We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value, fantastic staff”
Review of Hotel Sindi Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sindi Sud
Ranked #311 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Recently stayed 2 nights at Sindi Sud, and would recommend it to anyone going to Kech. The location is great, very close to the square but somehow also pretty quiet. It can get a bit hot, but its Marrakech, its always hot everywhere.

The staff was always incredibly sweet and regularly went out of their way to be helpful. Our flight got us to Kech at 8am and they let us check in right away for a much needed nap.

We paid 160dh/night for a double with a shared bath - it is a great value. Theres hot water and wifi, if your expectations are higher than that - you're looking at a different price range.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jswif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a far from pleasant experience. The room had nothing but a bed and a tiny sink and the toilet and shower were shared between the whole floor which wqs very uncomfortable. The worse part was the lack of airconditiong in the rooms when we complained continusly about not being able to sleep they moved us to a room with a fan which made no difference. We left after 1 night.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Some things are a little bit improvised but all in all it is a nice location, the Staff was friendly and the room was clean. From the hotel it is just a short walk to the Djemaa el Fna, the music from there can be heard at the terrace of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside may be a bit colder but also louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

im not the type of person who write this reviews online but im writing this to prevent you guys from suffering the worst service and poor facilities.

I booked though booking.com and it mentioned that our room has AC but when we arrived there was no remote control so we suffered from severe hot weather. we felt like we were in Sauna. we couldnt even sleep until 5am bcuz it was extremely hot in the room. i slept on the ground as bed cover was winter blanket which made even hotter. We complained but they said we were lucky to have private toilet so dont complain about ac.
That room was not wih AC. it was totally different from
what we expected (cuz we saw that this room was with AC). On top of that, our cell phone is not working here as we dont have moroccan SIM card and we asked for one call but the guy said we have to pay 10DH to make a one call. They even kicked us out of the room when we were taking a shower simpliy just becuase check-out time was up. It was a terrible and horrible hotel we have ever stayed in our entire life.
No towels, shapoos. soaps nothing was there except one poor bed with winter blanket. considering this hot summer, i will never ever recommend this to anyone else. I have no idea why this hotel is highly rated on bookings.com website.

WORST HOTEL EVER !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamcometrue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The reason i'm giving Hotel Sindi Sud 2 instead of a 3 rating is because of the outrageous behaviour of one of the staff members.
I asked if they had a luggage room that i might use, he said they did and that is was not a problem to leave bags.
No fee mentioned, as well there shouldn't be as i spent 5 nights there. Anyway as i returned for the bags the guy was acting strange, didn't want to return my passport because i refused to buy him a pack of cigarettes which he said was the tip for the bags being left.
Finally got my passport and bags and left with him walking after me.
Not cool, seems nothing in Marrakesh is free even when i paid to stay at the hotel.

Overall its not such a bad place to stay the location is good and the other staff member was ok.
only problems i had other than the crazy host was that its Quite loud at night and theres Zero AC so a little uncomfortable to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoddersGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner and I travelled to Marrakech on 30th April and stayed for 5 nights.
We are both big eaters and love adventures and travelled on a tight budget.

Firstly, hotels in this area are all cramped for space and have the potential for a bit of noise late at night due to the fact that its still about 25 degrees outside at 1am and people are still mingling around the alleyways that these hotels are all tucked into...we stayed in room 15 which is on the 3rd floor directly above reception entrance which I think was probably the noisiest room but we still managed a decent nights sleep each night. the hotel is very close to the market square which means you also get a moderate amount of noise from there but personally we found this just added to the atmosphere and got used to it very quickly..(if you want guaranteed peace then a simple pair of ear plugs will go a long way when travelling through Africa)

The hotel is very basic (imagine a very clean backpackers with all separate rooms) but its very clean and tidy and well looked after.
The décor is basically floor to ceiling mosaic tiles which look great, the beds were comfortable (pillows were a little firm) and the terrace is a great place to cool down or get some sun.
You will need to take your own towels and purchase your own toilet paper (2pack) and bottled water though, but there are shops less than a minutes walk from Sindi Sud so its not a problem (don't pay more than 6dh for either).

With each room you get a simple Moroccan breakfast (croissant with jam and honey, Moroccan crepes, Tea or Coffee and OJ) but this was more than enough for us. Breakfast is served on the terrace around 8;30-12. You just have to walk up to the terrace bar and tell the ladies what you want to drink and they will sort the rest.

For us the staff here are what made our trip here so good, the guys on reception were helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and even help us sort out between the rip offs and the bargains, the cleaners/tea ladies were always friendly and polite too. Most importantly we felt safe here.. and that was the biggest thing for us.

I've stayed at Sindi Sud before and it was my first choice when returning this time. If I go back to Marrakech I will stay there again and I would recommend it to anyone. I only gave it 4 stars because it obviously doesn't have all the amenities of other hotels but it serves its purpose of being a convenient, clean, friendly place to stay when visiting the Medina of Marrakech very well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing outwards can be a little noisy but nothing earplugs wont sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MillyMuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We booked online using Agoda and Booking.com from Canada.
Upon arrival we were given a tin nicest of rooms without the promised patio. It had no AC and was on the highest floor with no elevator. We complained that we needed a bigger room with AC as it was very hot. They offered a room at twice the cost and since we were tired, we took it for the night. We went out to eat and upon return, two new receptionists told us that the room was bigger so we could not have it for the upgraded price. We argued a bit and eventually settled on a the higher price and without breakfast. We told them that we would be leaving in the morning and they said that we MUST leave by noon. Upon asking repeatedly if we needed something in writing, we were told that we had given them enough notice and we would not be chef end for the two more nights were booked.
The bigger room was not conveniently laid out- we had to put our suitcases on a sofa as there was not much room. The plus were hanging out if the sockets. No soaps, shampoos or towels. Fortunately I always carry my own towels so we did not miss it. It was very, very noisy almost all night, cleaning, shouting and slamming of doors. We did not sleep much. In the morning there was noise of setting up breakfast, though we did not see what was served. We left at 11 am and turned a corner and found another Riad. This time we had a totally opposite experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rdarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#351 of 502 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#323 of 502 in Marrakech
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
#324 of 502 in Marrakech
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#268 of 502 in Marrakech
111 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#437 of 502 in Marrakech
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#479 of 502 in Marrakech
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sindi Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sindi Sud

Address: Riad Zitoun Lakdim Derb Sidi Bouloukate 109, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sindi Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing