We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay”
Review of Riad Aguerzame

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Aguerzame
Ranked #12 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I initially chose this accommodation due to it's position in Trip advisor and the quality of reviews. I contacted Laurent and we discussed the cost which included a dinner for two and transfer plus the usual breakfasts. I felt at all times safe and happy with arrangements and arrived at the airport with no worries... this continued for the 5 days I stayed at Laurent's home. After the initial classroom time, where you are fully orientated we came back from the Souk for our first dinner. As all have said previously, fab. What I liked tho was the fact you shared your table with the other guests irrespective of nationality but you manage, what a laugh. Laurent included a bottle of wine between two. Water is put into your room, a tray of tea or coffee after hours haggling on the roof was special. You are offered a drink by Laurent which includes these lovely spicy snacks. We did the Atlas trip, you pay at the end when you get your bill, wear trainers if possible, you walk quite a bit 3 x 2hour treks. You are taken via a driver to Amismis where you are greeted by your English speaking guide. You walk through the village going to the communal bakery, the pottery where they make Tagines, I bought 2 for 20dhs, about £1.50, we then walked through the mountain upto1,400feet where you stop for a tea in a rural home, you can get henna onto hands and feet here, from there to a youth hostel for a fab lunch then back to catch the taxi and home for 6pm. We spent some time on the roof each afternoon chilling, this was fab. There are 3 rooms upstairs, 1 - twin, 2 doubles, all the same size. There is also a room off the courtyard which seems to be used for the odd day but not regularly. The position of the Riad is perfect, we did not get lost once, a very positive trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshjaquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
465
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Laurent was a most helpful host, giving us " a lesson" in getting around Marrakech without tears as part of his introduction, especially the bit about dealing with taxis. He even took me to a nearby pharmacy to get some essential medication and led us to Jemaa el Fnaa to make sure we could navigate between there and the riad. He is assisted by his wife and excellent female staff. The breakfasts were superb and the dinner delicious. Riad Aguerzame is very well located for getting around the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howyakeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

It was not my first time in Marrakech, I used to spent my holydays in classic hostels, but this time with my friends we wanted more traditionnals holydays and have spent one wunderful week in riad Aguerzame. With Laurent, the owner, we feel more friends than custumers, he was full of good councils and present for us.
About the riad, there is nothing to say expect it is perfect, it's clean, in a safe place, beautiful, particularly in the evening when all the candles are light and the personnal is very lovely. Then, breakfasts and dinners, cooked by Wafa, are just delicious!!
I love Marrakech, the people, the city, the food and I felt during this week in riad Aguerzame like in a fairy tale. Thank you a lot Laurent and see you soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We really want to thank the team of Riad Aguerzame for our stay last week ! Never had such a complete and excellent service before.

In view of location, food, authenticity, cleanliness, ... it was very a very good stay. Without the specific advise and ideas of Laurent we never would have experienced Marrakech in such a manner.

Thanks again and till nex time.

Delphine & Bruno

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunodelphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This was our first visit to marrakech and this Riad had been recommended to us. I owe that particular friend big time. This place is wonderful - a peaceful and authentic traditional riad within easy walking distance of the main square and the souks etc. Our room was lovely - a good size, lovely comfortable bed and great shower (we were in the red room). But the whole riad is your home for those days and Laurent and his team go out of their way to help you. The peace of the riad with its roof terrace and beautiful courtyard is very welcome after the madness and fray of the souks.

Laurent gives fantastic advice. He showed us how to find the main square and the souks - so we never got lost - but also provided great advice on restaurants and bars as well as arranging the highlight of our stay - a day in the Atlas mountains starting at Amizmiz. Our guide - Latifa - was brilliant. The day was filled with wonderful and moving experiences - both the beautiful visual landscapes and the moving experiences of meeting friends and acquaintances of this lovely guide. We were humbled by the friendly and lovely people we met.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleysundstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2011

If you are planning to spend a few days close to the Medina and to where most of the action is in Marrakesh, this is the riad to choose. a couple of minutes of walking distance from the main square, this is a very elegant and super-friendly place. the rooms are very nicely decorated and fully equipped, breakfast in 5 stars served when you want and the owner is a very helpful and nice french man who will make you very comfortable in the riad and will help you enjoy Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalvoRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This riad is run by a great team of staff all very helpful, the food was also very good ,it is in a good location to the main square,the bedrooms and the hole riad is clean and tidy.
The only downside for me and this is a personal opinion, i did not get a good nights sleep as i am a light sleeper .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler196108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadaguerzame, Propriétaire at Riad Aguerzame, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
I'm very sorry you are a light sleeper and you don't have well sleeping in Riad Aguerzame.
I regret you don't speak with me about this because I'm sure you know I'ld bring you kind solutions for you enjoy your stay and nights with us.
Best regards
Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#14 of 499 in Marrakech
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguerzame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguerzame

Property: Riad Aguerzame
Address: 66 Derb Jdid | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina of Marrakesh, close to Moulay Idriss’s Palace, the Riad Aguerzame,, entirely restored keeping pure Moroccan traditions, welcomes you to change marrakchi for a night or more. Very easy to arrive and near Marrakesh’s main square Jemaa El-Fna, the Riad is just a step away from several palaces and museums in Marrakesh. Riad Aguerzame will make you experience the magnetism of exquisite eastern life. We offer great ambiance in our cool patio under orange trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Aguerzame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguerzame Marrakech
Riad Aguerzame Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing