We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Riad with excellent service”
Review of Riad Shaden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Shaden
Ranked #217 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Riad with excellent service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This riad is set about 10-15 minutes from the main square. When you arrive at the riad and enter through the maze of small streets you find a fantastic, small, but intimate riad. The rooms are traditionally furnished and very comfortable. What made this holiday special was the excellent service. I cannot praise Youssef and Said enough as they were so helpful and accommodating, from the moment when they picked us up from the airport until they dropped us off again. It feels as though you have been staying with friends rather than complete strangers. I highly recommend staying at Riad Shaden, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    38
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
77
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A beautiful riad tucked away just 15 minutes away from Jemma El Fna square and all the action. We stayed in the suite room and had plenty of space. The open roof terrace was great to unwind, and the inner courtyard was a great little spot.
Youssef and Said at reception were very accommodating, tending to our several requests for mint tea and helping us out with directions, tours etc They're professionalism and care for detail was what made this place really special.
The food at the Riad is quite good, and we also did a cooking lesson there which I'd recommend if you love Moroccan food!
Would also definitely recommend the airport transfers as it saves a lot of hassle.
Loved Riad Shaden, it made our Marrakech trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefM321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Being well located, in the heart of Marrakech, walking distance to the famous Jemaa El Fna square and from all historic sites, the Riad Shaden is hidden at the end of a little pedestrian street. The reception personnel, Youssef and Saïd, were really welcoming, highly professional, very helpful, and eager to please. The interior of the Riad, is beautifully decorated, with style and in different colour schemes. The breakfast were so so good, with fresh orange juice, different types of local breads, homemade pancakes and cakes..... I loved the open roof terrace where you can relax, while sipping mint tea and also the lounge where visitors can gather to share their adventures of the day. I really enjoyed the Moroccan food, eating in the square, watching the world go by, or at the Riad tasting the excellent cooking of Sena and Sadia, who also were quite happy to give us Couscous and Taggine's cooking tips. Finally, it wouldn't be fair not to mention, Abdul, who took us on a memorable excursion. Thanks to everyone at the Riad, who made my first visit to Marrakech, just very special. No fault to find here, overhaul it was a 20 out of 10 experience and I highly recommend a stay at the Riad Shaden.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

An intimate Riad where, within no time at all you feel totally at home. Nothing was too much trouble for the dedicated staff who went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and without drama. They organised trips for us and helped us understand the culture which is Marrakech! We took a cooking lesson at the Riad and ate there two nights. food quality was great. The room we had was a little tight for space but this mattered little in the context of the overall experience that was Riad Shaden and the amazing whirl of Marrakech. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 415NickC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here with my friend for three nights, we're both in our 20s and had a brilliant time.
I would say that's enough time to see the city but you could easily spend much longer if you fancy doing some excursions or exploring outside Marrakech.
Definitely take the airport transfer if you can, a great service and means you get led right to the front door which could otherwise be a bit hard to find at first! It's a good location and close to everything but it's helpful to get a few tips on directions etc before heading out into the Medinah.
Said and Yousseff are absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for all the guests.
As two girls on our own we did find the Medinah a little intimidating at first so be prepared for that, but it's great to be right in the heart of things and see the real Marrakech. We personally particularly found this when walking after dark when there is a slightly different atmosphere.
We had one incident where a taxi took us to the wrong place and we ended up calling the hotel late at night. Said said to hand the phone to the driver and spoke to him for us to make sure he came to the right place before walking out to meet us and taking us safely back! Definitely above and beyond and we were very grateful.
The next night when we were planning to go out they organised for their driver Abdul to take us and bring us back so we wouldn't be worried at all.
The riad is lovely, really cosy and so calm compared to its surroundings, you feel relaxed as soon as you walk through the door. The roof terrace is a real sun trap and we spent many happy hours up there on the loungers!
We were lucky enough to be there when the owner Shona and her husband Ronnie were also staying and they gave us lots of brilliant tips for where to go and what to see. Shona is constantly emailing guests and will be happy to help with any questions you have!
The food is lovely - breakfast is homemade bread and pastries which will fill you up all day, and if you choose to have dinner here you won't be disappointed either. Make sure to book a few hours in advance though as they do prepare it all to order!
All in all we had a really great holiday and would love to go back to the Riad Shaden.
Best things about it are the lovely welcoming atmosphere and staff, and the rooms and terrace are all beautiful too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Actually I found a whole week as a holiday in Marrakech was a little too long, unless you are doing excursions and this would be a perfect venue for a short break due to the short flight and airport transfers. This is an ample time to spend exploring the local area and the diverse range of markets. Although it does take a day or two to adjust to the culture, you soon 'warm' to the locals charm and banter! Coming from Glasgow this made me feel quite at home. We had some fabulous meals in surrounding restaurants recommended by the staff at the ryad and enjoyed some welcome sun while reading via the free wi fi in the riad of the poor weather back in Scotland!

The highlight of the holiday for me was the gem of riad shaden and the superb staff. The night we ate in the riad was spectacular and the staff went out of the way to cater to our every need.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Enjoyable stay right in the centre of Marrakech, in an oasis of calm from the streets of Marrakech.

Shona (the owner) was in regular contact both before and after our trip and her two staff members (Youssef and Said) were extremely helpful and friendly.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were more than enough to fill you up until dinner time.

We recommend the private two night trip into the desert, which was arranged through the Riad and with a driver, accommodation, food etc all included - though you'll need some stamina and courage, as it's a very long drive and the camel ride into the Sahara is probably not for the faint-hearted (and it gets pretty cold in the Sahara at night).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Linda
Riad Linda
#122 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Chameleon
Riad Chameleon
#126 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#280 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#346 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar el Souk
Dar el Souk
#163 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Saad
Riad Dar Saad
#134 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaden

Property: Riad Shaden
Address: 222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shaden 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a traditional area in the east of the medina, yet only a 15 minute walk from Djemaa al Fna, Riad Shaden is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The property has a total of 6 bedrooms (2 suites and 4 standard double/twin rooms). All rooms are ensuite, with reversible air conditioning, flat screen TVs, complementary toiletries and safes. There is a spacious central courtyard, a cosy living room and a sunny and secluded roof terrace with sunbeds and parasols. Breakfast is included in the room rate, with additional meals available on request. Cookery lessons are available, which include a shopping trip to the local market. Riad Shaden's staff speak English, French and Spanish and are available 24 hours a day. They are happy to assist with booking day trips, golf, restaurants and hammams, as well as providing general advice about what to see and do in Marrakech. Riad Shaden's English speaking driver is available for airport transfers, as well as day trips and longer excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Shaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shaden Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing