We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of AnaYela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AnaYela
Ranked #140 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Ana Yela is a hidden gem in the busy medina of Marrakech. The decor, attention to detail and accommodating staff made our stay there extremely memorable. The food is simple, but simply delicious. Daniel, the riad manager, was available as needed to recommend, suggest, or assist. We could not have asked for a better home in Marrakech!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, but we loved ours best - the one with the giant bathtub and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajagirlNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our three night stay at Anayela in January 2012 was one we will never forget. Stepping in from the dusty street one would never expect such an opulent property that Anayela presents. The rooms are luxurious and the food is great, but the staff, by far, are the best asset that Anayela has to offer. Simply step from your room and one of the friendly staff members is ready to meet your any need.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Our 2night stay at anayela in January was an experience we will never forget. From the noisy streets you step into the most peaceful riade with exquisite surrounds and exceptional attention to detail. It was beyond our expectations. Staff were incredibly professional yet warm and friendly. The manager Daniel is knowledgable, down to earth and readily available if needed yet manages this unobtrusively. We felt like we were staying in our very own palace. Incredible. We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keir2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Arrived late at night after 36 hours flying (and waiting) and stepped through a small door in a dusty alley and entered another world I had only seen in fairy tales and movies. Hard to fault.

The pictures on the website are not touched up or shot from obtuse angles. This place is the real deal.

Would recommend the day long guided walk - avoiding the faux guides but you will still end up in the carpet shop and perfumery - although I don't think anyone has ever regretted buying an authentic berber rug (all three look great at home).

Its also worth getting up early in the morning and going on to the roof and looking across the City and and out to the snow capped mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zlejins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in Anayela for two nights in june and were in awe of the breathtakingly beautiful riad. If you have always had some fantasy about Marrakech being a place out of 1001 nights, you'll see your dream come to life here. The riad is relatively small with 5 rooms, which secures you of some peace and quiet and very attentive and personal service. The place is an oasis after a day in the busy city: once the door closes behind you, the only thing you hear is the sound of the swallows and singbirds.
The rooms are stunning: very Marroccan with beautiful bed, bath in the room, arabic lights and tadelakt walls. When we were there, it was extremely hot (> 45* C), so the airco was very welcome. The beds were very comfortable and the babouches that we got when arriving, were used frequently.

But I think, besides the beauty of the place, the wonderful roof terrace, the welcome silence and the absolutely delicious (!) breakfast (with French cheeses, fresh fruit, bread and pancakes!) and dinner (try the tajine!), the thing that impressed me most was the staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful, polite and extremely attentive, and we were able to speak to some of them about Marrakech and living there, which gave a nice insight. A special thanks goes out to manager Daniel, who went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, helping us with all sorts of external enquiries and even coming along with us on a couple of trips. The fact that he was fluent in Dutch (besides French and German) made it even easier for us. Even when we stayed in other hotels for a couple of nights, he still helped us with several things.

As far as I'm concerned, there is no other riad to consider: Anayela is the one and only!

Room Tip: As far as I've seen, all the 5 rooms are really beautiful. I stayed on the first floor, in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here as a solo guest for one night. Was collected on time for the arranged airport transfer and on arriving was greeted by the Riad manager Daniel and given a small tour and talk about the history of the building.
During the afternoon I went out to explore the city and the riad provided me with a Moroccan mobile and took me part way into the city as it is very easy to get lost in the medina - which I did! On arriving back I had some trouble to a local man, and was being heckled (which is common in Morocco) and Daniel expertly managed this for me on my return which was greatly appreciated.
The food was very good for the evening meal, and as the only guest Daniel kept me company and we talked into the night. The room was comfortable and very well restored and I slept well. I had been upgraded to a suite at no extra cost as it was the low season.
Generally would recommend this riad, although it may be perhaps a little to pricey, but this is a minor point only.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

First of all, with my girlfriend we have to thank again the staff for an amazing service...
It was our first time in Marocco and the drive through the small street of the medina to stop in the "carpark" left us a bit wondering about where we had committed ourselves to stay for Valentine, however the Beaty of the place was evident and true to all the details on the website when we passed the wooden door at the end if a dark alley...
It's only after few hours that you appreciate the calm and peacefulness of the place!
We had a great time and received impeccable service!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve024-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 501 in Marrakech
993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#138 of 501 in Marrakech
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#71 of 501 in Marrakech
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#80 of 501 in Marrakech
447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#144 of 501 in Marrakech
1,661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#34 of 501 in Marrakech
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnaYela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnaYela

Address: Derb Zerwl No 28, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £110 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AnaYela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AnaYela is a small 300 year old palace in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The real sensation of the Anayela is its unique atmosphere and its extraordinary architecture. Real new luxury - special experiences for special guests. The Anayela has 3 rooms and 2 suites - each with a different design and all the services and comfort you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AnaYela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anayela Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing