We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat”
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #21 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at Riad Aguerzame in late September and had a superb time. The Riad is very well located and provides easy access to all Marrakech has to offer. Laurent is a great host and made us feel very welcome - his talk on arrival and accompanying walk to the main square proved invaluable!!!!

We had a room on the first floor, which was long and thin with a lovely cave like bathroom. The Riad itself is very peaceful and it is a great place to come back and relax in after a hectic day out and about. There is a lovely roof terrace where we spent a few evenings with a beer or two and playing scrabble!

We were there on Laurent's Atlas Package, which we would highly recommend. We had enough time to enjoy Marrkech at a leisurely pace and it was lovely to get out of the city and go to Amizmiz to see the some of the countryside and the foothills of the Atlas Mountains.

Would highly recommend the Riad and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Kat and Matt

London, U.K

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

After travelling around Morocco and staying in a variety of accommodations over more than a week period, it was a wonderful feeling to end our visit to this amazing country at a such a wonderful riad. With only a handful of rooms and staffed by ever helpful & friendly people, the riad had an intimate & tranquil homely feel to it and yet only a few steps away from the hustle & bustle of the medina. Our room just off the courtyard was quiet, comfortable and clean and afforded us the much required rest after trawling around the souks in such hot climate. Most commendable was the host who went out of his way to acquaint us with local favourites and in the process unwittingly introduced me to my favourite restaurant in Marrakesh. Certainly one worth staying at if you want excellent value and friendly predispositions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We booked this riad based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and were not dissappointed. The riad is situated perfectly for exploring Marrakesh. The main square where everything takes place is less than 10mins walk form the riad. We arranged to be picked up from the airport and have our first evening meal here (which was the best food we had on our trip).
The Riad excelled our expections in so many ways.

1) Laurent was the perfect host. He created a relaxed, friendly and efficient atmosphere. Recommending places to visit and eat at. On our first morning he gave us a run through on surviving Marrakech. This proved invaluable. He walked with us to the main square inorder that we were comfortable with the hussle and bussel of the town. Believe me if you have never been to Marrakesh this will be an eye opener. He always inquired how our day went and was genuinely interested in making our stay better. Laurent recommended a day in the Atlas mountains with a personal guide, this was one of the highlights of our holiday.

2) Our room was on the first floor. It had a four poster bed, air conditioning and overlooked the court yard. It was a perfect place to retreat to after the souks.

3) Breakfast and any extra meals are served in the stunning environment of the courtyard surrounded by orange trees, comfortable seating areas and traditional lighting.

4) The Staff. What more could I say about the staff. They were always on hand, friendly, helpful and were genuinely interested in our day. We were always welcomed with a smile and the offer of mint tea.

5) If you felt that you could not face the mayhem of the souks, a climb up the stairs to the terrace was most welcome to laze on the sunbeds, rest in the shade or fall asleep under the stars.

All in all an amazing riad.This became to us a home from home. We loved every minute of our stay. We can't recommend it enough and are already looking forward to our next visit.

Gavin and Sharon (UK)

Room Tip: First floor rooms look down onto the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gav937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The riad is very well located, just a short walk from all the action. We stayed here for a total of 6 nights in September. Everything was just perfect. We stayed in two different rooms, both beautifully decorated. Laurent has been much praised in these reviews, and deservedly so. He's an excellent host. After a hectic time in the souks, returning to the riad was like coming home. There's a lovely roof terrace where we sat at night. You could see the smoke from the food stalls at Djemaa el Fna in the distance. We loved this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryWadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We arranged with Laurent for a pick-up at the airport and return and this all was perfect, as the taxi was waiting for us on arrival.

We arrived Friday night to a welcoming dinner prepared by the chef at the riad, which was the best food we had in Marrakesh.

Laurent was the perfect host giving us a "school lesson" on the area, what to do and who not
to get taken in by. The riad itself was very comfortable, with nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. In fact it was just like home from home. We met some of Laurent's friends and had no problems conversing with everyone despite our lack of French.

The location was great as we were right in the heart of things instead of being trapped in a modern hotel outside the walls.

Laurent arranged a mountain trip for us which was awesome. I would recommend this Riad and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor overlooking the riad courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yelnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This beautiful riad is a haven of peace and tranquillity in the heart of bustling Marrakech. Laurent is a perfect host who introduces you to the city and has a wealth of knowledge. He and his staff make you really welcome and it feels very much like home. We stayed in September 2011 for three nights and then went out of the city for a few nights and returned for our final 3 nights – we were so happy to be back. Everything about the riad, from the courtyard to the terrace, is lovely. We stayed in two different rooms and both were beautiful. We had a totally positive experience and cannot come up with a single criticism.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiN794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

What is there to add to what other people say? The location is great - just off the street leading from the Medina (Place Jemaa el Fna and the main souk area) to the Kasbah (the palaces and the slightly less frenetic shopping souks to the south). We felt sorry for those staying out in the big hotels on the outskirts, who had to trek in to see the action.
The accommodation is everything you could want from a traditional small riad but with the advantage of air-conditioning to the rooms and wi-fi throughout. We specially enjoyed the roof terrace for sunset (watch the sun disappear and listen for the call to prayers from all the mosques which follows), the courtyard in the shade of the orange trees for breakfast in the cool of the morning, and the refuge of a/c in the bedroom in the fiery midday heat.
Laurent was the ideal host. He gave us a thorough briefing on arrival, and was always there when we needed him for advice during our stay. He dealt flexibly and willingly with a couple of changes of arrangements we wanted to make. He even got out his guitar during our last evening!
The airport pick-up and return went like clockwork, which is a relaxing experience in any country but especially so in such an exotic destination as Marrakech.
So well done Laurent and also Tripadvisor which led us to his door!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin_and_Kathy_Winc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#38 of 499 in Marrakech
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing