We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host, friendly attentive service, lovely food all in authentic Riad”
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #22 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Antoine Gely could not have been more helpful as a host, tour guide and fount of knowledge on all things Marrakech. My two friends and I had a wonderful (children and husband-free) time in Marrakech, which was certainly helped by Antoine's useful tips for where to go and what to see. He arranged pick up and drop off at the airport (for a very reasonable fee) and was always (discreetly) on hand to offer advice to us. I have wonderful memories of sunbathing on Riad Aguerzame's lovely roof terrace (loungers, towels and hats provided) with cold beers and olives being brought to us (particularly welcome as alcohol not that always that easy to find in Morocco!), lovely breakfasts and evening meals being served in the cool courtyard amongst orange trees and finally, a fabulous Hammam (a Moroccan scrubdown that leaves your entire body clean, soft and quite red!) arranged by Antoine, in a nearby Riad. Aguerzame is recommended for the visitor who has not been to Marrakech before in particular.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle_jane1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for Riad Aguerzame
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

Very friendly, welcoming and relaxing. The perfect space after a busy day. Antoine could not do enough. 7 of us went as a surprise for my sisters birthday. Antoine arranged the airport transfer, had a meal ready on arrival, arranged a Hammam for us, helped us find somewhere for lunch and an evening meal and a trip to the Atlas Mountains. We then navigated the souks and square.
The rooms are comfortable with cute ensuites. I would go for a room on the first floor though if you are just having one of the rooms. We had the whole place to ourselves.
The courtyard is a delight with a fabulous orange trees and decorations and even a marauding Tortoise 'Lela' who enjoyed toes as a snack!!
The roof terrace was amazing with several different areas to sit and relax and listen to the prayer calls.
We would end the day with a drink or two up there!!
A great little oasis and a fabulous and fun host!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiisfabSwanseaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed at this Riad from March 22nd for 3 nights. Our trip itinerary had to change several times, and every time Antoine was more than happy to accommodate our requests. We were received at the Marrakech train station by the car driver and taken to the Riad without any hitch. Antoine welcomed us with a very nice cup of authentic Moroccan tea. Our room was a neat little place on the third floor with a cozy bed, an extra bed and a neat bathroom.

The Raid is very cozy with a beautiful courtyard full of Morocco artifacts and a several paintings done by the host himself......... Antoine is a great painter..... he explained to me that his paintings reflect his inner feelings.....

We absolutely enjoyed our stay in Marrakech and Antoine hospitality.

The first evening, after we arrived, he personally took us to the City square, and made sure we mark all the landmarks so as to be able to retrace our way back. He is such a wonderful person, warm, caring and full of life........

One evening, after a watching a nice Moroccan dance show, we got lost trying to find our way back to the Raid....... It was quite late, not knowing what to do we called Antoine, he did not even hesitate to come out and look for us. We kept talking on the mobile, till we were able to locate each other.

If I were to make one recommendation to Antoine, I would ask him to add a few more items to his breakfast menu.

Antoine made our stay in Marrakech very special......... He will continue to be a big part of our Moroccan experience and memories.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DR_DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Having never been to Marrakech before I wasn't too sure what to expect or what I had booked and how convenient the location would be. I was absolutely delighted when I arrived with a group of tired 'hens', to find a lovely riad tucked away in one of the side streets. The rooms were quite comfortable and all en suite, the breakfasts were delightful and Antoine was very helpful & informative as we tried to navigate our way through the next couple of days and what towould do on each one.

We arranged an airport pickup through the Riad which I think was a good thing to do. I'm not sure I could have figured out how to tell a driver where we were heading on arrival! On our first morning Antoine took us for a stroll to the souks which were a short walk away and we were able to quickly get our bearings. He also arranged alcohol for us, which may otherwise have been difficult to get hold of in the medina. Although on a hen weekend, we were quite content to hang about for a few hours each day on the roof terrace, peacefully take in the sun, or lounge on the comfy seating reading trashy mags whilst sipping on complimentary mint tea and have our evening drinks up there too!

Overall I loved Marrakech and would definitely like to spend more time in Morocco. I'm sure there are bigger or better accomodation options in Marrakech but for me the personal touch and the delightfully relaxed and peaceful atmosphere of Antoine's place was just what we wanted after trekking through the bustling city. I will be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFatimaBerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We booked this Riad (after reading guest reviews on Trip Advisor) and were very much looking forward to our 4 night stay in May. Our communications from Antoine were always extremely friendly and very efficient and we were very much looking forward to our stay. Regrettably we had to cancel our visit to Marrakech at very short notice because of a sudden illness in the family. Antoine was a true gentleman and most sympathetic to the nature of our problem and waived our cancellation fee, despite the fact that we have obviously caused him a big inconvenience. This was very much appreciated by us and we will definately be booking The Riad Aguerzame for our next visit to Marrakech. Thank you Antoine for your understanding and help...we will book again when we are planning our next visit to Morrocco!
Maggie , Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank MaggieCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Months before we arrived our host Antoine Gély was taking care of us, sending us directions from Ouarzazate on the other side of the Atlas Mountains. And his directions worked. Marrakech is a heaving, bustling mess of city, but we were able to drive straight to the car park Antoine had arranged for us and we were taking tea under the orange trees in the Riad's courtyard minutes later. The orange trees, incidentally, provided the oranges for the marmalade we had at breakfast - and actually the one dinner we had at the Riad was just superb, much better than anything we found elsewhere in Marrakech. Great wines too: Moroccan wine is surprisingly good - especially the Domaine di Sahari. There are only three guests rooms in the Riad and my friends and I occupied two of them. We had an elegant four-poster bed in a room that was really nicely designed. A Riad is not a hotel, it's someone's home, and Antoine welcomed us into his home as if we had know each other for years. An elegant man, he played music we liked, served food we loved and was a fantastic host. I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HrolfKraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

3 night stay in April 2010 - Quite a lovely little hotel but some points made our stay "average" rather than perfect and so, when we left , it was with the feeling riad Aguerzame was over rated on Tripadvisor.
First of all the place is very small which means its peacefulness completely depends on who is staying there and it can be very noisy if the other guests talk loudly or are not careful with doors, chairs, etc…
Then better be aware that decor, furnishing, etc are very simple, not to say basic, which was a bit of a surprise to us. Of course the hotel is not a very expensive one but with a cost of about 80£ per night the value for money was not as good as expected.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EssentialsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#8 of 502 in Marrakech
1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 502 in Marrakech
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#15 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £55 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing