We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantabulous”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Ranked #333 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed with the family(6)for two nights over Christmas. Outstanding service, from owner Peggy to all the staff. I had all my questions(and I had many trust me) answered prior to arrival by Peggy. Once there, we even received a call from the States to make sure we were ok- nice touch that makes the trip so much more worthwhile! Hamidou and Said were just phenomenal- better service than most 5 star hotels. Best location too(close to the square so no tiring walk back at night), especially for someone who wanted to make the morning prayer in the Koutobia masjid, personally escorted by Hamidou to top it off. No surprises. Everything as advertised, and then some. Definitely worth a stay again. Above endorsed by some of the harshest critics- my 4 teenagers!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mykidsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed in this Riad for the first time in 2008 and found it was an absolutely beautiful and enchanting retreat in the middle of the Marrakech Medina. We visited Morocco for the second time a few weeks ago and returned to the Riad. Peggy, the owner was not there this time, but her staff, Hamidou, who manages the place when Peggy is not there, and Said, were marvelous. Here you feel you are in a palatial home, rather than in a hotel. The Riad is full of gorgeous Moroccan art, and the rooms are decorated to perfection. Our room, "The Grand Chamber" is decorated with traditional Moroccan furniture, a fireplace, and gorgeous Berber ceramics. The bathroom has all the amenities to make life easy. Peggy has made some great changes since we were there. Now there is WiFi throughout the Riad, she has upgraded the lighting, etc. In addition, Hamidou is an outstanding cook. Having a dinner cooked by him is heavenly!!

Room Tip: The Grand Chamber is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This riad is fabulous! The staff are friendly, and nothing was too much trouble, but the real delight here - apart from the unbeatable location - was Peggy, the owner, whose hard work and diligence in restoring the riad using traditional methods and materials has made it a work of art and a truly wonderful place. Her knowledge of the history and traditions of the country was exceptional, and it was a pleasure spending time in her company as well as in her riad. Ask for room No.2, if it's available, and be prepared to want to stay for ever!!

Room Tip: Room No.2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewyh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Peggy has brought all the best of Moroccan art in one spot. This is far more a home rather than a hotel and you are treated as such. We arrived at the end of our trip and itwe were surrounded with comfort. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is superb. Take a peek into the kitchen, it is as attractive as the rest of the riad. The whole property is absolutely spotless and the bathroom has all the little extras that you could want. Ask if the Grande Chambre is available, it is truly a treasure trove of exquisite objects lovingly collected. No restaurant as such, but Hamidou will cook for you if you ask ahead of time. Contact at mctcalifornia@aol.com. Peggy also does custom tours that are genius. See mention in Fromers guide. I should mention that we were there close to the square when the bomb went off. We had traveled all over the country and the people were invariably friendly and polite. We noticed no difference in the atmosphere and felt completely safe before and after. Peggy and staff were great about keeping us informed. Please go to Morocco, there are not the same concerns that one might have traveling to the mid-east. This is an incredibly beautiful country and should not be missed. I do recommend a driver at the very least. The cities are difficult to manuever in and there is little convenient parking. Check out Meknes and the wine growing region. If you have the time, and the money (it is pretty far south and therefore a bit out of the way) ride a camel in the desert, but stay at the local hotel rather than the tent if you have stomach issues. I brought home a pocketful of sand unintentionally so you can imagine how sandy the rest of me was. The bathrooms in the hotel are a real blessing. I didn't think I would be all that interested in the gorges, but they are truly spectacular. Look for Le Festival in Fodor's guide. We were there at the end of the rose season in the Dades. Young boys would stand by the roadside with garlands of the most fragrant pink roses, buy some and hang them in your car. The country is magic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miki024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

I went with my partner and elderly mother for a three night stay and wish it had been longer. We had a warm welcome from our American hostess, Peggy, and the staff could not have been more obliging in sorting trips for us and tailoring them for my mother who is over eighty. Every detail has been given in decoration and comfort to the rooms. Situated very close to the square the location was also good to see the sights and souk: however it might be difficult to find unless you are directed! The roof gardens are also designed with comfort in mind, with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs. The pool below is cool and a place to retreat from the heat.
I cannot recommend it more highly and hope to return in the next few years.
Morocco has unfortunately been the victim of an attack recently, but this should not dissuade travellers from visiting this hugely welcoming and friendly country and I suggest people use the opportunity to stay in pampered luxury.

Room Tip: standard rooms also deluxe standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danberney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

The Riad was amazing, From the friendly staff to the gorgeous rooms, everything was perfect. It is truly a hidden treasure. I have nothing negative to say about any aspect of the Riad.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMann89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Hamidou took wonderful care of us, and Peggy was a fount of knowledge on Moroccan inside information. We were traveling with a Moroccan professional guide. Peggy was able to add to our experience by sharing inside tips and information about the country and cities we visited. We traveled just at the beginning of the tourist season so we had the riad to ourselves. Breakfast was great and the riad had all the comforts of home. A plunge pool in the courtyard, rooftop terraces, and tastefully decorated rooms. The best part of our experience was the visits we had with Peggy. She was able to share stories with us we had not heard from our guide, Hamid Dandane.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kssour Agafay
#398 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#325 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#112 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#421 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#259 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amirat Al Jamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amirat Al Jamal

Property: Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Address: 33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, authenticity, impeccable service, convenience, and comfort—Riad Amirat al Jamal offers everything a client needs for a relaxing stay in Marrakech. Part of an Alaouite Dynasty palace, this riad features five air-conditioned chambers, individually decorated with Berber artifacts and Moroccan artwork. Two minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the riad boasts three terraces, swimming pool with fountain and massage jets, salon with fireplace and library, satellite television and DVD, and computer for client use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing