We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Mur Akush
Ranked #41 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Riad Mur Akush for 4 nights and we had a great time. We originally reserved the Suite D’olive (on the ground floor), however due to an error this was not available the night we arrived and they offered us a free upgrade to the Grand Suite Amel. The suite is very big and cozy, there are two separate rooms (bedroom and living room) along with a spacious bathroom with two sinks. Right on top of the suite there is the common terrace where we chilled before dinner and where you have a great view of the Medina.
The riad is very clean and there is a fresh patio where they serve you a generous breakfast and - upon request - dinner. The members of the staff are extremely nice and always ready to give you nice tips and recommendations.
I would definitely recommend the Riad Mur Akush, in particular to couples who want to spend a romantic time together in the wonderful city of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are very nice but facing directly the patio where people have breakfas...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Riad Mur Akush
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I were traveling to Morocco for the first time and we were lucky to find this peaceful Riad located inside the Medina. We received an email from its owner, Maria a few hours after we made our booking. She not only made us feel welcome but sent us important information regarding travel to the riad from the station, options for further travel in Morocco and basically detailed answers to all our questions. The staff there- Rashid, Leyla and Mohammad are very helpful. We stayed in the Olive Room and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Most other guests at the riad were couples or traveling alone or in pairs.

Room Tip: The Olive Room - We couldn't hear the cry for prayer from our room but some other guests said th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purvi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife booked Riad Mur Akush for my surprise 50th birthday after my daughter’s recommendation as she had been last year. From the initial airport transfer right through to the return transfer, the service from Rachid and the small friendly team; Layla the cook and Zohra the cleaner, was absolutely faultless and nothing was ever too much trouble. My wife also assures me that secretly organising the whole holiday with Maria the owner who lives in the UK, including the beautifully cooked, traditional tagine birthday dinner for 14 of us including the vegetarians, was a breeze.
With 3 generations of the family and several friends, the accommodation provided enough to keep everyone happy. Sun loungers and a roof terrace for the youngsters, beautiful traditionally finished rooms and bathrooms for us oldies as well as a comfortable lounge area for chilling in the afternoon. There is also plenty of local sight-seeing not too far away, including Jemaa el-Fnaa, the historic square which is home to the world famous Souks; an experience worth waiting for, but don’t get carried away with your haggling, start low!! For the uninitiated, Marrakech is certainly an experience. The people are really friendly and very welcoming and there is good variety of restaurants to suit all budgets and styles. There is an interesting variety of architecture and sights to see, but watch out for the donkeys and the mopeds, its madness.
Note; there are no shops in the Medina (old town) to buy alcohol, so if you are desperate for a beer you have to go to the new town. Try the Acima Supermarket, near Jardin Marjorelle (Yves St Laurent Gardens; also worth a visit), but be warned, alcohol’s not typically cheap like most Moroccan shopping though! If you want a drink in the Medina the bar at Hotel La Maison Arabe, which is down the next lane from the Riad, welcomes non residential guests for a beer or two and their Rachid the barman makes great birthday cocktails.
All in all definitely a 10 out of 10 holiday, so well done and thank you to everyone at Riad Mur Akush and the wife for organising a great holiday.

Room Tip: Book the whole Riad for the week and take you friends and family, definitely VFM. Failing that, ask...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After three years away, it was a delight to return to Riad Mur Akush. The excellent staff was the same, welcoming me warmly, like I was part of their family. The rooms were spacious, cool, and delightfully decorated, while the riad itself offered many spaces to enjoy mint tea or read a book. While I found the stay great, the part that was most memorable was the food. I had been travelling throughout the country, but I had the very best tangines in Morocco at Riad Mur Akush. It is worth going there just for the food. Overall, an outstanding experience. I couldn't recommend this riad more highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This riad is a great place to relax and spend the evening after a long day wondering around town. Great location, close to Jamal Al Fna, great room, clean, great breakfast and unlimited mint tea!
But the staff really make it a special place. Big thanks to Mohamed , Rachid and all the lovely ladies who prepared breakfast and dinner. My partner and I spent 5 nights at this Riad that felt like home. Evenings at the terrace were amazing. Great sunset! We also enjoyed catching up with Rachid and immersing ourselves more in the culture. Def recommend it and also a tip, make sure you have dinner at the riad. The food is beautiful and much better than at 5 star hotels we had while in Marrakesh. Great job guys!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juarnaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our trip to Marrakech. Believe all the good reviews you read including this one....Mur Akush is ideally located within easy reach of all the main sites and souks and good value for money. We stayed in the Yassine suite which is comfortable and clean. The staff are also very helpful and always have a smile on their faces. The only complaint is that we did not book for a longer stay and also the pesky bees/wasps that kept buzzing around our breakfast table...although we were given a fan to keep them away.

Room Tip: Yassine suite is large, clean and nicely decorated.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bina-Suraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I am just returning from a 4 night stay at the fantastic Riad Mur Akush. As anyone that wants to visit a Riad in Marrakech may know, there are many many many to choose from. After doing extensive research on what seems like 100s of properties, my partner and I decided upon this one for the detail and ambiance that its rooms appeared to offer.

Upon arriving at 2 AM, we were met at the airport by a member of the wonderful staff who brought us to the riad. When we arrived at the riad, it was quite late so we rent to our room. Originally, we resevred the Suite d'Olive but we were brought to the Suite Yassine instead. I was a bit confused by this, as we were not advised before hand, but apparently it was an "upgrade" and due to the late hour, we stayed in the room as we were told we would take care of it in the morning.

The next morning, my partner went to discuss the situation with a member of the staff before breakfast and we were told that we were upgraded to this room (on the first floor) because there was another party in the Suite d'Olive, but where we were now was better because there is less noise (the Suite d'Olive is on the patio level, where many people tend to eat breakfast). However, we were told if we were not happy, we could take a look at the Grand Suite Amel, and if we like it, we could stay there at no extra cost. I decided to take a look because although the Suite Yassmine is certainly lovely, we did rent the Suit d'Olive because of its very different amenitites (the bed area appeared to be straight from 1001 Arabian nights). However, words cannot express that absolute beauty that it the Grand Suite Amel, a real gem, with a separate sitting room with fire place, a huge luxurious canopy bed hand carved from wood, impeccably decorated. So, we changed rooms. There was no question.

Our time in the Grand Suite Amel and Riad Mur Akush was extraordinary. Every moment felt truly magical, it could have been a honeymoon. Every detail in the room is extremely well though out. The bathroom is extremely large, with two sinks which is great when you have two people that need to be ready at the same time. The room has three large floor to ceiling door windows with a fantastic view, and it also offers the easiest access to the marvelous rooftop terrace that the riad has. The bed was over-the-top fantastic, with some of the softest sheets I have tried to date. The sitting room was also a nice treat. After long mornings discovering all the souks and the surrounding have to offer under the hot sun, it was nice to be able to come back to a sitting area that has a really powerful air-conditioner (we visited near the end of the June and the heat was already over 40ºC).

In the morning, you can choose to have breakfast anywhere in the riad, although we chose to enjoy breakfast in the cool shadow of the patio. Breakfast was extensive and caringly served on wonderful festive plates. Breakfast (for us at least) included each morning, coffee and fresh squeezed juice, with homemade crepes, cakes, bread, cheeses marmelades, a nice way to start the day with energy.

When leaving, you have the option to leave the key at the door (which we did) and at any hour of the night or day, a light knock will advice someone to open the main door to the riad (usually Rachid met us with a smile). Lastly, we decided on our last night to have dinner in the riad, in which we ordered a started with a couscous and we finished it off with some lemon. Everything was lovingly prepared for us that day, and served under the soft moonlight on the patio (though you can specify where you would want to eat).

We also had quite a late flight out (after midnight), so we asked to remain in the room for the day, and they allowed us to at a discounted price, which was a great decision. After touring all morning, it was nice to be able to shower/relax/not rush when packing and organizing to leave. So, thank you for that also.

All in all: Next time we visit Marrakech, there is NO DOUBT that we will DEFINITELY stay here!

Pros, absolutely beautiful, impeccably decorated, a fantastic rooftop terrace with a lovely view of the city, great location in the riad (10 mins. walk from the "touristic" center), wonderful food and really caring and friendly staff. Truly truly truly, I could not have imagined our small get-away anywhere else. I feel like we had a true "moroccan" experience, and it was definitely due not only to the riad itself (which I cannot say enough niceties about) but in no small part to its staff (which is truly the lifeblood of this institution, demonstrating the true heart of Moroccan hospitality and generosity).

Cons: there seems to be an echo in the patio, in which you tend to hear everything. I am a heavy sleeper, so this was not a problem for me in that respect, but I tend to be a loud talker, so I suppose everyone can hear even the smallest of conversations.

Again, thank you, to the entire staff that truly took care of us. You really made us have a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the Grand Suite Amel, it may be a bit more but it is worth every cent!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loloro0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
#453 of 502 in Marrakech
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#458 of 502 in Marrakech
539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#347 of 502 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#299 of 502 in Marrakech
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing