We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great riad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Bamaga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Ranked #149 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We loved this wonderful riad! Stayed there for three days in November 2011. Collette was so helpful (we had problems with our rented car and she helped a lot negotiating with Avis because we didn't speak French and they didn't speak English!)! The room was beautifully decorated and very cosy! The location of riad is very good - in the center of medina. I think it was the best hotel during our trip in morocco. I would recommend this riad to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaFleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    32
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
204
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Colette and Jean-Jacques made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. We definitely recommend organizing the airport transfer with Colette (€15 ea way), well worth it. We stayed in the Bab Doukkala room (second floor) which was very nice. The rooms are very spacious. They provided a lock for us so we could lock our door. They held our luggage for us for 3 days while we were in the desert. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Don't expect high-speed wireless internet, but this is normal. They do have a computer you can use but it's slow.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winecountryfanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We chose Riad Bamaga after reading the previous reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived until we left we had fantastic hospitality. Colette was extremely helpful in
recommendations and making booking for us. It was a real haven to come back to after the chaos of the Medina. We had a room on the ground floor which was very clean and spacious, it was also extremely peaceful. We would highly recommend the Riad to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio-Zest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

From the moment we were met at the airport by a taxi organised by the Riad we felt that our stay would be a good one. To our surprise and delight we were met by our hosts where the taxi had to stop. This was in part an expression of their hospitality and in part a necessity because the Riad is hidden away in a maze of little streets accessible only on foot. Colette & Jean-Jaques proved to be generous hosts. They do all they can to give their guests a memorable welcome, like a refreshing cup of mint tea on arrival, sipped while Colette explains what there is to see and how to get there. The atmosphere in the Riad is one of calm and relaxation. Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the roof tops is always something to look forward to, served by the ever smiling Josif for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our room was big and comfortable, nicely furnished and always clean and well looked after. Like many Riads it had no outer windows, but it opens to a beautiful open inner courtyard (covered for the winter whilst we were there) that gives seclusion no hotel can equal. We really looked forward to our stay, and the Riad Bamaga exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the wonderful riad bamaga. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, peppermint tea and the lovely owner Collette. As a family who have lived in Marrakech for years, Collette sat with us and passed on some invaluable advice and a very easy to follow map into the heart of the medina which at first can seem intimidating for a first timer but we were put at our ease and felt well informed . We thoroughly enjoyed the riad , service and ambiance and couldn't recommend this riad highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I can't praise Riad Bamaga highly enough. Colette and Jean-Jacque were so friendly and helpful; providing hand written maps, making reservations on our behalf and recommending local restaurants and sights. The riad itself is beautiful; a peaceful oasis in the middle of the city. The rooms are spacious, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The shower is powerful and the beds firm yet comfortable. The communal areas are likewise gorgeous, the highlight being the lovely roof terrace. Breakfast is yummy and plentiful. We ate a traditional Moroccan dinner at the riad on our first night and it was absolutely delicious. All the riad staff are friendly and accommodating. Colette can arrange for a taxi to take you to a 5* resort outside of the city. After two full days in the madness of Marrakech, it was a welcome retreat. The Murano is a wonderfully quiet resort with a blood-red tiled pool, comfy beds and lots of staff on hand - well worth a visit if you fancy some relaxation. All in all, Riad Bamaga is a fabulous place to stay, made all the more special by it's wonderful owners and staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilboWaagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We spent 2 nights here as a couple. As a first time visitor to Marrakech, I felt the hospitality and comfort of this Riad played a major part in making this a perfect holiday.

The main thing that sets them apart from most places I have stayed, is the personal service you receive from Colette. She is very welcoming, fluent in English and French, and goes the extra mile to make sure you make the most of your holiday. She was quick to respond to emails, very helpful with questions. She arranged a taxi from the airport to a point as close to the riad as possible (The taxi driver Hassan, was very friendly, and was very keen to point out our surroundings, and introduce to Marrakech as he drove us) She then met us at the pick up point and led us through the confusing streets to the Riad.

When we arrived at the Riad, she gave us a brief tour, anticipated that we would want to visit the Square that night, and so gave us a very clear hand drawn map, detailed instructions and essential advice on how to conduct yourself in Marrakech, to make the most of it. She explained that the next morning she would be available to give more advice and suggestions on how to make the most of our short stay the next morning. We then had a meal on the beautiful terrace served by the very helpful, friendly and hardworking Youssef.

The next morning, Colette did indeed have a great number of suggestions to make, and the maps to go along with it! She managed to create a very efficient rough plan for all the activities that we wanted to do given the opening times and the best times to visit certain attractions (including her own and our own suggestions) She also booked restaurants, taxis and excursions at a very reasonable rate for us. This basically took all the stress out of planning for us, and we were able to just enjoy the holiday!

The room we stayed in was beautiful, romantic and clean! It was fully equipped with hairdryer, safe, dressing gowns, slippers and soap. The terrace and atrium were stunning, and perfect places to come back to when we were weary with walking! Breakfast each morning was delicious (I miss it!) pancakes, grapes, tea, orange juice, a range of jams , croissants, bread and cake. It is also upstairs on the terrace, which made the most impressive backdrop and wake up to the day!

The streets that we walked through to get to the main square were safe, and very often we would bump into the same very charming and playful kids, who also recognised us!It took us only 10-15mins, and the walk is truely "a feast for the eyes!" so before you know it, you are there.

Our highlights were the square at night, the photography museum, Foundouk restaurant and the jardin majorelle. Murano's swimming pool is a nice cool down, but definitely not an essential part of the holiday.

In summary, Colete and her team go to great efforts to ensure that you have a great time. The Riad is beautiful comfortable, and tries to stay true to Morrocan culture. We hope to come back to Marrakech many times, and will definitely look to Colette's Riad as our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#97 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#139 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#121 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#98 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#101 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga Hotel

Property: Riad Bamaga Hotel
Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bamaga is right in the heart of the medina of Marrakech in a traditional setting. Enjoy personalized service and comfortable rooms. The rooms are individually decorated in a Moroccan style and typical colors. They feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, minibar and broadband WiFi. The manager is always available to response your request . Tasty local dishes are available: you can enjoy them on the terrace, in the elegant patio or in the dining room. The roof terrace is ideal for relaxing in the evening. it offers panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. The (Médina) district is an ideal choice for travelers who are interested in these topics: shopping, markets and souks. It is the favorite area travelers visiting Marrakech, according to comments independent customers. We speak your language ! This offers the worthy of a four star services. Riad: 5 bedrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Bamaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing