We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palais Soltan Riad & Spa
Ranked #436 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place and great staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel isn't a 5 star but more like a 3 or 4, be aware there is a tax each night, $6. We arrive about ten and they got our room ready within 15 minutes and were very welcoming. The hotel's views aren't very nice, sort of in a shopping or hotel development area but once on the roof you get a beautiful view of the atlas mountains. The canopy beds and loungers around the pool are nice, and prices for food and drink alright, especially considering it's within the hotel: about .50 cents for soda, $4 a beer, $10 cocktails and $10 for sandwich/salads which were very good. There's free shuttles twice a day to the medina (about 15 min drive) at 930 and 3 so you can easily see everything and they pick you up at 12 noon or 8pm. If you don't make those shuttles, they'll bring you for $2.50 a person to where ever you need and pick you up for another $2.50. Get the hotel to pick you up and drop you off if you can, much cheaper than the rates the taxis try to charge, $15 flat rate this. The reception provided a great 'Top Ten' guide for us to use and helped recommend restaurants and sites to see. The excursions are reasonably priced in comparison to what outside vendors charge, we did the camel ride for $25/person for an hour, though they would have gone longer we just got too hot. The room was large, a little dated and no windows but still very nice. We had birds chirping loudly outside but they stopped at night, though would begin about 7am. Breakfast went until 11 so didn't have to wake up early for it and was good, basic croissants, fruit, deli meats, eggs and coffee and oj. The pool is basic but nice and again the lounging areas fine with towels, beach bags, and hats provided, ambient music playing and never was at a lost to find a spot to lay out. The drivers, receptionists, and waiters were all very nice and I would go back.

Room Tip: Room 39 had birds chirping loudly that could wake us up around 7 but not a problem in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kntboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guests,

The whole team joins me in thanking you for your comment left on this site! We will do everything we can to make your next stay a renewed delight!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    8
    10
    20
See reviews for
16
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Let's start with the good bits.... We arrived at 10 in the morning , lovely greeting from the staff , biscuits and tea . Room ready in 30 mins , so far so good . Room very nice , traditional Moroccan , not 5 star , 3 star . Small pool on roof with lots of very tired trendy beach loungers and chairs , whole area very tatty , seen much better days . Pool and bar staff very nice , food very poor , only tried it once , bottle of decent Moroccan rose wine £17 , cold beer £4 . Music starts at 9.30 in morning , sort of Afropean Muzak , fairly inoffensive but they crank it up all day until it is very loud by 6 in eve . Breakfast on roof was simple but very nice , best fresh OJ I've ever had . Hotel is in middle of building site , not their fault but area seems to have run out of money ... Carrefour shopping arcade 5 min walk across wasteland , perfectly safe though , locals very pleasant . If
you visit this hotel expecting a 3 star hotel you will not be disappointed . It is a long way from 5 stars... You must go to the Club Cesar hotel next to Carrefour for Sunday Brunch , fantastic plentiful food for £23 , best we had all holiday . Next door is the beautiful Al Fassia hotel with equally excellent traditional food , be sure to book .

wasteland , perfectly safe though , locals all very pleasant . If you visit this hotel expecting a 3star you will not be disappointed , do not expect

Room Tip: If you bring the kids take them to the Virgin restaurant in Carrefour centre , loads of live footbal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pistonbrokeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for Taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. Certainly we are disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Palais Soltan.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel staff and the decor of your room and would like to say that our standing has always been recognized 5 stars.
Related to the restoration, we respect your opinion and be assured that the necessary measures have been implemented to improve the quality of services mentioned. Regarding drinks, the prices are the same as those of the hotels in the same category and we take great to the quality of service.
We wish to inform our guests that the pool - restaurant - lounge bar has been completely renovated, is a style for all ages (see professional photos on Tripadvisor)
Again, we thank you for your comments and hope to regain your confidence in a future stay.

In anticipation of your visit, please believe in expressing our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Not quite a 5 star hotel as described. Our room was adequate and kept nice and clean, however the bathroom was a bit grubby and rough round the edges. Hotel receptionist was quite rude, her english was very limited, so I would suggest planning your trip in advance instead of asking her for some advise or suggestions of where to visit. The location of the hotel was not ideal, it is located on a main road around 10 minutes away from the Medina, the hotel coud provide a shuttle at 25 dirams per person per trip. There is not much near by with regards to restaurants and the hotel restaurant - Apostrophe! has a really limited menu .. and what ever you do dont ask for coffee! after 3 attempts we eventually got a decent coffee! (how can you mess up a coffee!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and are saddened to know that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Palais Soltan. In addition, we remind you that our hotel provides the guests two daily free shuttle at fixed times for transfer from the hotel to the city center and on reservation for the rest of the day as well as for the transfer to the airport.
Relative to the location of the Palais Soltan, we respect your opinion and want to bring to your attention that our hotel is part of the new tourist area of Agdal, located near the Al Mazar Mall with views overlooking the mountains Atlas and surrounded by hotels, renowned restaurants, golf course and movie theaters. Regarding cleanliness, we confirm that we require in this regard and we are always highly rated by our customers. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced the level of service and would offer you lunch and our coffee house during your next stay in compensation for the inconvenience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here last week for 5 nights. We had a fantastic stay, despite our luggage being delayed for 3 days thanks to easy jet. Reception staff couldn’t of been more helpful, ringing the airport every day to chase our bags. The riad was beautiful and very clean. Our room was beautiful also with a huge four poster bed and lovely bathroom. The room top terrace was really lovely with plenty of areas for sunbathing. The music which was played wasn’t an issue at all. It wasn’t that loud, maybe a little repetitive at times however this didn’t affect our stay at all. There is a supermarket just behind the riad where you can pick up drinks if you don’t want to pay for those at the hotel. There is a free shuttle service which runs from the hotel to the medina twice a day, once in the morning and also in the afternoon. There is plenty of time to explore the old city before the bus picks you up again. If you choose to walk back to the hotel which we did on several occasions, it is aprox a 45 minute walk. If you want to go into the old city at any other time the hotel charge 25 dirham per person for a one way journey which is a couple of pounds. We paid to have a massage at the hotel which was excellent. There are loads to choose from and they are very reasonably priced. Overall we had a fantastic stay at this hotel being made welcome from the moment we stepped foot into the hotel. We would definitely return and recommend this riad to anyone thinking of staying in Marrakech :)))

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jande-at-the-boyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guests,
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Palais Soltan. We work entirely for the satisfaction of our guests and this is a real reward that your stay was a success and we will consider your comments to improve the quality of our service.
All our team of the hotel Palais Soltan hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at the Palais Soltan for the first 2 nights of our holiday in Marrakech, and then moved into a Riad near the Medina for the remaining 2 nights which for us was great. I really loved it here as it was very authentic, with beautiful furniture. The room had a lot of character and a gorgeous four poster bed which I really liked. The bathroom was gorgeous and had a massive bath which was nice as the other Riad only had a shower. The downside is that in the room it was quite noisy as I think we were near the kitchen. The staff were friendly too. The rooftop pool area is very nice, and they play some quite cool house music, but the drinks are very expensive and not that nice.

Also, the surroundings of the Riad isn't particularly picturesque which wasn't very important to us, but there is a small shopping centre with a huge supermarket just behind the Riad.

The Riad was quite far out from the Medina but there is a free shuttle bus twice a day that takes you into the Medina and they collected us a few hours later. This was good to ease us into the chaos that is the Medina, as its quite a tiring experience.

The reason why I initially chose the Palais Soltan is because the nightclub Pacha is literally just next door, and as we wanted to check it out it was nice to have a very short walk home. Within the establishment where the nightclub is there are a couple of bars and a restaurant called Crystal which is where we went for a meal on the first night. I have to say that Crystal was such a lovely surprise! It is honestly the best restaurant I've ever been to; the food was great, the service was impeccable, there were live singers with disney-like voices, the interior and exterior was just stunning! For myself and my partner it was the best part of our holiday and we probably wouldn't have gone there if we weren't staying at the Palais Soltan.

Overall, for the price I thought it was quite a nice little Riad, and would suit someone who likes a really authentic feel.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room that's not on the ground floor, as I think it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preciouspixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
The whole team joins me in thanking you for your comment left on our site!
We are delighted that you could appreciate the context of our hotel Palais Soltan and especially our rooms and the pool restaurant lounge on the roof top terrace.
I would like to apolgise on behalf of the hotel and its team about the noise and we inform you that we will do the necessary to correct the problem of sound insulation of the room concerned.
We will do everything we can to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Thank you again for this assessment and feedback and hope to see you soon at the Palais Soltan.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our holiday was ruined when we arrived at this hotel only to find that they were having the pool refurbished. It was a construction site! They put us in a room that was clearly chosen because it was easier for them to get too/service. The most was ridiculous starting early in the morning and not finishing until 10pm. They had NO drinks in stock, the service was slow and useless. I was devastated, I love morocco but this hotel was a shambles. Please, don't stay here :'-(

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Aryan138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Madam,
We respect your opinion and are saddened to know that you have not spent a delightful stay. We want to bring to your attention that our hotel is appreciated by the majority of our guests, and his classification by the tourist authorities is 5 stars, the equipment of our rooms meet the standards of 5 stars and we are known by our bedding, bathrooms and our decoration combining modernity and tradition. Regarding the food and beverage, our 3 restaurants and lounge bar offers menus with a wide selection, the minibars in the rooms are filled on customers' request. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced despite a team responsible for ensuring the ongoing success of your stay. We remain at your disposal.
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, R?on de Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

There is a club right next to the hotel which is really noisy at night; the sonorisation is so bad that you often cannot fall asleep.Another major drawback: the hotel is quite far from the city center ,so you have to pay around 10 euro by taxi (no alternative means of transport)for a ride to the city center (medina) and back. Breakfast is poor ,too. The staff, however, is pretty nice but this doesn't make it much better :) Otherwise, you'll have a great time in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yannis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Palais Soltan staff and thank you to send us your room number by email so we can correct the problem of sound insulation.
for breakfast, we want to reassure our guests stating that the breakfast buffet offers daily fresh pastries, croissants, Muffin Chocolate, bun grapes, home tarts , fruit salad, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, tomato and mozzarella, fried potatoes, a variety of sausages, pancakes, variety of cheeses, cereals, fruit,butter, jam, honey, tea, coffee, milk, juice over a wide range of Moroccan pastries.
We also have a free shuttle twice a day at fixed times or on reservation for the rest of the day for a price of 25.00 EUR per person and transfer.
Once again please do accept our apologies and hope to regain your confidence in a future stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#403 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#83 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albakech House
Albakech House
#134 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cesar Resort & Spa
Cesar Resort & Spa
#228 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
#318 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#173 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Soltan Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Soltan Riad & Spa

Property: Palais Soltan Riad & Spa
Address: Zone Avenue Mohammed VI | Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palais Soltan Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Soltan Riad And Spa
Palais Soltan Riad Hotel Marrakech
Palais Soltan Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing