We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at the Palais Calipau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Ranked #379 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place is not a hotel it's a traditional riad and this should be embraced as one. We had a wonderful time here and particularly enjoyed the pool and seating area to hang out in. Great location and we felt safe even late at night. We paid a bargain price to stay here and glad we did so. Selma and her staff and really hard working and made us feel welcome. Top tip - book a taxi transfer to the riad

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place was great, superfriendly staff, huge room (over 30sqm), 2 sinks, 2 showers, pool, rooftop terrace and rooftopshower, situated in very lively and safe area at all times (we were 3 girls). The hallways smelled amazing and the multilungual building manager offered us great advice and accomodated our special requests (early breakfast, alcohol). Would stay here again

2  Thank Alex403
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My time in the riad was a beautiful experience. The warm welcoming from the staffs was excellent and overwhelming. Selma the Manager made sure all needs were met to the best standard. She was very helpful and welcoming and would help with any query that we asked of. Abdul who was one of the staff was exceptional. He was so helpful from the day we arrived till the day we left. Ive never felt so comfortable in a place like this where i know that if i was in need of anything i know they would help. I may have stayed for 4 nights but those nights were memorable. Great location, Great place to have a relaxing time in and great service that you expect. I would definitely with out a doubt go back again. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We only stayed for two nights and wish it could have been for longer! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is extremely tranquil and perfect for a quiet break away. Great location, can walk to the main square within 10mins.

The decor is stunning throughout, especially the lobby area. I would really recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Marrakech was one of the destinations on my "to do list" and a break away from it all during May is what I call a great Christmas present!
My husband and I flew from Dublin to spend 3 nights in Marrakech, and even though I wasn't involved in arranging this particular trip, I'm so glad I was one to take it. Such a wonderful place, and even more fabulous was the place we stayed!

To be honest, I just don't understand how anyone can have one bad thing to say about the Palais Riad Calipau and as for being overpriced? Well our deal couldn’t have been any better price wise, and to be frank in fact I didn’t expect the half of what we got for our money!

Isn’t it such a shame that a few “poor” reviews can make every expectant traveller nervous – me included! But perhaps a few words of explanation here will clear up some of the negative comments noted about the Palais Riad Calipau, especially those who expect to stay in a hotel? A riad is a traditional Moroccan house, a palace with an interior garden or courtyard. It is NOT, nor does it claim to be an hotel - something which several guests staying here haven't understood at all! (That said many riads are now used as hotels or restaurants).
The word riad comes from the Arabian term for garden, "ryad", and might I add, it's not a "bad" place despite what some reviews here might lead you to believe! Riads and dars which embody the architectural essence of Moroccan traditional houses are located in Moroccan Kingdom’s medinas. If the word “Dar” is simply translated by house, the term “riad” (or ryad) embodies the idea of a garden on top of that (please note here the word "idea")!

Invisible for travellers who are walking around the old town, these houses, closed from outside, don’t let their charm show. The alleyways which lead to the houses are narrow, and entrance doors are very insignificant. Outside walls will show a lack of large windows on the exterior clay or mud brick walls. ...so, please don't expect lavish exteriors with tree lined driveways which lead to fountains / golden horses as you might find in Dubai! And please don't be frightened by the narrow roads and alleyways either because this is what Marrakech is supposed to be like - not all access routes will be brightly lit up, and not all cars / taxis will be able to drive you right up to the door of where you stay (as will be the case here), but you won't have to walk far - honestly! Enjoy the experience and you will be rewarded by an exceptionally warm and friendly welcome at Palais Riad Calipau.
Once you cross the door you will have pleasure at what you discover! The sound discrepancy between the derbs’ hubbub and the house peacefulness will reinforce your serenity impression, and that is what you will find at the Calipau.... in fact many reviewers make mention of "another world" once inside, and I agree with these comments.

Square-shaped, sometimes rectangular-shaped, all of these spacious houses have one or two floors. The columns which support the roof are visible and form a gallery succession which opens up on the patio. Ground floors are generally dedicated to common areas: living rooms, dining room, kitchens with main bedrooms are located on upper floors, however the Calipau do have bedrooms on the ground floor too.

The cooling effect of the swimming pool in the courtyard of this property is no accident. A water feature at the base of a riad courtyard serves two purposes. Firstly, the obvious focal point but more importantly, the courtyard's open-air aperture channels warm air entering into the riad which in turn passes over the water feature, cools down, thus assisting in the convection of heat to exit back through the riad's open-air aperture. This style of natural air-conditioning has been prevalent in Morocco for millennia and is remarkably successful.

The most popular drink here is green tea with mint, and we were offered to sample this beverage upon arrival – a welcome refreshment after our journey. Traditionally, making good mint tea in Morocco is considered an art form and the drinking of it with friends and family is often a daily tradition. The pouring technique is as crucial as the quality of the tea itself. Moroccan tea pots have long, curved pouring spouts and this allows the tea to be poured evenly into tiny glasses from a height. For the best taste, glasses are filled in two stages. The Moroccans traditionally like tea with bubbles, so while pouring they hold the teapot high above the glasses. Finally, the tea is accompanied with hard sugar cones or lumps. Abdul, the staff member who welcomed us, provided tea and the service was just as described in the books which I had read prior to our departure.

The Pailais Calipau is one of the older Moroccan houses which has been renovated into a guesthouse, all with the greatest care in choosing materials in order to preserve them, and we find inside the walls all that made the greatness of Moroccan handcrafting such as zellige, stucco, tadelakt of cedar work. Stephanie, the owner of the hotel has done a wonderful job with her personal touches; all bedrooms are unique, and tastefully furnished. It was a nice touch I thought to leave the doors of the uninhabited rooms open so we could explore!

The Calipau is perfectly located for exploration of the old town, and if the walk of 15 mins to the new town seems too far away in the heat of the summer, then just order a taxi to take you to the shopping centre in the new town – taxi travel is not expensive, and the journey is well worth it.
Breakfast here is typically Moroccan, and is it lovely to have the opportunity to enjoy the food of the locals. One morning we sampled local breads, and on the other mornings we had various fruits. On our final evening we decided to have dinner in the Calipau. We were given a choice of menu and our selection was passed through to the chef after breakfast. It is essential for you to make arrangements to share an evening meal, and once again I would recommend that you experience the lovely local dishes – very reasonable at 20 Euro’s per person. Wine is available, the bottle we chose cost 20 Euro’s and was very enjoyable. The meal was perfect and it was made even more pleasurable because we were seated beside the pool on the ground floor, and the stars were twinkling above our heads!

In summary, I would thoroughly recommend you try the Palais Riad Calipau - Especially if you value great service; comfortable, clean rooms; friendly, welcoming and accommodating staff. Nothing is too much trouble, and you can be sure that if given the opportunity Stephanie, Abdhul and Salma will do their utmost to make your stay on of the best you have ever experienced – as they did for us - Thank you! I really hope I will be able to return to enjoy the hospitality of Palais Riad Calipau at some time in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Any room will be a good room, though I would prefer 1st floor to ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Valtpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at Palais Calipau for 3 nights in May 2014. A little gem of a Riad situated in The Medina area and only a 10 minute walk from the main square and souks. We were greeted by Abdul with Moroccan tea and biscuits and he gave us information on the Riad. It is beautifully furnished, comfortable and the staff friendly. The bedrooms are spacious and clean. Tours, taxi, spa treatments can be organised by the staff. If the hustle and bustle becomes too much, you can relax on the rooftop terrace, by the pool on the lower level or the many areas of comfortable sofas around the Riad. Wifi is available.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this Riad

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank LynnNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed over Christmas 2013 and were going to stay into the new year but decided to go home early, not due to anything with the hotel - it was fabulous, but because one of us was unwell. The staff were incredibly friendly, they provided all the extras we asked for including helping us send our laundry out to be done. They recommended a chemist and local medication to help with the illness. They were wonderful and we have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff. It can be cold in winter, but take slippers and dressing gowns. There are heaters, however, so you can warm up easily and outside it was never "cold" during the day but chilly at night.

Room Tip: Our room was a bit darker as it wasn't one of the larger rooms, but we still found it plenty spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#140 of 499 in Marrakech
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#365 of 499 in Marrakech
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#34 of 499 in Marrakech
711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#60 of 499 in Marrakech
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#207 of 499 in Marrakech
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech

Address: 14 Derb Ben Zina | Marrakech Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £60 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing