We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Ranked #136 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

A fantastic traditional riad in a good location - our room was beautiful and the staff were extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Before we even arrived, Charlotte had e-mailed us and on arrival, they cooked a welcome meal for us - the best food we had on our trip; the breakfast each day was also amazing. We were shown an easy route to the main square and two trips were organised for us. The staff are all exceptional. The riad is only 10-15 min walk from the main square and souks and just a little further to the new town and Majorelle Gardens. Thoroughly recommended :)
Lauren, UK

Room Tip: The location here is generally pretty quiet so all rooms are good - with the ground floor ones you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
111
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Definitely, Charlotte, Rachid, Simon turn this stay into a very good memory! Well done guys! Very friendly, helpful, welcoming people! They provided the best service I have seen in Morocco, if not the best I have seen in my last 5 trips! I would send some 'luxury hotels' teams to learn from them! They were always available, did their best, polite and friendly, suggested help and advise but non-intrusive!
Riad is beautiful, clean and nice to stay! Breakfast is served on the roof terrace whenever you wake up, which is really very nice service on vacation! I would also really recommend their dinner! really nice local food for fair price! Excellent service again!
Our room was small and had opened windows to the internal yard, so, if you want privacy, ask about it. Otherwise, it was ok, designed for real Moroccan experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I cannot express how well we were taken care of. Charlotte and Rachid are so kind and accommodating. They go above and beyond to make you feel right at home. Do yourself a huge favor and let Charlotte arrange everything for you! She is always prompt in answering emails and arranged most of our trip for us before we even arrived! She arranged a private 3 day tour of the desert and Atlas Mountains in which we drove all around Morocco and got to see how people really live outside of the big cities. It was one of the most breathtaking and romantic experiences of my life. I am quite well traveled and I have never experienced anything close to this kind of hospitality. The staff there is also excellent with Muhammad took EXCELLENT care of us and the maid even folded the clothes I left out neatly. Absolutely Lovely! <3

Room Tip: They were all really beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Andalucia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Not only are the owners, Charlotte and Rachid, charming and welcoming but all the staff cannot do enough for you. Charlotte gives you a little opening description of the sites to see and a helpful map, between her and Rachid they speak most languages. The food is delicious and the wine is very good and not expensive. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms really great, the whole place immaculately clean. You are given a key to your bedroom, the safe and the front door and told to treat the riad as your home which we did and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is incredibly good value compared to other hotels we stayed in afterwards and I really look forward to returning. The riad is only around 20 minutes walk from Djameed el Fna main square or a 5 minute taxi ride (€2.50). It is in the old part of town and there is fabulous street food at night in the souk just the other side of Riad Laarouss square, the nearest any taxi can get and where you are bound to find one at any time. It is a wonderful, calm, place and, with the chaos that exists in Marrakech, you need somewhere to go that brings you back down to Earth.

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms on the ground floor which are great if you don't want to climb the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmundSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Postojna, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The riad itself was peaceful, comfortable and beautifully presented. It was a real little oasis away from the busy streets of Marrakech. Our hosts, Rachid and Charlotte were pleasant and helpful especially when we needed advice about finding our way around the city and arranging a trip out to the Atlas Mountains and desert. We booked the airport transfer and were glad that we did. Finding the riad by ourselves would have been difficult. The riad was well situated in the heart of the old city and we soon got used to finding our way around but when we arrived and didn't know what to expect being met at the airport was a relief. If you are looking for a riad close to the souks and the Djemaa el-Fna, we would recommend Riad Maison Belbaraka.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed at this riad after noticing some positive reviews online. Being our first visit to morocco we wanted a more authentic experience rather than your average chain hotel.

We originally booked but cancelled due to finding something closer, which prompted the owner/manager to offer a discounted rate over email. I am assuming due to low season. 

Charlotte answered any questions I had over transfers locations etc, felt very at ease before going knowing everything was planned.

On our arrival , the transfer was waiting to pick us up. 

The hotel is situated through a backstreet about a 3 min walk from the road. Well lit at night. You often get lots of local children hanging around and on some occasions my girlfriend had small stones thrown at her.

We were greeted by Rachid as charlotte was away, who showed us to the diva room, the room was nicely presented. We did notice lack of air con unit but a fan instead, in this heat this wasn't acceptable. We later changed rooms due to the lack of sleep and moved upstairs to a room with air con. 

We had dinner more or less every night at 30€ a couple/ wine and beer extra. Very good food kept us satisfied. Breakfast was good but suffers from a lack of variety.

Wifi was available throughout the riad moreso in the courtyard area but dropped out or not available at all especially in our first floor room which meant spending time outside the room on a nearby sofa .

Lack of local amenities like supermarkets was frustrating as there was nothing to say the riad did lunch at all. 

Any "attractions" were a good 15 min walk away, and the lack of pavements and general local attitude to road safety, made this journey a little dangerous so advise to take a taxi to avoid being clipped by passing bikes and cars.

A nice riad, but I feel it offers nothing extra to perhaps deter you from choosing other raids we visited on this trip. 

Room Tip: Make sure you check the small print for each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We went from the 5-8 of May and we had the most amazing time. To be honest, we had our reservations about going to Marrakech but we absolutely loved it and would not hesitate going back. We stayed at this Riad and the service was outstanding. Immediately after booking we received a lovely email from Rashid and Charlotte and were told we could opt to be picked up from the airport. We decided this was the best option, it is 6euros per person. The Riad is really well situated, maybe about 15 minutes walk from the Place and it is a 5 minute walk to the Souks. Whilst this might seem far, it is absolutely recommendable. In the Riad it is extremely peaceful and it is away from all the noise of the street and the hustle and bustle, yet still very close to everything. Once we arrived at the Riad we were warmly greeted by Charlotte with mint tea and Moroccan goodies. She explained everything there was to know. The whole Riad was beautifully decorated and our room was stunning. Everything was extremely clean. We felt immediately at home. We were introduced to Simon, who was extremely friendly – he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and felt at home. Both Charlotte and Simon made our experience SO so special. The service was exceptional!
We went on an excursion to the Ourika valley. We booked this with Charlotte. Although the price was slightly more expensive than prices we had seen in the centre, this was because you get your own private driver, rather than going with a bus of 14 other people. We went with Hossam who was extremely friendly and made our trip fantastic! This trip is highly recommendable.
We had breakfast every morning on the wonderfully decorated terrace. The breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from! Everything was so delicious. On the last night we had supper at the hotel. We were the only couple in the Riad that night, and Simon decorated the terrace especially for us with candles and petals! He cooked us a delicious meal, it was the best meal we had in Marrakech!
When we go back to Marrakech we are definitely going to come back to this Riad and we have highly recommended it to all of our friends. All in all, I would give our stay a 10 out of 10 and I cannot fault anything!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#154 of 499 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Rocmarra
Dar Rocmarra
#115 of 499 in Marrakech
220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#218 of 499 in Marrakech
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#125 of 499 in Marrakech
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#126 of 499 in Marrakech
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#200 of 499 in Marrakech
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maison Belbaraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maison Belbaraka

Property: Riad Maison Belbaraka
Address: Riad Laarouss Derb Asafrou Sidi Bouamer No 242, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Maison Belbaraka 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Maison Belbaraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing