We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad, great location, great staff!”
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Villa Wenge
Ranked #61 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My two friends and I stayed for 4 nights after having to move from a hotel not meeting our expectations at all! We were picked up from the square (which is so alive and energetic at night!) and taken to the Riad which was a little over a 5 minute walk through some narrow streets. After a morning of exploring, we appreciated how perfect the location was!
The interior design of the Riad was very modern chic :-)
We were very well looked after by Hayat and Mehdi who were absolutely lovely!
The three of us would recommend staying here and would definitely stay at the same Riad if we visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heinzbeanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Riad Wenge (5 nights) very much and its special atmosphere made us feel comfortable. The tasteful arrangements of the interieur and the fitting colours inspired us for new ideas for our home. ;-) Thanks to the great staff.
Of course we will recommend your Riad to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricarda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here for a few days whilst in Marrakech. We were given a free Airport Transfer which really is a must. We would never have found this place on our own. We were picked up by car and taken to the main Jemma El Fna square where we were then collected by a local man who put our suitcases into a wheel barrow and showed us the way to our Riad. We gave this man 20dhs however he didn't appear happy with that and requested more. He was politely told no as 20dhs is the going rate (not exactly the best way to welcome you to the Riad unfortunately). We were then shown inside and given fresh mint tea before being taken to our room. The room was very nice and modern with a safe and LCD TV. The only thing I would say is that the room is open plan and there is no door to the toilet however it didn't spoil the stay. The Riad itself is lovely with a modern decor feel. The roof did have have a Jacuzzi however we didn't use it. We tried the breakfast which was fine...nothing special. The staff were very friendly and Tony was most welcoming. The best thing though is the location of the Riad, it is literally a 5 min walk away from Jemma El Fna square. The walk from the Riad to the square does take you through some alleys and there is a short section just as you leave the Riad which has no lighting at night but we never felt threatened or intimidated once so don't worry!! Overall a nice, clean Riad with friendly staff in a central location. If you've booked or thinking of you'll have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank de18oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We spent 4 nights here in our recent trip to Marrakech. Included in our price was a free airport transfer which was ideal becasue there is no way you'd have found this place! It's 5 mins awway from Jeema El Fna. It's pretty straight forward once you know the way so we never got lost. We stayed in the Alu room which was lovely and modern. The only slight issue was that it's all open plan, including the toilet which has no door, so you can hear everything! Not very pleasant as you can imagine. The beds are super comfy but the pillows were really uncomfortable I found. We had breakfast in the riad the first day but to be honest it wasn't really up to much. I didn't like the orange juice in Marrakech at all (too used to Tropicana) and that's what was served. There was a small selection of bread, tea, preserves and pancakes. We didn't go for breakfast the rest of our stay, nor did we eat in the riad. The riad itself was gorgeous, really clean and modern with the most amzing incense always burning. We didn't use the jacuzzi as to be honest, the water was quite dirty looking with several dead flies floating on top so we erred on the side of caution. The owner Tony was lovely, very welcoming and friendly and we felt looked after. Great place to stay and recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank debbiemcn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina, just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnaa, great choice for short city break. Modern interior. Stayed in spotlessly clean, red twin bedroom on the 1st floor. Polite& friendly staff. They made you feel welcomed and respect your privacy. Internet access in the property.Lovely, French breakfast. A freshly made orange juice is ideal for the beginning of the day. Please ensure you book the airport shuttle offered by Riad as the location would be difficult to find for 1st timer. The owner also sent you by email a map and all information necessary inc. payment options so you know what to expect.

I don’t know where some negative comments came from.

So please stop complaining and relax in the Jacuzzi in the roof terrace after busy day of exploring a wild Medina and a beautiful Marrakech.

Highly recommended and will stay again if return to Medina.

Room Tip: If possible, try to book a room on the first floor as higher floor has less property noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeLecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The location in not safe and you need to walk also to find you need spacial inspection.
Breakfast is very poor. Only low quality jam - honey and old bread. Also you need to wait 1 hour for this bad breakfast.
- price is 20% more than you make the reservation. If you pay credit card they add 4-5% also they make wrong calculations.
Too much to say for bad things for this owfull bad motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliAkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villawenge, Propriétaire at Riad Villa Wenge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Sir, your stay at this riad is very well spent in the luxury suite but you don 't have supported other guests who were present during your night with us because I precise that you only spent one night.
Breakfast is served quickly because we have 5 people in the riad permance to serve customers, it is composed of: fresh orange juice, hot drinks, fruit jar or yogurt following day, 2 pancakes Moroccan madeleine or orange cake or brioche, 2 kinds of jam, honey, butter and bread.
Our riad is located 2 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna square in a neighborhood very easy to find.

We are sorry that it was not to your taste!

All Team duriad villa Wenge thank you for your visit ...

cordially

Stephanie and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The staff in this Riad were excellent esepecially Adil who speaks English. The Riad itself is quiet and is an Oasis in the otherwise busy and noisy medina. It is located close to the main square and so access is good. Breakfast could feature less bread and more fruit or eggs but otherwise is good. Decor is simple and nice - beds comfortable and the place well maintained.

The downside is that I did not like Marrakech - clearly not the exotic experience it was between 1890 and 1975 - aggressive hawkors, merchants and taxi drivers. People in Marrakech only want your money. The medina lacks old charm with much of the old style missing. Huge crowds and the acts involving animals in the square depressing. Fez is a much better option

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors might be quieter. Don't talk to the merchants in the neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DohaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#137 of 499 in Marrakech
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#95 of 499 in Marrakech
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#50 of 1,172 in Marrakech
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £57 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing