We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad”
Review of Riad Shaden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Shaden
Ranked #148 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Enjoyable stay right in the centre of Marrakech, in an oasis of calm from the streets of Marrakech.

Shona (the owner) was in regular contact both before and after our trip and her two staff members (Youssef and Said) were extremely helpful and friendly.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were more than enough to fill you up until dinner time.

We recommend the private two night trip into the desert, which was arranged through the Riad and with a driver, accommodation, food etc all included - though you'll need some stamina and courage, as it's a very long drive and the camel ride into the Sahara is probably not for the faint-hearted (and it gets pretty cold in the Sahara at night).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

My girlfriend and I booked 11 nights at Riad Shaden and never regretted a singe moment of it.

We used Riad Shadden as our base for exploring not just Marrakech but Essaouria, the Atlas Mountains and into the Sahara. The Atlas Mountains and Sahara were arranged through the Riad -- a private tour, two nights, three days, all meals and an amazing driver, Abdul, through a company affiliated with the Riad called Atlas Sahara Prestige Transport Touristique. I'll have to write a review about that company too -- a worry-free experience which allowed for spontaneity.

In fact, it was this spontaneity which epitomised the worth of both Riad Shaden and Atlas Sahara Prestige. On the first day, the driver and guide, Abdul, asked whether we would like to see kasbah Telouet. It wasn't part of our itinerary and would require a detour off the main road suitable only for a 4X4. We thought it was a great idea (and were not disappointed), however, this put us a couple hours behind schedule...a fact that we didn't even think about until the Riad's manager, Youseff, called our driver to check on our status. It was already dark and we hadn't made it to our hotel for the night. Youseff was checking to make sure we were on schedule...wow! That incident epitomised the care and responsibility that the Riad's staff consistently demonstrated for it's guests...amazing!!

Others have said much about the location and rooms of Riad Shaden, so I won't go there, other than to say that the Amir suite is really wonderful...the exquisite carved ceiling, tiled walls and comfortable furnishings were more than we expected.

I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Deanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I returned to Marrakesh for a second occasion, having stayed in Riad Shaden 2 years ago... Not much has changed in Marrakesh, same Moroccan characters trying to hassle you into parting with cash, however - I noticed some elements of the Riad had been upgraded (tv's & showers) but the same good customer service and welcoming staff. Nothing is too much trouble for Youssef & Siad, a pleasant change in today's world of many and frequent uncertainties.
It is so good to get some healthy sunshine in November, especially when you come from Scotland! We explored the city by using the open top bus, the fixed price 'hop on/off' ticket is valid for 48 hrs and we thought was good value. I even found the English commentary both interesting and factual. Although not all that big, a visit to the Marjorelle Gardens provided a similar tranquil atmosphere to that of the Riad after a busy morning haggling.
On at least one occasion during your stay, arrange to eat in the Riad - a treat choosing from the menu, an experience to behold, starting with the aroma & finishing with the most delicious and savoury tastes on the pallet.
I received good advice: only pay about half of the taxi fare suggested by the driver, but agree before getting in (you may have to walk away, before they actually agree!) and don't get annoyed by the locals persuading you to come in / look around / good price etc... Just reply "ENSHALLA" which roughly translated means "some day" ... They soon get the message. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From the welcome at the front door, the mint tea on arrival, the beautiful bedroom -we could not have been happier. A little gem tucked away in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but only a short walk from the square. Just sorry our stay was so short - we will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Maggie5327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

As has been said by other reviewers, Riad Shaden is a haven amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The owner, Shona, was a huge help in the lead up to our stay at the Riad and I can reiterate the comments of others about Youssef and Said - genuinely nice guys that couldn't have been more helpful. I can't ever recall having better service.

The rooms were clean, spacious with traditional Moroccan decor and modern TV. We dined in the Riad the first night of our trip and it was one of the best meals we had - wonderful traditional Moroccan cuisine. The breakfasts we had each day were also excellent.

I liked the location of the Riad. The walk to/from the main square in the Medina gives an insight into life in Marrakech and the noise and colour emphasises the fact that you really are experiencing a different and enjoyable culture. A day trip to the Unesco world heritage site at Aït Benhaddou was recommended and organised by Shona and was superb.

I'd recommend Riad Shaden to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I still find it difficult to imagine staying anywhere as comfortable peaceful tranquil and homely as Riad Shaden. The staff treated us as part of their family. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was high class restaurant standard and the service was on the button. Day trips were arranged, advice on getting around was given and our whole stay in Marrakesh was facilitated by two of the most friendly people I have ever met. We booked as a family and needed every room, so the Riad felt like our own. What a brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bashf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Walking through a busy market street and then into a narrow cul de sac we wondered what to expect. We had no need to worry, walk through the door of Riad Shaden and you are in a beautiful, tranquil Moroccan house. We were greeted with mint tea, biscuits and a warm welcome from the owners. Riad Shaden is close to the center of the town and easy walking distance from most of the sights.Help was there if needed, always given with a smile.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#123 of 502 in Marrakech
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#221 of 502 in Marrakech
301 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#459 of 502 in Marrakech
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Linda
Riad Linda
#132 of 1,170 in Marrakech
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zara
Riad Zara
#89 of 1,170 in Marrakech
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaden

Address: 222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £34 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shaden 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a traditional area in the east of the medina, yet only a 15 minute walk from Djemaa al Fna, Riad Shaden is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The property has a total of 6 bedrooms (2 suites and 4 standard double/twin rooms). All rooms are ensuite, with reversible air conditioning, flat screen TVs, complementary toiletries and safes. There is a spacious central courtyard, a cosy living room and a sunny and secluded roof terrace with sunbeds and parasols. Breakfast is included in the room rate, with additional meals available on request. Cookery lessons are available, which include a shopping trip to the local market. Riad Shaden's staff speak English and French and are available 24 hours a day. They are happy to assist with booking day trips, golf, restaurants and hammams, as well as providing general advice about what to see and do in Marrakech. Riad Shaden's English speaking driver is available for airport transfers, as well as day trips and longer excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Shaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shaden Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing