We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Shaden
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
175
42
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
42
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squareday triproof terracepancakesatlas mountainsan oasisperfect guideminute walk from the centrecooking lessonold citymint teareally nice place to staythe hustle and bustleordered dinnerday bedexcellent hostsexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

An intimate Riad where, within no time at all you feel totally at home. Nothing was too much trouble for the dedicated staff who went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and without drama. They organised trips for us and helped us understand the culture which is Marrakech! We took a cooking lesson at the Riad and ate there two nights. food quality was great. The room we had was a little tight for space but this mattered little in the context of the overall experience that was Riad Shaden and the amazing whirl of Marrakech. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 415NickC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here with my friend for three nights, we're both in our 20s and had a brilliant time.
I would say that's enough time to see the city but you could easily spend much longer if you fancy doing some excursions or exploring outside Marrakech.
Definitely take the airport transfer if you can, a great service and means you get led right to the front door which could otherwise be a bit hard to find at first! It's a good location and close to everything but it's helpful to get a few tips on directions etc before heading out into the Medinah.
Said and Yousseff are absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for all the guests.
As two girls on our own we did find the Medinah a little intimidating at first so be prepared for that, but it's great to be right in the heart of things and see the real Marrakech. We personally particularly found this when walking after dark when there is a slightly different atmosphere.
We had one incident where a taxi took us to the wrong place and we ended up calling the hotel late at night. Said said to hand the phone to the driver and spoke to him for us to make sure he came to the right place before walking out to meet us and taking us safely back! Definitely above and beyond and we were very grateful.
The next night when we were planning to go out they organised for their driver Abdul to take us and bring us back so we wouldn't be worried at all.
The riad is lovely, really cosy and so calm compared to its surroundings, you feel relaxed as soon as you walk through the door. The roof terrace is a real sun trap and we spent many happy hours up there on the loungers!
We were lucky enough to be there when the owner Shona and her husband Ronnie were also staying and they gave us lots of brilliant tips for where to go and what to see. Shona is constantly emailing guests and will be happy to help with any questions you have!
The food is lovely - breakfast is homemade bread and pastries which will fill you up all day, and if you choose to have dinner here you won't be disappointed either. Make sure to book a few hours in advance though as they do prepare it all to order!
All in all we had a really great holiday and would love to go back to the Riad Shaden.
Best things about it are the lovely welcoming atmosphere and staff, and the rooms and terrace are all beautiful too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Actually I found a whole week as a holiday in Marrakech was a little too long, unless you are doing excursions and this would be a perfect venue for a short break due to the short flight and airport transfers. This is an ample time to spend exploring the local area and the diverse range of markets. Although it does take a day or two to adjust to the culture, you soon 'warm' to the locals charm and banter! Coming from Glasgow this made me feel quite at home. We had some fabulous meals in surrounding restaurants recommended by the staff at the ryad and enjoyed some welcome sun while reading via the free wi fi in the riad of the poor weather back in Scotland!

The highlight of the holiday for me was the gem of riad shaden and the superb staff. The night we ate in the riad was spectacular and the staff went out of the way to cater to our every need.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Enjoyable stay right in the centre of Marrakech, in an oasis of calm from the streets of Marrakech.

Shona (the owner) was in regular contact both before and after our trip and her two staff members (Youssef and Said) were extremely helpful and friendly.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were more than enough to fill you up until dinner time.

We recommend the private two night trip into the desert, which was arranged through the Riad and with a driver, accommodation, food etc all included - though you'll need some stamina and courage, as it's a very long drive and the camel ride into the Sahara is probably not for the faint-hearted (and it gets pretty cold in the Sahara at night).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My girlfriend and I booked 11 nights at Riad Shaden and never regretted a singe moment of it.

We used Riad Shadden as our base for exploring not just Marrakech but Essaouria, the Atlas Mountains and into the Sahara. The Atlas Mountains and Sahara were arranged through the Riad -- a private tour, two nights, three days, all meals and an amazing driver, Abdul, through a company affiliated with the Riad called Atlas Sahara Prestige Transport Touristique. I'll have to write a review about that company too -- a worry-free experience which allowed for spontaneity.

In fact, it was this spontaneity which epitomised the worth of both Riad Shaden and Atlas Sahara Prestige. On the first day, the driver and guide, Abdul, asked whether we would like to see kasbah Telouet. It wasn't part of our itinerary and would require a detour off the main road suitable only for a 4X4. We thought it was a great idea (and were not disappointed), however, this put us a couple hours behind schedule...a fact that we didn't even think about until the Riad's manager, Youseff, called our driver to check on our status. It was already dark and we hadn't made it to our hotel for the night. Youseff was checking to make sure we were on schedule...wow! That incident epitomised the care and responsibility that the Riad's staff consistently demonstrated for it's guests...amazing!!

Others have said much about the location and rooms of Riad Shaden, so I won't go there, other than to say that the Amir suite is really wonderful...the exquisite carved ceiling, tiled walls and comfortable furnishings were more than we expected.

I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Deanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews