We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I felt like a queen back in time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Amirat Al Jamal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Ranked #363 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
southampton, PA
2 reviews
“I felt like a queen back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

I have never taken the time to write a review on a hotel but this time I had to make an exception. Tucked in the corner of a little alley way sits paradise. The beauty of this place leaves you speechless. Food was delicious. Decor is magnificent. Service was exceptional. We were actually sad to leave behind our newly found friends, Rachid and his staff. This riad can give Martha Stewart a run for her money. All I can say is that when you walk into the place it makes you feel like "Welcome to the Casbah" and that welcome was appreciated by all in our party. We have to go back to Morocco just to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Pomfret, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Riad Amirat Al Jamal has a very good staff – nice, honest, very helpful and with good hearts. We all enjoyed ourselves throughout. The Riad itself is decorated with a collection of some of the nicer items you'll see in the Souks such as African masks, rugs and ceramic vases. And the walls and tiles and floors are beautifully done with respect to interior design - lots of character. There are two small roof top terraces that are a comfortable place to lie in the sun when you need down time. And in the center of the Riad is a small garden-pool where you can also relax. The morning breakfasts which come with the price of the Riad were fabulous - with beautifully decorated tables decorated differently each morning in stylish colors, and fresh home made food. For us, the beds felt unusually comfortable. Plus, they have a nice small library with interesting books on the culture and landscape and styles (tiles, homes etc) of Morocco. The location is close to the heart of the center of the Medina, the Jemaa El Fna, down a nondescript alleyway nearby.
We ended up seeing lots of the historical and cultural icons in Marrakesh like the Saadian tombs, although I know we barely scratched the surface. The culture in Morocco is vibrant and it was fascinating to be exposed to it. The Jardin Majorelle (gardens of Yves St. Laurent) was a favorite highlight for its brilliant primary colors and hip design and style of buildings and grounds. And the owner Peggy will tell you about her favorite places to shop.
With advice from Hamidou at the Riad and Peggy, we ended up taking a day trip to Essaouira on the coast and had a great time. The freshest-of-fresh fish down at the harbor was fabulous - the best meal we had while in Morocco! Another day trip to Casbah du Toubkal up in the Atlas mountains, at the foot of the highest peak in northern Africa (Jbel Toubkal), was also a great experience. We opted to hike the short distance up to the tea house rather than go by donkey.
Many thanks to the owner Peggy for all her great advice, and to Hamidou and Sayed – we were all well taken care of. We have enormous gratitude for all their help, and especially thank Hamidou and Sayed for translating when needed, and guiding us through the labyrinthine Souks when it was otherwise difficult to find a particular artisan.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwhite0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

An establishment is only as good as the people it employs and here is a prime example! Hamidou and Said were fantastic and Said really knows how to set a gorgeous breakfast table! I understand he learned it all from Peggy, whom we did not meet as she was in the States at the time of our visit. Everything I could say has already been said by other reviewers. Great location but one word of advice regarding suitcases-- the rough "terrain" to get to the riad from where the taxi lets you off can destroy suitcase wheels!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Riad Amirat Al Jamal is an absolutely spectacular place to stay during a trip to Marrakech. Having never been to Morocco before and without much prior knowledge, I had no concept of how the riad's are positioned throughout the medina. Riad Amirat Al Jamal is in a prime location, only steps from the main square, Jemaa el Fna, and despite the narrow pathways to reach it's front door, is easy to find. The inside of the hotel is beautiful with everything made locally, from the mattresses to the lamps. The staff is extremely hospitable and they kindly walked us to our restuarants so that we knew how to find our way back. The owner, Peggy, was so helpful and informative, even taking the time to walk us over to the souks and explain how the negotiation process worked. I highly recommend Riad Amirat Al Jamal as a fantastic place to stay during a visit to Marrakech. It was truly one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAstephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

The Riad Amirat Al Jamal reunites all the things we need in a moroccan hotel : some local exotism (and the taste is excellent), some historic guidance (Peggy, the owner, is a fantastic host who knows the history of the region and can tell it lightly) and some help to realize what you can do alone and when is better to get some help (Peggy again fantastic). The rest of the personnel is awesome: Ahmed and Said. Ahmed even gave me a cooking lesson. Dinner was the best we ate in Marrakesh (and we dined in Moha and in Djemma Al Fna, the square). Thank you Peggy for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moura1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

This hotel is a gem. The authentic decor and comfortable surroundings were a true oasis after a day shopping and sight seeing in the sook. The owner Peggy was a great host and very knowledgeable on the culture and history of Morocco. We loved coming home and talking to her about what we saw and experienced during the day and having her put all of it in the proper context. Her staff was great too especially Hamidoo (sp?) He was so awesome , we wanted to take him home with us. I recommend staying with Peggy and enjoying the great riad experience she has so painstaking put together for the adventurous traveler. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynesters50_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Marrakech itself is unique but when we arrived at the Raid Amirat Al Jamal we were truly suprised, entering the raid was like a trip to the past. The room/suite was beautifully decorated with items that were made by local craftsman. Peggy, our host and "Said"who catered to our every need were especially appreciated. The breakfast by the pool was presented every morning with different color settings it was great, as was breakfastt. When we ventured out Peggy made sure that we had everything ,from taking us on personal tours thur the city to our trip to the mountains. There are not enough words to describe all the wonderful things about Peggy and her staff and the Raidyou just have to see it to understand all the time and effort that Peggy has devoted to the Raid by incorporating the historic tradition of the country into the Raid. Peggy has lived in Marrakech for five years, speaks the language and seems to know everyone and all the really great places to see and dine. Our thanks to Peggy ,"Said" and staff for a great vacation .We will definitely be planning a return trip to The Riad Amirat Al Jamal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDiane434462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#271 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#196 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#134 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#324 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#435 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amirat Al Jamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amirat Al Jamal

Property: Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Address: 33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#182 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, authenticity, impeccable service, convenience, and comfort—Riad Amirat al Jamal offers everything a client needs for a relaxing stay in Marrakech. Part of an Alaouite Dynasty palace, this riad features five air-conditioned chambers, individually decorated with Berber artifacts and Moroccan artwork. Two minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the riad boasts three terraces, swimming pool with fountain and massage jets, salon with fireplace and library, satellite television and DVD, and computer for client use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing