We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Ranked #137 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I booked another Riad and it happened that the Riad did not have more room for me so they moved me to Maison Bel Baraka. It was a nice surprise! The staff are friendly and helpful and Hassan always accomodate my schedule for breakfast, no matter how early it is. Thanks Charlotte for letting me stay here and thanks Hassan for his great work. I will stay here again next time when I go to Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plinfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
111
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed in the Belbaraka for 4 nights in October this year as a couple and had a wonderful time. The decor of the riad is beautiful throughout and, in particular, the Cafe room which we stayed in. The staff could not have been more helpful, including the manger Charlotte, who greeted us with delicious mint tea and pastries on our arrival and talked us through where we should visit during our stay. Hassan, the night porter was very accommodating including arranging breakfast for 6am one morning we were leaving early!

After 3 nights at Belbaraka, we left for a 3 day excursion into the desert, but wished to return to the riad for one more night after. The staff could not have been more helpful in this by allowing us to leave our luggage in the Cafe room while we were away and to pay for the total visit at the end.

All in all Riad Maison Belbaraka is located a short walk from the djemaa el fna (which we were guided on by Charlotte the first night) and so is perfect for a short visit to Marrakech. The riad itself, the staff and the atmosphere are all excellent and we would recommend Riad Maison Belbaraka to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked an out-of-town hotel for our week in Marrakech as we felt that the pool and other facilities would be better suited to a long stay. We wanted to experience a night in a Riad so after literally hours of researching online, I found this Riad and what a find it was! We paid around £45 for B&B for one night and would have happily spent double this!

Location - We did struggle at first to find the Riad (and were duped by some children looking for cash) but once we knew where we were going, we got back to it no problems. It is in the Riad Larouss area of the Medina and if you can navigate to the area's square (a big car park with some official looking buildings), the Riad is down a couple of small winding alleys from there. Best to email for directions in advance! The lovely owner Charlotte walked us back to the square once we'd found our way and showed us some points of reference so that we could easily get back later that day and at night. The Riad was well placed to visit all of the sites and was within easy walking distance to the Majorelle Gardens and the main square. A taxi to the square cost less than £2/EUR2.

The Riad - Quite simply a beautiful place! It is a traditional layout with the rooms built round the courtyard. There are only 5 bedrooms and there were no other guests when we stayed so it was very peaceful. There is a fab roof terrace, on which we enjoyed a couple of beers late afternoon, despite the thunder and light rain. The staff were all very pleasant, especially Charlotte (the owner) who was really kind and full of great tips about the city and the area and the night porter who went out of his way to ensure we were happy (offering us beer when we arrived home from dinner at night - which we enjoyed on the roof terrace again!). We were served mint tea and pastries upon our arrival and the breakfast in the morning was a selection of pancakes and pastries with coffee and juice served in the living room (it was raining, otherwise we woudl have eaten it on the roof).

The Room - We chose the Cafe room and of all the rooms, I think it was the best. We saw the other rooms when we arrived and they were all different and very nicely decorated. We were on the ground floor with windows out to the courtyard and a giant wooden door which I took great glee in bolting shut (I felt like I was in a palace!). Our bathroom was amazing, fully tiled with soft towels and toiletries. The shower consisted of a large basin built into the floor - a great alternative to a bath! We had a great night's sleep and although we heard the call to prayer, it didn't bother us. There was a safe in the room and plenty of room to hang clothes. The room was quite small so might have become a little cramped for a long stay but for a few nights, would be perfect, plus you are made to feel at home in the Riad and can use the living room and roof terrace at your leisure.

Overall - As I mention above, this was a one night stay in the middle of a week in Marrakech and was by far the best part of our trip. We chose to get our hotel's shuttle in to town in the afternoon and return the following evening. During our night away we visited the Majorelle Gardens, went for cocktails at the Mamounia, had dinner at Al Fassia and then spent the following day in the souks and round the main square. We found this experience much less stressful than our one-day visit to the centre earlier in the week as we could easily nip back to the Riad for some peace between our activities. I found the noise and bustle of Marrakech very stressful and quite daunting but the Riad was a perfect haven. The transport around the city is so quick and cheap (which we hadn't realised the first day we visited).

I fully recommend staying in a Riad for your trip to Marrakech, either for your full stay or for one night like we did and I would whole heartedly recommend Maison Belbaraka, Charlotte and her team. Without this night, our trip would have been much less enjoyable so many thanks to them for making it so special.

Room Tip: The hotel's website has pictures of all of the rooms to help you choose your favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

we went to marrakesh for a short trip to celebrate my birthday and after long research I found the Riad Belbaraka. I emailed the riad directly and got a better deal than what it was advertised on booking.com. we also had the airport transfer arranged through the riad(highly recommended) as you won't be able to find the riad if not escorted on your arrival. The location was great as well, 10-15 min to the main square, but still away from all the hassle and noise. Also if you ask Rashid he will direct you to two nearby restaurants which were amazing also. The staff is more than friendly and attentive. We were welcomed with mint tea and Moroccan pastry, which were all delicious. The rooms were clean, cozy, without any modern amenities like tv or phone, which made the atmosphere even more authentic to the old spirit of the city. Breakfast was more than amazing, freshly baked Moroccan pancakes and amazing jam made out of figs. This was served on the roof terrace where you can enjoy the sunshine and the quietness of the surroundings.
If you want a place where to relax after long days of walking around the souks this is the right place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

I couldn't recommend riad belbaraka highly enough. The riad itself is gorgeous with amazing furnishings, the location is fantastic and the staff are really lovely, keen to help you out in any way they can. Charlotte, the manager, is just a really lovely lady who is genuinely keen to ensure that you have a good stay in Marrakech. Also the breakfast is delicious! I would definitely recommend splurging on one of the riads more expensive rooms as i think they are well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippyspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Morocco in January 2010. Our Riad Be Baraka was the perfect place to spend our time in marrakech, about a 10-15 minute walk from the Djeema El Fna but this gave us the perfect opportunity to explore the less busy and cheaper souks deep in the medina. Warning - shopping even for small souvenirs is not as cheap as you might think!
The riad is wonderful, clean and stylish. Brekfast on the terrace in the sun is delightful, and we were able to spend our evenings relaxing on the terrace with a shisha pipe, mint tea and moroccan pastries! Low season meant that Marrakech was not too busy, we weren't hassled too much, and the Riad was nice and quiet although even if all teh rooms were full it would still be very peaceful.
Charlotte and Rachid were fabulous hosts. We took a day trip to the Atlas mountains and a three day trip to the sand dunes near Merzouga. The drives were very long but their 4x4 was very comfortable and the scenery absolutely spectacular the whole way there. It was worth spending a little extra to go on these trips with Rachid as we could stop whenever we wanted and only ate and slept in places with good repuations. Much better than some of the minibus loads of tourtists we saw once or twice gettin gout to stretch their legs! The only slighlt downside was that Rachid's english is not very good to tell you all about your surroundings but this wasn't a big deal to us.
Morocco is fabulous and we would highly recomend this Riad. Email the Riad directly to get the best price. We paid less than it says on the website for low season but it will depend on how buys they are.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckylouiserobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We had a lovely three night stay at the Riad Belbaraka at the end of November 2009 as we wanted a base to explore Marrakech. We got picked up at the airport and taken to the square nearest to the Riad and then walked to the Riad down the narrow alleyways (we would never have found it ourselves if we hadn't asked them to collect us). The Riad was lovely, had a wonderful calm atmosphere and Charlotte greeted us with mint tea and pastries and took us through the best places to visit in Marrakech before leaving us to settle in our rooms. The room cafe was on the ground floor and, although dark, was plenty big enough with a huge bathroom to soak your feet in after a hard walk around Marrakech. We did find some noise problems at night from other guests chatting with no consideration that it was a Riad (which echo's) and from the call to prayer (which no-one warned us about) but it didn't ruin our stay. If anything would have ruined it it would have been the scary alleyways and the long walks, fortunately the good points made up for the bad ones and I would recommend Marrakech to those who want to feel like they've been on an adventure!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleighjBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#180 of 499 in Marrakech
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#216 of 499 in Marrakech
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Rocmarra
Dar Rocmarra
#118 of 499 in Marrakech
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#157 of 499 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#277 of 499 in Marrakech
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#124 of 499 in Marrakech
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maison Belbaraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maison Belbaraka

Property: Riad Maison Belbaraka
Address: Riad Laarouss Derb Asafrou Sidi Bouamer No 242, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Maison Belbaraka 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Maison Belbaraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing