We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, comfort and a gracious host”
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #20 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Antoine is the perfect host. His riad is full of his personal touches - from the great music to the delicious food to the sumptuous style. He has created a relaxing retreat in a beautiful Moroccan setting.

Best of all, he will make your stay in Morocco much easier by sharing insider tips on shopping, sightseeing, restaurants - you name it. He also has suggestions for guides and excursions.

The riad is convenient and reasonably priced. Can't be beat!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

We visited the Riad in June 2010 and it was so lovely. Antoine and his staff were exceptionally kind and helpful and really made our stay comfortable.

We ate breakfast every day with fresh bread and freshly squeezed OJ as well as home made marmalade!

We enjoyed Dinner one evening cooked by the team and it was the single best meal we had during our stay. The food was modern, fresh, locally sourced and imaginative. Highly recommended!

Antoine recommended and arranged some trips for us to a Hammam and the Atlas Mountains which were the highlights of our trip.

One thing we would say about Marrakech in general is, be ready for the shop keepers and traders who were at times rather aggressive and impolite. The locals in the mountains though couldn't have been more helpful!

This Riad is ideally located for the Medina and we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkswede01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at the Riad Aguerzame after completing a two week tour of Morocco, and can say it was one of the highlights of the tour.
A car was sent to pick us up from the groups departure point outside the Medina and avoided us having to negotiate a fare with the canny cab drivers.
Don't be fooled by the dull exterior or the neighbourhood of Antoine's Riad once having squeezed through the hobbit door you enter a courtyard that boasts two large orange trees, which supply fruit for the house marmalade.
Our room was spacious enough for two adults and the bathroom was the best we'd encountered during our stay in the country.
With prior arrangement Antoine and his staff will cater dinner, and as we were weary this option appealed. The surcharge was at local Restaurant prices, however what we were treated to was a three course meal with wine in a private garden, worth the price of admission alone.
I would recommend Riad Aguerzame to anyone wanting a personalised and friendly stay whilst in Marrakesh, with an added touch of Gallic charm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daftword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Antoine Gely could not have been more helpful as a host, tour guide and fount of knowledge on all things Marrakech. My two friends and I had a wonderful (children and husband-free) time in Marrakech, which was certainly helped by Antoine's useful tips for where to go and what to see. He arranged pick up and drop off at the airport (for a very reasonable fee) and was always (discreetly) on hand to offer advice to us. I have wonderful memories of sunbathing on Riad Aguerzame's lovely roof terrace (loungers, towels and hats provided) with cold beers and olives being brought to us (particularly welcome as alcohol not that always that easy to find in Morocco!), lovely breakfasts and evening meals being served in the cool courtyard amongst orange trees and finally, a fabulous Hammam (a Moroccan scrubdown that leaves your entire body clean, soft and quite red!) arranged by Antoine, in a nearby Riad. Aguerzame is recommended for the visitor who has not been to Marrakech before in particular.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle_jane1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Very friendly, welcoming and relaxing. The perfect space after a busy day. Antoine could not do enough. 7 of us went as a surprise for my sisters birthday. Antoine arranged the airport transfer, had a meal ready on arrival, arranged a Hammam for us, helped us find somewhere for lunch and an evening meal and a trip to the Atlas Mountains. We then navigated the souks and square.
The rooms are comfortable with cute ensuites. I would go for a room on the first floor though if you are just having one of the rooms. We had the whole place to ourselves.
The courtyard is a delight with a fabulous orange trees and decorations and even a marauding Tortoise 'Lela' who enjoyed toes as a snack!!
The roof terrace was amazing with several different areas to sit and relax and listen to the prayer calls.
We would end the day with a drink or two up there!!
A great little oasis and a fabulous and fun host!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiisfabSwanseaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed at this Riad from March 22nd for 3 nights. Our trip itinerary had to change several times, and every time Antoine was more than happy to accommodate our requests. We were received at the Marrakech train station by the car driver and taken to the Riad without any hitch. Antoine welcomed us with a very nice cup of authentic Moroccan tea. Our room was a neat little place on the third floor with a cozy bed, an extra bed and a neat bathroom.

The Raid is very cozy with a beautiful courtyard full of Morocco artifacts and a several paintings done by the host himself......... Antoine is a great painter..... he explained to me that his paintings reflect his inner feelings.....

We absolutely enjoyed our stay in Marrakech and Antoine hospitality.

The first evening, after we arrived, he personally took us to the City square, and made sure we mark all the landmarks so as to be able to retrace our way back. He is such a wonderful person, warm, caring and full of life........

One evening, after a watching a nice Moroccan dance show, we got lost trying to find our way back to the Raid....... It was quite late, not knowing what to do we called Antoine, he did not even hesitate to come out and look for us. We kept talking on the mobile, till we were able to locate each other.

If I were to make one recommendation to Antoine, I would ask him to add a few more items to his breakfast menu.

Antoine made our stay in Marrakech very special......... He will continue to be a big part of our Moroccan experience and memories.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DR_DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Having never been to Marrakech before I wasn't too sure what to expect or what I had booked and how convenient the location would be. I was absolutely delighted when I arrived with a group of tired 'hens', to find a lovely riad tucked away in one of the side streets. The rooms were quite comfortable and all en suite, the breakfasts were delightful and Antoine was very helpful & informative as we tried to navigate our way through the next couple of days and what towould do on each one.

We arranged an airport pickup through the Riad which I think was a good thing to do. I'm not sure I could have figured out how to tell a driver where we were heading on arrival! On our first morning Antoine took us for a stroll to the souks which were a short walk away and we were able to quickly get our bearings. He also arranged alcohol for us, which may otherwise have been difficult to get hold of in the medina. Although on a hen weekend, we were quite content to hang about for a few hours each day on the roof terrace, peacefully take in the sun, or lounge on the comfy seating reading trashy mags whilst sipping on complimentary mint tea and have our evening drinks up there too!

Overall I loved Marrakech and would definitely like to spend more time in Morocco. I'm sure there are bigger or better accomodation options in Marrakech but for me the personal touch and the delightfully relaxed and peaceful atmosphere of Antoine's place was just what we wanted after trekking through the bustling city. I will be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFatimaBerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 501 in Marrakech
889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 501 in Marrakech
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 501 in Marrakech
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 501 in Marrakech
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £56 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing