We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”
Review of Riad Mur Akush

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Mur Akush
Ranked #31 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We loved everything about our recent 3-day stay at Riad Mur Akush. Weeks before we arrived, Maria was incredibly kind and helpful, answering all my questions and being patient with all my dithering about safaris and tours. We arrived a little earlier on the day we were expected -- which was no problem at all -- to be warmly greeted by Rachid and Mohamed, who couldn't do enough for us. Rachid gave us a map and told us all about the hotel and the area, and even helped us with directions to good eateries. We were then shown to our room -- the Amel suite on the top floor, with a bedroom, seating area and enormous bathroom. The suite was lovely and spacious, and the bathroom is the size of some hotel rooms I've stayed in! Mohamed brought us a pot of mint tea, and he would smilingly keep us supplied with 'Berber whiskey' every time he was asked. We had pre-ordered dinner on the terrace that evening and it was just amazing: a beautiful array of Moroccon 'meze' dishes and a tasty tagine, followed by fruit and more mint tea. Maria had even arranged a bottle of wine -- the best one on our entire trip to Morocco, and the least expensive, too. Every morning we had breakfast brought up to our room, and it's both delicious and extensive -- yogurt, bread, jams, pastries and coffee. And the location is wonderful, within walking distance to the entire medina and in a very good and safe area. We just loved our stay at Riad Mur Akush and can't wait to return some day. Thanks to Maria, Rachid and Mohamed for making our time in Marrakech extra special. :)

Room Tip: The Amel suite on the top floor is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
It was wonderful reading your review of Riad Mur Akush, thank you so much for your kind words. We love taking care of our guests and the best thing to hear is that our guests had a great stay with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed the food and the wine, we use the best ingredients we can find and everything is cooked fresh, to make sure that we offer the best meal we can!
The Grand Suite Amel is indeed a wonderful room, and I am glad that you liked it :-)
The team in Mur Akush send you their warmest wishes and I hope that we will have you stay with us again in the future. Take care for now and all the best for the future. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    60
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
314
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We are so pleased with this lovely little rustic Riad in the old city of Marrakech. The staff here are all so wonderfully helpful and kind and genuine. This makes it a rare gem of a place to stay in any city much less Marrakech which is really confusing and hard to get around. I got good poisoning (careful of the restaurant call Les Terrasses de l'Alhambra in the main square) and was sick most of the trip. My husband could not have coped if Mohammed and Rashid weren't so helpful and courteous. Thank you again. We definitely recommend this Riad for anyone planning to visit Marrakech.

Room Tip: We stayed in room Hammam which is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your considerate review, it is very much appreciated. Mohamed and Rachid send their wishes and thanks for your kind words and we all hope that you are much better now.
All the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you or your friends in the future.
Mohamed, Rachid, Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The riad is located in an excellent location inside the medina. We were greeted by friendly staff members who gave us some tips on the local area. They even supplied us with a travel socket adapter and made us mint tea and coffee upon request The rooms are very nicely decorated and cosy. An atmosphere was very relaxing with an amazing rooftop terrace that had a great view of the city. Overall, the service was excellent and well worth the money, also a true experience of maroccan culture.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased that you had a good stay with us and I am looking forward to meeting you on your next visit to Marrakech. All the best, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a lovely stay here. There was great attention to design in the decor. Our room was beautiful; although it was on the main floor, we did not find it to be noisy. The riad is small and does not have much traffic coming in and out. The staff were very helpful,mane we had the feeling that we were in a home rather than a hotel. I highly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floors are very attractive and comfortable. The first floor room is small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportsgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you likes Suite D'Olive and that you had a good stay with us. We wish you all the best in the future. Regards, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent a few nights at this riad as a group of couples/friends. It is simply gorgeous and the staff is just excellent and so kind.
Our friends arranged the trip and we did no work. I understand that the woman and her employees did all of the arranging for us and our tours and other trips in Morocco. They did great.
The exterior of the riad cannot reveal how lovely it is inside. There is a lovely fountain, exotic décor, and comfort too. The foods that were prepared for us were excellent too, and we enjoyed some meals and snacks on their terrace too - must spend some time there.
My only complaint was small - the towels aren't terribly soft - but maybe that is because of the water, I don't know. But I would definitely recommend this riad - their hospitality was just plain superb!!! And, I am pretty sure I slept splendidly every day :)

Room Tip: any of the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RADeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review for our riad. I am glad that you and your friends had a good stay with us, it was such a pleasure to take care of you. I am also very happy that you had the trip that we organised for you went so well. The Sahara trip is a great way to see a different side of Morocco and I am glad that your experience was a good one! Thank you again for your kind words, I really appreciate it. With regards to the towels, I will certainly check this and sort it out!
Take care, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Very homely Riad, clean, cool and quiet in the busy town! the staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you! nothing is too much trouble. Very good breakfast and homely cooked dinner if you require it. The only reason I did not give five stars is the bed was really hard and uncomfortable!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pea1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Beautiful Riad with a great location in the medina. A few minutes walk to shopping and the main square. Secluded enough to be a hidden oasis; very safe, clean, and comfortable. Mohammad was an amazing host who helped us with everything from making dinner, assisting with a guided Sahara trek , recommending dinner locations, taxi to the airport, and a spa appointment.
Be advised, the Riad is directly next to a mosque and the first call to prayer is very well heard at 0430. The hotel provides ear plugs but it's impossible to sleep through.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeh910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurAkush, Owner at Riad Mur Akush, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind words. We try to provide the best possible experience to our guests and I am glad that you had a good stay with us. We really enjoyed taking care of the group and Mohammed sends his best wishes as well.
All the best from all of us in Riad Mur Akush, Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#18 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#34 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#42 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mur Akush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mur Akush

Property: Riad Mur Akush
Address: Derb Zaouia 2 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in one of the most historic areas of the Marrakesh Medina, Riad Mur Akush offers a magical experience (with road access in 30m). The relaxed and comfortable environment ensures a perfect stay and with 6 rooms the riad feels very private. With a large sitting and dining room, large patio and terraces, one is spoilt for choice when it comes to deciding where to have a meal or read a book. Our hospitality is legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Mur Akush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mur Akush Marrakech
Riad Mur Akush Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing