We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Ranked #89 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the villa after 2 days at the riad medina. the location is just perfect, in a very quiet park just 10 minutes from downtown. The garden is magic .On feels comfortable, the staff is great. Our bedroom very spacious ground floor give us access to a small terrace overlooking the garden. I recommend food we ate there three times, varied, tagine, kebabs and fish, all excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    33
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
120
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had a fabulous time at Al Assala. It is a lovely Place The gardens are stunning, The room was big and comfortable with a great bed and a terrace. The pool is beautiful . It's located only 10 minutes from donwtown and the medina. The atmosphere is relaxed and calm. The staff is cheerful and management has provided us good advice for our city tours. The memories of Moroccan meals we ordered around the pool, gives us already the wish to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria_fenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Room was very basic, main gripe was no room telephone in case of emergency and sub-normal shower connection that took some getting use too. In general all of the staff were very attentive and pleasant but I do wish they spoke more than just a little English (unfortunately I never learnt French at school or indeed in my later life). The grounds and pool are exceptionally pleasant and give the true spirit in my opinion that we were in Morocco.

Yes the Menu was fairly limited but lets believe when you're visiting a foreign country surly you're there to explore the culture, the country, the people and generally become part of the scene - otherwise what a waste of opportunity if all one does is sunbathe by the pool.

Overall a 3.5 star establishment that provides a very pleasant base to relax and enjoy (in fact I actually got round to reading about one of my favourite people of all time T E Laurence 'The Seven Pillars of Wisdom' - quite a feat seeing as I've had the book for some 45 years).

Villa Al Assala you did well in my book and was one of my most enjoyable holiday breaks where I didn't feel ripped off.

Ken Wilson with my wife Pam Wilson

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenWilson1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We were looking for a spot that could accommodate our need of large room, as we traveled with our child, not far away from the city center and where we 'll be able to relax. We found all of it at Al Assala, a wonderful Hotel and garden away from the noisy Marrakech.
The room are large and clean .The morroco service was excellent and the food very good.
This is a small hotel, 10 rooms , you will quickly feel like at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This review is based primarily on the fact that the hotel claims to have a 5 Star rating. It is located behind a wall with a manned but mostly locked gate. It is some distance from the main road and connections with downtown Marrakesh. Realistically the only transport option is to order a taxi which the hotel controls with a single taxi proprietor – fare non-negotiable.

Despite the claim of a “24 Hour” reception it was only intermittently manned during the day and not at all at night. There was no means of calling for help when the desk was unmanned. The attitude of the female French nationality staff member who was from time to time present was stand-offish and her English was poor.

The bedroom was elegant but rather monastic and cell-like – it was very dark with only bedside and table lamps. The only mirrors were in the bathroom and these were not full length – something a lady doesn’t like. In the bathroom, and judging again by normal 5 Star standards, it is worth noting that there was just one (refilled) liquid all-purpose soap and no other soap, shampoos and bathroom items. There were neither hooks nor shelves for cosmetics etc. There was no dressing gown or slippers – again items that are commonly provided in genuine 5 Star hotels.

The room contained no printed information in a folder of the type that is commonly provided in all hotels – including information about how to use the satellite television which you had to work out for yourself. Only one (Bloomberg) of the dozens of TV channels was English language despite BBC, Sky etc. being available in Morocco. There were no tea/coffee making facilities and there was no drinks fridge. Drinking water was not provided in the room. DVDs were available but they were all French language.

The bedroom had stone floors – cool in the summer, no doubt, but chilly in November. There was limited heating in the bedroom from the a/c unit but it was difficult to keep the room at an acceptable temperature. The bathroom was unheated – it had a radiator but this was not turned on. The public rooms were unheated and very cold – except when a log fire was lit in one or other of them and this only in the evenings.

Despite the claim of “Complimentary wireless Internet access” in fact the Reception area is the only part of the hotel that had anything like satisfactory WiFi and that was unreliable and very slow. Elsewhere there was either no signal (e.g. in our bedroom) or a weak one which could not be used. There were no instructions on how to use the WiFi link.

The Hotel was described as having a “… bar/lounge, a café, restaurant…” but in fact there is just one large room with tables which has a sort of bar counter in the corner. This is mostly unmanned. There is certainly no restaurant or serviced food facility of the type that one would expect in a 5 Star hotel. There is a menu which is the same all day and every day which contains a list of snacks and light meals. There is a daily hot dish (no choice) – usually the Moroccan dish “Tangine”. For those on half-board (we were) this has to be ordered in the morning and we were asked to dine at around 7:00pm – largely for the convenience of the staff it seemed. There is no proper wine list – just “Moroccan Red” or “Moroccan White” – it was of adequate quality but sold at a very hefty mark up. There is one local beer available. My wife had a bad stomach one day and asked for a Cognac but none was available.

Breakfast consisted of Coffee, Orange Juice, toast and jam and very small pancakes or a fruit salad. There was no choice and no proper hot or cold breakfast items, no cereals, no fresh meat/cheese/fruit etc. This was the bare minimum that could be considered adequate in a basic “Bed and Breakfast” - and wholly unacceptable in a so-called 5 Star hotel.

The local (Moroccan) staff were pleasant and helpful but spoke little or no English. The French management was aloof and at times completely absent. We seemed an inconvenience to them. When my wife was ill they showed no concern and once again went to ground.

On the third morning of our stay (Thursday) there was no hot water at all in our bathroom. The Reception was unmanned, as usual, but we eventually found a staff member to report the matter to. He confirmed that they were aware of the problem and were working on it. When we returned that evening, despite assurances to the contrary, the problem had not been resolved although there was now some tepid water – but not hot enough to take a shower. The proprietor Mr Guillemjouan and his fellow manager had been absent all day and indeed did not make an appearance until the following morning (Friday) when there was still no hot water. At no point did Mr Guillemjouan make contact with us to apologise although it seemed that he was frantically making phone calls – perhaps because new guests were arriving that day? The proprietor’s lack of customer focus had been a problem all week – frankly he just didn’t give a damn! And for most of the time we were the only guests! This was the final straw so we checked out. No hot water for two days, an insouciant and uncommunicative Manager and a hotel which was self-evidently not 5 Star but was arguably not even a hotel at all but a uniquely dysfunctional establishment – and a rip-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PaddyBriggs46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

On arrival the villa was even better in reality than the ad. The room was spacious and private patio area was charming, the pool was lovely and the staff couldnt have been more helpful and attentive. The food was plentiful and the BBQ or traditional "sunday roast" in particular were so tasty. Breakfast was a little on the plain side but coffee orange juice and eggs were plentiful. Will definetly be re-booking

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raima p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

To stay near to the City in an Oasis of calm is just phenominal. Staff will serve breakfast inside or anywhere al fresco at whatever time. A real find and incredibly relaxing.

For those who dont like big hotels or "centre of it" locations then head here and lap up the calm atmosphere and swim in the beautiful pool, or just bask in the sun.

For foodies out there, ask the owners to recommend the best restauraunts in town (which they will book for you also with taxi transfers at the drop of a hat). Food at these was just incredible.

Highly recommend this accommodation, for those that appreciate a non formal relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Downstairs garden suites are slightly bigger. Building is circular and there are gaps between the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewScott69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#278 of 494 in Marrakech
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 494 in Marrakech
710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 494 in Marrakech
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
2.6 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#95 of 494 in Marrakech
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Al Assala Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Property: Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Address: Route de Fes, KM 4, Tamsna, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Al Assala Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional site in the full heart of the Palmeraie, and at only 10 minutes of the effervescence of the Jamaa-el-Fna Place, our property is offering a wonderful park of one hectare of olive trees, fruit trees and palm trees. Around the swimming pool, all is calm and pleasure to relax and enjoy the delicate and discreat service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Al Assala Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Al Assala Palmeraie Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing