We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis Calipau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Ranked #317 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2008

My familly and I visited in August during the hottest period. On arrival you will have to walk with your luggage for a 100m. Don't be alarmed! When you walk through the door of the Riad, you will step into an oasis of oppulence...what a contrast. Hold your nerve. August was low season and thewre was nobody else in the Riad. My wife and two young children had the run of the entire Riad including the swimming pool. It was expensive for Marrakech, but was excellent value. I felt the French Manager was always trying to push services on us, but hey his job is to sell. If you can try to arrange visits through him he will be cheaper than your agent if you negotiate. You must visit the Atlas Mountains and Ourika valley on your trip to Marrakech, it makes a good change from the heat & hustle bustle of the city and is stunning. Cost me 2000 dirhams to hire a driver and 4 x4 for the day..best day of the trip, had an excellent driver / guide. Essaouira was a bit of a waste of time because it is like any other beach in the world, and I felt Essaouira had no character unlike the Marrakech...good way to see the country en route, however.
7 days in Marrakech is probably too much, but if you use Marrakech as a base to see other parts of Morroco thats fine.You should be able to speak school room standard french.... phrase book a must! 20 dirhams for a small taxi and 30 odd for a larger one. Don't just go to Jemall Fena you can also go to the modern plaza if you want a change and go up market. I feel a place is generally defined by the people and the Morrocan characteristics and nature is laid back and friendly, and for this reason Morroco has an affectionate place in my heart...watch out for the souks though, I loved to negotiate personally and the Morroccons actually had enough of me...it can feel aggressive although it isn't really. Enjoy yourself and don't get to stessed out by the negotiating it usually takes care of itself!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Moses786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2008

I always rely on the Trip Advisor for guidance before booking any hotel, so it was with some trepidation that I committed to the Palais Calipau with only 1 review, which was in French. Whilst the French review was positive it remained ONE entry. I need not have worried. I'm at that stage where I need to balance my secret place with wanting to support the good people that work & run this wonderful riad. We were a group of middle aged ladies celebrating a significant birthday, but we could have been anybody. The venue was divine and the staff could not be more keen to make your trip special. There are two English language speakers, but French is primarily spoken, but it is SO worth polishing up your French and making the effort. A little way out from the Jemma el Fna square, but the journey on foot is about 15-20 mins. We used taxis' alot which were about £1.00 each way! (night fares slightly higher) The Kasbah area of the Medina just seemed so much less frenetic and a virtual sanctuary after the hub-bub of the main square. That is not to say that it is without its 3rd world charms, but is simply more relaxed. Once the door opens to the riad you are catapulted into a world apart from the streets. Absolutely stunning venue; not cheap, but well worth the sums charged by European standards.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank wilberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sultan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigittelefevre58, Gérant at Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Angélique Make ... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigittelefevre58, Gérant at Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigittelefevre58, Gérant at Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank sandra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigittelefevre58, Gérant at Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kamal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigittelefevre58, Gérant at Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#229 of 501 in Marrakech
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#221 of 501 in Marrakech
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#95 of 501 in Marrakech
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#152 of 501 in Marrakech
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.2 mi away
Riad Moullaoud
Riad Moullaoud
#200 of 1,167 in Marrakech
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech

Address: 14 Derb Ben Zina | Marrakech Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £62 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing