We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like coming home”
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #14 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

What can we say? We've just returned from intoxicating Marrakech. And, what a pleasure it was to stay in the oasis of calm that is Riad Aguerzame. We spent 3 nights there from 3-6 November 2011. The Riad is 5-10 mins slow walk to Jemaa el Fnaa square which is a must (turn right at the palm tree then left at the Hotel Amira ...) and Laurent or Aziz will show you the route so you don't get lost.

Laurent and his staff could not do enough for us and helped make our stay truly memorable. There are 4 individually designed rooms and ours was on the ground floor next to the courtyard. Being able to walk two steps from our lovely authentic room to breakfast in our newly purchased Babouches slippers was wonderful and it was peaceful, quiet and like a home from home. Breakfast was fresh and delicious and we loved our mint tea.

In all, we would very highly commend Laurent and his team and the quality of this Riad. Take Laurent's advice and you won't go far wrong. Enjoy the Riad as it is very good value for money. The service makes it so welcoming but you will also enjoy the ambience and the beautiful coutyard with it's orange trees and tasteful decor.

And thanks again Laurent for allowing me to practice my French! It has been some time since I had the opportunity. Merci encore! Jonathan and Laura

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and it was lovely to put our slippers on and walk 2 steps to breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
464
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a bit of a delayed review (sorry Laurent!) as I took my boyfriend to Riad Aguerzame back in July for his 30th birthday, but I have only good comments on the property. The Riad is small but homely with a lovely courtyard to enjoy breakfast. The rooms have good attention to detail and are authentic without being over the top. Laurent, the owner, was really helpful throughout our stay and this level of service is what will make the experience stand out. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were at the Riad in October 2011 for 2 nights. The Riad is very close to Jemaa el Fnaa (only 5-10 minutes walking distance) and thanks to the very helpful explanation from Laurant we found everything without any problem. In general Laurant, the owner of the Riad, was very helpful and made our stay in Marrakkesh adorable. The rooms were all lovely decorated and always very clean. The food (breakfast) was delicious and gave us energy for the day. We found the Riad like a little oase where we loved to come back after a hectic day in the Medina and all the sightseeing. With a offered Mint Tea we enjoyed the peacful Riad with it's orange trees. But what we liked most was, that everybody working at the Riad made us feel home. We loved staying there and will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at Riad Aguerzame in late September and had a superb time. The Riad is very well located and provides easy access to all Marrakech has to offer. Laurent is a great host and made us feel very welcome - his talk on arrival and accompanying walk to the main square proved invaluable!!!!

We had a room on the first floor, which was long and thin with a lovely cave like bathroom. The Riad itself is very peaceful and it is a great place to come back and relax in after a hectic day out and about. There is a lovely roof terrace where we spent a few evenings with a beer or two and playing scrabble!

We were there on Laurent's Atlas Package, which we would highly recommend. We had enough time to enjoy Marrkech at a leisurely pace and it was lovely to get out of the city and go to Amizmiz to see the some of the countryside and the foothills of the Atlas Mountains.

Would highly recommend the Riad and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Kat and Matt

London, U.K

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After travelling around Morocco and staying in a variety of accommodations over more than a week period, it was a wonderful feeling to end our visit to this amazing country at a such a wonderful riad. With only a handful of rooms and staffed by ever helpful & friendly people, the riad had an intimate & tranquil homely feel to it and yet only a few steps away from the hustle & bustle of the medina. Our room just off the courtyard was quiet, comfortable and clean and afforded us the much required rest after trawling around the souks in such hot climate. Most commendable was the host who went out of his way to acquaint us with local favourites and in the process unwittingly introduced me to my favourite restaurant in Marrakesh. Certainly one worth staying at if you want excellent value and friendly predispositions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We booked this riad based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and were not dissappointed. The riad is situated perfectly for exploring Marrakesh. The main square where everything takes place is less than 10mins walk form the riad. We arranged to be picked up from the airport and have our first evening meal here (which was the best food we had on our trip).
The Riad excelled our expections in so many ways.

1) Laurent was the perfect host. He created a relaxed, friendly and efficient atmosphere. Recommending places to visit and eat at. On our first morning he gave us a run through on surviving Marrakech. This proved invaluable. He walked with us to the main square inorder that we were comfortable with the hussle and bussel of the town. Believe me if you have never been to Marrakesh this will be an eye opener. He always inquired how our day went and was genuinely interested in making our stay better. Laurent recommended a day in the Atlas mountains with a personal guide, this was one of the highlights of our holiday.

2) Our room was on the first floor. It had a four poster bed, air conditioning and overlooked the court yard. It was a perfect place to retreat to after the souks.

3) Breakfast and any extra meals are served in the stunning environment of the courtyard surrounded by orange trees, comfortable seating areas and traditional lighting.

4) The Staff. What more could I say about the staff. They were always on hand, friendly, helpful and were genuinely interested in our day. We were always welcomed with a smile and the offer of mint tea.

5) If you felt that you could not face the mayhem of the souks, a climb up the stairs to the terrace was most welcome to laze on the sunbeds, rest in the shade or fall asleep under the stars.

All in all an amazing riad.This became to us a home from home. We loved every minute of our stay. We can't recommend it enough and are already looking forward to our next visit.

Gavin and Sharon (UK)

Room Tip: First floor rooms look down onto the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The riad is very well located, just a short walk from all the action. We stayed here for a total of 6 nights in September. Everything was just perfect. We stayed in two different rooms, both beautifully decorated. Laurent has been much praised in these reviews, and deservedly so. He's an excellent host. After a hectic time in the souks, returning to the riad was like coming home. There's a lovely roof terrace where we sat at night. You could see the smoke from the food stalls at Djemaa el Fna in the distance. We loved this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank archibald15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Property: Riad Aguerzame
Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing