We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad lyla Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad lyla Marrakech
Ranked #72 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Riad Lyla absolutely deserves all the rave reviews. Dominique was a fantastic host. He talked to all guests each morning and was a real treasure trove for tips about sights, restaurants and things to do. But all staff was warm and very friendly. The courtyard with plunge pool is a delight, very clean and refreshing on a hot summer day. They also serve mint tea/coffee with biscuits free of charge during the day. Breakfast on the rooftop was the best we had in 12 days Morocco. The rooftop is one of the highlights of the Riad. It’s spread over several levels with many hidden corners.
We stayed at Jouge Double Room, right above the plunge pool. I think it was the prefect choice for us.
The location is fantastic: right in the middle of the Medina, close to the main square Jemaa el Fna, and the most important sights north of the square are just minutes away. Even Jardin Majorelle can be reached on foot within 25 minutes. Café Arabe and La Terrasse des Epices are also just five minutes away. Don’t miss to have coffee/tea at Dar Cherifa (15th century Dar) just a block away from Riad Lyla or lunch at Palais Dar Donab on Rue Dar el Bacha. Dar Donab is a posh and luxurious riad and we expected to pay a bomb for lunch. We were surprised to find that the tajines were cheaper and better than at Cafe Arabe and the wine (Savannah Reserve) excellent as well. Never mind the grumpy receptionist or the inept manager; service is friendly and swift. It’s off the tourist trail, so no crowds here.
Back to Riad Lyla, the only reason why it’s ranked so lowly on tripadvisor is because a) Marrakech is extremely competitive and b) it doesn’t have a thousand or more reviews yet. But the mere fact that it’s always fully booked should tell you that you can’t go wrong with this riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kookoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
158
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PAISLEY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a fantastic time here, the staff are excellent and Dominique is a great host, very helpful with any questions you might have. It was a great base for exploring the madness of Marrakech but was quiet and relaxing within the Riad itself. Breakfast on the roof was lovely every morning. The whole Riad was charming, the rooms were well decorated and spotlessly clean. We would definitely recommend Riad Lyla.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first trip to Marrakech and I'm sure we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The staff at Lyla are attentive without being over solicitous, the rooms authentic, clean and comfy, the Riad itself is beautiful and Dominique, the proprietor, is a fantastic host who can't do enough to help you, whether it's recommending restaurants, booking travel or providing some history to Marrakech.

All in all we had a wonderful 7 days at Riad Lyla.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second visit to Riad Lyla after spending a few days here in January and enjoying our stay so much that my husband chose to spend a week here to celebrate his 60th birthday. Dominique and his wonderful staff are just the most friendliest, helpful and loveliest people you could ever meet, they have become like family to us now. If I could give this Riad 10 stars I would as I can not fault one single thing except a week was not long enough to spend in this amazing riad! My husbands birthday was made very special by spending it here in beautiful surrounds with lovely people. If you are wondering which Riad to book look no further. I highly recommend Fatimas dinners in the evening as well, superb!! We have booked to come back again in January 2015 to our little piece of Marrakech heaven.

Room Tip: Jourges suite very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose Riad Lyla because it had a pool and the reviews were amazing. We were not disappointed as the service was fantastic, the room was very comfortable and the food we had to eat at the riad was delicious. Dominique and his team could not do enough for us. We will definitely be going back. We had a really relaxing time sunbathing either by the pool in the morning or on the roof top in the late afternoon. I would highly recommend staying at Riad Lyla.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

During our 11 day trip through Morocco Riad Lyla was by far the best accommodation we had. It was like an oasis in the middle of the bustling Marrakech. A great place to sit and unwind after a long day walking the medina, even a quick dip in the pool. The rooms well furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable. All staff were very friendly and host Dominique was great, providing information on what to do and see. He couldn't do even to make our stay pleasurable. Breakfast on the roof terrace was great, with a view over nearby rooftops. A definite place to consider for accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0d_Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dominique took great care of us during our stay. The riad is very centrally located, but you would never know it from the inside! Our stay was very calm and lovely. We loved having mint tea at anytime, and breakfast on the rooftop was always a delight. Our room was very spacious and we loved the decor. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#96 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Aloes
Riad Aloes
#36 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#38 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#7 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#35 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#14 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad lyla Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad lyla Marrakech

Property: Riad lyla Marrakech
Address: 4 et 5 rue ouartani | mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad lyla Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing