We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad”
Review of Riad Noor Charana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Noor Charana
Ranked #231 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband, teenage son and I had a wonderful 4 nights in Marrakech and were fortunate to have found this delightful Riad on the web. We went with no real expectations of what it would be like apart from the few photos on the web and were more than pleasantly surprised with the decor, setting and location when we arrived. Handy walking distance to the action and far enough away for peace and quiet. Delicious breakfast and very helpful Manager. We were able to recommend to friends that came to stay a month after we left.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alethea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

thank you for having stayed in our house, next time we will have you try some of our homemade specialities.
cordially
rene-jean GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

I spent about a week at riad Noor Charana . I can't say enough about the manager and his staff . Everyone went out of their way to help and make my stay as enjoyable as possible . I tend to check my email from time to time and without asking a fresh kettle of Moroccan tea and cookies suddenly appear next to me . I highly recommend this riad to anyone who wants to experience how Marrackshis go about their daily lives !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

i am glad you enjoyed our home, we try to make everybody feel at home , maybe another time we will show you other secret spots in this amazing city and its maze of a medina. a bientot.
rene-jean astier
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this Riad for four nights last week. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the Medina area close to Djema El Fna Square.

After booking online, I was contacted by the Riad regarding transportation from the airport within a couple of hours. They offered a taxi service and also provided a map if you wanted to make your own way. We opted for the taxi service.

On arrival at Marrakech airport, we were met at the airport by the taxi driver who was holding a card with my name on it. From the airport, it took about 15 minutes to the Riad and cost 150 Dirhams. Very expensive for the short journey but you get there without any hassle and the driver knows where to go in the maze like alleys of the Medina.

We were then walked through small roads and alleyway when the driver turned and knocked on a door. Me and my wife looked at each other and thought 'oh, no this is not what we expected!'. And it really wasn't, we walked into a beautiful and well maintained riad! An oasis in the Medina.

The Riad is well maintained, clean and lots of light. Also it is very quite and its nickname is Riad Silence!

We were greeted by Mohan and a female assistant. They made us feel very welcome and straight away gave us mint tea and biscuits whilst we went over the formalities. They also provided a map and told us where the main attractions were. Very helpful and friendly although the english was not the best.

We were taken to our room which was very small and not what we had expected. There were twin beds and barely enough room to move around. There was an attached bathroom which was nice but also very small. We were not impressed with the size.

After a sleep we decided that it was too small for us and planned to move out to a hotel. I spoke to Mohan, who then spoke to the owner and within 5 minutes we had been upgraded to a very large room with a bigger bathroom for the same price! Hows that for service?!

The owner then spoke to me and made sure we were happy. I met him briefly during our stay and he seemed very friendly and polite.

We were provided breakfast every morning between 8.00am and 10.30am. The breakfast consisted of coffee, yoghurt, orange juice, 4 types of bread/pancakes and various spreads. Very filling but it was the same every day! No eggs or variety and I did get fed up with it after 4 days!

They also do a 3 course dinner on request. The cost is 180 Dirhams per person. Very expensive (You can eat for a total of 100 - 120 Dirhams for two anywhere decent) but it was the best meal we had in Morocco. For starters, there was a soup, aubergine chutney and samosa like pastries filled with various cheeses. All well made and delicious.

For the mains there was a lamb tagine with a cous cous type wheat. Amazing! The Tagine was fantastic with the meat falling off the bone........

For dessert there was a Apple Flan which was also lovely! We were stuffed and couldn't move.

I would highly recommend travellers to give this a try if they can and I am sure there will be no regrets!

The Riad is very close to the Souk and Djema El Fna. We walked to the square and various other attractions on foot and barely needed to use a taxi in the four days.

It is a lovely Riad in the heart of the Medina. However, please note that it is only a 3* and the facilities are basic. But for the price your paying, its well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javed817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

hello
i am sorry for the late response to your lovely review. we hope to have the pleasure to see you back in our house. cordially
rene-jean astier
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Riad Noor Charana was... WOW!
Tucked away down a little, quiet side street we discovered this gem.

Rene, Moha and staff were absolutely awesome, serving the most delicious breakfasts I think I have ever had. they were also on hand all-day long, to help with all our questions. On arrival from the airport we were first welcomed with tea and snacks, given a city map and orientated, shown the Riad facilities - including the great terrace, before being taken to our en-suite room. Noor Charana was our tranquil sanctuary from the Marrakech madness and I HIGHLY recommend staying here.

Noor Charana ticked all our boxes - beautiful, comfortable rooms, we were given helpful, local advice, there was assistance in organising trips and airport transfers, and after 6 days I was really sad to leave. Marrakech can be quite intence for the unsuspecting and at times we really felt a bit 'lost in translation', however Moha was there for us, all day, every day - bridging the gap. One night we decided to stay in for dinner, and the chef made us a Moroccan 'treat' - that 3 course dining expereince included a chicken, lentil and crepe tagine which was the best meal of our entire trip!

The location was also fantastic - although I do seriously advise an airport transfer. Finding anything at first is quite a task :) The Riad was clean and peaceful, only 1 minute from the main street, 2 minutes from a great Hammam Spa and 3-5 minutes from a few tour companies. 10 minutes away is the main square DJemaa ElFna and souks - so noise is to a minimum. We were only woken once to morning prayers from a nearby mosque, but this is something you will experience regardless of accommodation location.

Visiting Morocco towards the end of winter (Feb) can be quite chilly, but we were met with heated rooms, plenty of spare blankets and each night Moha brought us our own water bottles which was a fab touch. Rene met us for breakfast one morning, filling us in on the local culture, what to expect, where to go and what to see... he had many helpful suggestions and was more than willing to give out local knowledge which helped us quickly adapt to the 'Moroccan Way'.

Since we were miles from friends and family, being able to use their wi-fi and laptop, helped keep everyone up to speed with with our travels. Thanks Riad Noor Charana... for everything. And should we return to Marrakech... we will definitely be booking a room with you again :)

Room Tip: The Riad as a whole was quiet and peaceful, but I would assume the ground floor would be more suscep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just back from Marrakech, so in reverse culture shock! i was more than pleased with our choice of Riad Noor Charana. For a first, brief, visit to Marrackech there is no excuse for not staying in the Medina and Noor Charana provides a little haven of peace in the sometimes overwhelming chaos of its surroundings. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the hospitality calm and gracious and the breakfast much more than could be reasonably expected, seeing as it's included in the room rate. The Riad's driver Mohamed is also to be recommended. He went out of his way to answer our many questions about life in Marrakech and, like everyone we met at the Riad, made us feel welcome and looked after.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseR384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

hello louise
thank you so much for your lovely note about us; we focus on silence cleanliness and a friendly but discreet hospitality, and i am very happy you felt at home.
have a great end of winter; and we are looking forward to your next visit ( one can only hope) to maybe this time enjoy our wonderful home cooking, in our special city of marrakech;
cordially
rene-jean astier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

this was a good choice to stay in marrakech, 6 - 10 minutes walk from the square and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and they also have a very nice rooftop. With out a doubt thought the best thing was the man who run the place (not the owner) who brought us hot water bottles every night!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noorcharana, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

i am glad you liked our simple home; the breakfast is served on the terrace as we speak, due to an early spring ,
have a great late winter;
cordially , from a very sunny marrakech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I had a chance to stay at the Riad Noor Charana which was a piece of Paradise! The manager, Mr. Astier, is a very jovial gentleman. You feel at home right away with him. He speaks perfect English and is a very pleasant man. Moha is a Moroccan man who is Mr. Astier's assistant and is a very helpful man who can tell you how to get places and when you take a taxi he makes sure you are not overcharged, which is very nice.
At the Riad you have excellent food. Radia, who is the chef, cooks authentic Marrakech and Moroccan food. She is also a very pleasant young woman. I asked her if she would give me some cooking lessons and she accepted very graciously. I spent 2 days in the kitchen with her and learned how to make wonderful food. Her price was 130 diramh a day meaning around $30 a day; but if you want to do that, get ready to work. For example, the crepes are absolutely delicious but a lot of work. But I recommend that everyone do that; it is a wonderful thing to learn. And finally we have Naima who is the housekeeper; she always has a big smile on her face and she leaves everything spotless. Her sheets are crisp and white and her towels are very soft. If you would like to go to Marrakech, this is the place to go! It is in the heart of the Medina, where you shop, a very busy place in sharp contrast to the peace and quiet of Riad Noor Charana. My husband, who is a musician, really appreciated the peace and quiet of the place. Bon Voyage! From Christine & Irwin

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor with a very nice bathroom. They have only 2 bedroom rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRISTINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#214 of 501 in Marrakech
257 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#100 of 501 in Marrakech
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#279 of 501 in Marrakech
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#207 of 501 in Marrakech
299 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#188 of 501 in Marrakech
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#257 of 501 in Marrakech
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noor Charana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noor Charana

Address: Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £29 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Noor Charana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Noor Charana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noor Charana Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing