desert landscape, surrounded by total comfort and inspiring style. La Pause understands how to pamper guests without intrusion; their service is genuine. The food is consistently, inspiringly delicious, perfectly seasoned and expertly prepared, and offered with joy in the coolest of settings. The morning birdsong, daytime silence, colorful sunsets and starry nighttime sky... The fires, lanterns and candles that light up and warm the night, indoors and outdoors, make the atmosphere stunning. If you're open to it, you'll appreciate it all along the way.

Room Tip: We loved our very private, luxurious and romantic Berber style accommodation with the big, private d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I expected something of a modest resort but this place was a major disappointment. I was shown to my room, provided no information by anyone, there was no office or any other source of information, I was just stuck in this primitive place with no electricity. Thank goodness for my iPod, there was nothing to do except to walk around. I was led to believe there were all sorts of activities but I have no idea where to get any help as to what there was to do.

I did have a very good dinner and they asked me ahead of time if I had any food allergies, the thought very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After staying in the Medina we headed out to La Pause for our last night and could not have been happier with the experience. The entire family loved the location, the accommodations and the dining. The staff was exceptional, as was our camel excursion. After the intensity of a Marrakech stay this was perfect way to relax. Even our three phone-obsessed teenage daughters appreciated their unplugged desert time lit only by lanterns.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank vchipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Loved this place. It was amazing! We rode camels to get there. We had cocktails
and watched the sunset. Rooms were a lot nicer than I expected. Everything looked
beautiful with the candles lit. Food was amazing and fire show was excellent. The next
day we had a tour around the desert with a local tour guide. He introduce us to his family
and showed us his home. True highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ike2012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
6.7 mi away
Domaine de Tameslohte
Domaine de Tameslohte
#266 of 500 in Marrakech
175 reviews
19 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
511 reviews
16.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
974 reviews
12.7 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#44 of 500 in Marrakech
457 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fellah Hotel
Fellah Hotel
#252 of 500 in Marrakech
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pause? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pause

Address: Douar Lmih Laroussiene | Commune Agafay, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
La Pause Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing