We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad, excellent hospitality”
Review of Riad Dar Tayib

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tayib
Ranked #305 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely riad, excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Lovely little riad in the Medina, a good ten-minute walk through markets to the Djemaa el Fna square. Nicely-decorated rooms, terrace with a view and sun beds, and a pretty central courtyard with adjacent dining room and a chill-out area, perfect for relaxing with a bottle of Moroccan wine. We found this through another site where it's rated among the best for hospitaly, and it's easy to see why. Owners Vincent and Latifa and the girls couldn't be nicer throughout our stay. They made us tea and showed us out to Djemaa el Fna when we arrived. We had a lovely three-course dinner on our second night which I highly recommend. Vincent also booked a lovely tour to the Atlas mountains on our last day (make sure you're clear about the price before you leave though). Over all a very pleasant stay. I would recommend this riad to anyone looking for an off the beaten path, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCamilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
135
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We arrived in Marrakech after a long day of travel and an exciting ride from the airport to the welcoming, calm, and wonderful Riad Dar Tayib. Vincent, Latifa, and their staff were incredibly helpful. They showed us how to get to the souks, served us wonderful meals, and created a relaxing retreat. We echo all the other outstanding reviews and would not hesitate to recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I went to Marrakech for a girly weekend and we spent 2 mighty at the Riad Dar Tayib. The place is fantastic for location and atmosphere (very romantic although it wasn't my weekend for romance). It is owned by Vincent and Fatima. Vincent is an excellent guide and he'll give you all the tips and advice you need for a great experience in Marrakech. His wife fatima is a very charming moroccan lady who cooks divine Moroccan food, breakfast is a delightful experience but also try to dine in one day. The riad is romantic and the room are warm cosy extremely clean and very characteristic. Another extremely positive thing is the location very easy access to all the attraction but not too close to the caps and the noise of the centre. This riad is the place to stay when in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahViazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at both Dar Tayib and Riad Birdy (another riad across Marrakesh), which are both run by the same owners. Both riads were comfortable, good value for money and conveniently located. Djemaa el-Fna (the main square) is located just a 15 minute walk from Dar Tayib, through a wonderful maze of derbs and souks and the French owner very kindly showed us the way and pointed out some good landmarks we could use to help make our way back.

However, we did have few problems with our reservations. Despite several emails in which my reservation and taxi pick up at the airport were confirmed, on our arrival no-one met us at the airport and we had to make our own way to the riad where they had no record of our booking.

Everyone at Dar Tayib was extremely apologetic and the two French owners ( Vincent and Latifa) more than made up for this by upgrading us to the top room in the riad for our stay at no extra cost and then when that room was no longer available moved us to the lovely Riad Birdy.

Whilst there I reconfirmed our booking in a few days time as we were heading off to Fez and then returning to Marrakesh. It was confirmed that we would be at Riad Birdy and we left our luggage with them. However, after a 9 hour train journey back to Marrakesh and on arrival at Riad Birdy, we received a call from the owners telling us that the whole riad had actually been booked up. This annoyed me as we had already confirmed our booking with them back in September via email and then in person a few days before and they had our luggage at Riad Birdy. We had a sneaky suspicion that the larger booking had come in while we were away and that we had been bumped for it.

What followed was quite chaotic. We were sent us off in a taxi with a young Moroccan boy to Dar Tayib. No-one clearly explained to us what was happening. We were literally being shoved from pillar to post and found this very stressful after a long journey from Fez. We both felt that the situation was handled very unprofessionally.

We advise you to doubly confirm your booking preferably by phone the day before travelling (please note that Vincent speaks very good English, but everyone else speaks French) and we would not recommend booking the Radija room as the toilet is located directly opposite the bed with no privacy. You may also find as we did that breakfast can get a little tedious with the same microwave heated rolls and pancakes every day, but dinner at the riad is lovely, albeit a little pricey.

All in all Dar Tayib is a nice place to stay and the two young Moroccan girls that work there could not be sweeter and more helpful. The owners are lovely people and very hospitable, however, their lack of professionalism regarding our reservations did cause us some stress on an otherwise wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Radija room toilet has no privacy but Yasmin is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindseyAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at Dar Tayib for 3 nights in the beautiful Yasmina room and had a good time exploring the city from there. The room was quiet noisy most mornings but I think it is because of the old structure. The kitchen staff made us very good breakfast and tea several times. The owners, Latifa and Vincent, are very helpful in finding your way in Marrakesh and Morocco as a whole. It was a good start of our 3 week trip round Morocco!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Vincent and his wife Latifah were such gracious and generous hosts. They took time to show us how to do what we wanted, where to go, and even more important, how to get back to their wonderful riad, which upon entering one feels as though they stepped into an oasis from a fairy-tale story. lf we ever go back to Marrakech, which is entirely likely based in part by our experience at Dar Tayib, we will definitely stay there with Vincent, Latifah, and their friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMonteils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Riad Tar Tayib made my day. The first 30 min in Marakesh started with a rip off taxi ride through a maze of streets that seemed unpenetratable at first glimpse. Without any sense of direction we needed a guide to show us the way from the taxi stop to the Riad.
The Riad is a dream, the rooms have an amazing architecture and you feel welcome and home from the moment you enter. An amazing dinner with wine from Marrocco and a chat with the owner Vincent made our day. This is a really exclusive place that has a lot to offer for the price. The service was excellent, we even got several rides to the station, bus station etc. with Vincents old 4WD.
I will go back there!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnerkiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Timel
Riad Timel
#546 of 1,139 in Marrakech
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#234 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 500 in Marrakech
1,941 reviews
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tayib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tayib

Property: Riad Dar Tayib
Address: Kaat Bennahid Derb Lalla Azzouna No 19, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Tayib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing