We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Hotel du Tresor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Tresor
Ranked #205 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Spent 6 nights here in June at the Bleu Suite.
PROS: 1) 4 minute walk along alleys to Djemaa el Fna, 2) helpful and cheerful staff (Mustapha, Amine, etc. Among many things they did for us, we made an early breakfast request for a trip to Essaouira on very short notice and they made breakfast for the 2 of us 1 hour earlier than normal) 3) great value for location 4) free WiFi 5) pretty European/Moroccan decor 6) air-conditioning
CONS: 1) our suite had very little storage -- shoppers beware 2) interiors look professionally styled (looks good and photographs well) but lots of little things broken here and there (chairs, etc.), could use a little TLC 3) cash ONLY 4)pool is tiny (more of a design element)
OVERALL: Good value, great location, v. nice staff -- Recommended for leisure travelers who are not major shoppers

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamliesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    72
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
95
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel is very close to Djemaa El-Fna square, yet it is quietly tucked away from all the noise and traffic. Our room (the Bleu Suite) was very nice, although a little on the small side. The bathroom was huge, which seemed like wasted space as the bedroom was about the same size as the bathroom. Amine was very helpful and professional. The pool isn't really a pool as it is tiny and I never saw anyone swimming or even dipping in it the 6 days we were there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poochiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our 6 night stay at Hotel du Tresor in May was a brilliant experience. We stayed in the cosy En Double room (bunk beds) which offered a budget price compared to other riads we looked at. The room was small (but we expected as much) and the ground floor location meant it was a little noisy at times but nothing major.

The location of the hotel is fantastic - just a few minutes from the main square yet the hotel is so peaceful, you forget just how close you are to everything. We arranged airport transfer and our driver was nice (although a little late) and helped us with our bags. When we first got to the hotel we were worried about walking back at night as it's down a few back streets, but we never felt unsafe once.

The staff were really chilled and helpful with any questions we asked, especially Amine who was very welcoming. On our last day, we were allowed to check out at whatever time we wanted as the room hadn't been booked that night. They also let us use the computer to print off our boarding passes. The interior of the riad is lovely with the rooftop terrace being the highlight. We spent a lot of time up there lounging in the sun or shade. There was wifi which was handy although the signal was very up and down.

Breakfast offered a good choice and you had the option to eat it outside or inside if you wanted to dodge the wasps. There was a different cake each morning and one day they had the most amazing coconut cake, it was definitely one of the best things I ate during my trip.

The only minor downside to the hotel was the pool not really being suitable for use like we'd hoped. A big orange tree blocking the sunlight makes the pool cold, even at the hottest part of the day. However, we managed to find another pool we could use nearby so this was no problem. Also as others pointed out, we noticed an unpleasant smell from the drains of the bathroom on our last couple days.

Overall, this little riad has almost everything you could ask for and there is a room to meet everyones price range. The hotel really made our stay in Marrakech and if I ever came back I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachOnIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Deep in the centre of Marrakech and its bustling medina, hidden away is the ultra chic Hotel Du Tresor managed by Amine and his team. A generous mix of modern design classics and morrocan style, my girlfriends and I booked a week in Morocco and Marrakesh and my stay in Hotel Du Tresor was the highlight of my week. I felt like I was playing out my own version of Sex and the City 2! Three girlies stayed for two nights in the Sable room, a double bed in the mezzanine and a sleeping area on the ground floor of the room, Although small, the room was very quaint and clean. The en-suite bathroom could have had some ventilation built in as it smelt a little damp after we all showered, but I gather this is one of the pitfalls of a riad. Enjoy fresh bread, jam, boiled eggs, fruit, cake and fresh orange juice for breakfast (included in price of stay) on the terrace and chill out in the evening on the day beds with a glass of wine. The staff are all very helpful with advice on where to go, how to get there and what to do. The riad is 2 mins walk to the main square, the souk and taxis. Amine very kindly arranged to meet us at a central point in the medina and guide us back to the hotel on our first visit to Marrakech. If you are not confident to navigate your way through the windy back streets, then this is a good option. The accommodation was cheap (160 euros for 2 nights) and I would recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank london_saver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is my second year in a row staying at Hotel du Tresor and I am increasingly amazed at the great value in such a stylish setting. I have been to Marrakech several times and stayed in soul-less chains and have also checked out other riads online. Nothing comes close to this place. You will either pay out of your nose or be at the mercy of staff who are completely uninterested in your needs. Hotel du Tresor has everything - super staff, charming rooms and a great location (if you want the full experience of Marrakech - otherwise, stay in a chain hotels with a pool outside of the Medina).
My only gripe this time was that the bathrooms do smell slightly moldy and it's not easy to air out the rooms if you want privacy - a typical issue in the design of a riad - as all rooms open up to the interior courtyard. However - it was hardly an issue as we spent most of our time out in the souks shopping or enjoying a cold beer on the roof terrace, which was just fab.
Really - I don't think you can find a better place to stay in Marrakech at the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Really nice riad very close to the main square. Perfect location for sightseeing and the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, but very peaceful once you get inside.

Amine and the rest of the staff that run the place were really friendly and even when we cancelled when we were orignially due to go (due to volcanic ash) they were really nice about it. Also when we lost our card in a cash point they even offered to lend us some cash until we could get it back the following day! Also arranged an airport transfer for us which although relatively expensive was well worth it - particularly if its your first time in Marrakech!

Rooms are nicely decorated and full of character. For the price its good value and I would stay there again if we ever go back.

Only minor down side was that there is a lovely orange tree in the courtyard which although looks nice attracts lots of noisy birds early in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We loved our 3 night stay at the Hotel du Tresor. It's tucked away close to the Djemaa el Fna but easy to find on foot. We arrived in the evening and took the bus from the airport to the main square, then it's only a short walk to the hotel (just email them for simple directions). The riad is beautiful - each room is individually designed with great Moroccan/Arab and modern styles blending perfectly to create really stylish and charming rooms, which were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the rooftop is the perfect chill-out place. Best of all were the staff, particularly Amine, whose hospitality was second-to-none. Nothing was too much trouble and Amine and Mustafa helped make our stay really special as we were there to celebrate a birthday. If you want to stay in a reasonably priced, small riad in the old town you can no do better than here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biccari127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#121 of 499 in Marrakech
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hamdane et SPA
Riad Hamdane et SPA
#272 of 499 in Marrakech
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#170 of 499 in Marrakech
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#180 of 499 in Marrakech
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tresor

Property: Hotel du Tresor
Address: 77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Tresor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little hotel open since the 50s, just a few minutes away from Place Jemaa El Fna. This peaceful riad has been transformed by its Italian owner, its traditional style restored and enhanced by a keen selection of various objects originating most often from other historical hotels of the town. Respect for the old with a sense of the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tresor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing