We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The patio is charming but rooms not so much for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Meknes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Meknes
Ranked #36 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The patio is charming but rooms not so much for the price”
Reviewed 30 October 2009

The hotel is hard to find, hidden in between small streets, not properly in the medina (but not so far from it; walking distance). It is not a typical "riad" as one expects for the name; it is more like a modern building around a mid-size patio with a nice cactus garden and a small swimming-pool, with not-so-clean water. The rooms look more like what you'd find in a regular hotel (with some moroccan touch) tan in a real riad. Staff were nice. The restaurant has a reputation (we did not have a full meal there) but surprisingly the breakfast was not as good as we expected. We did not like 2 specific things:
1.- on arrival we were offered a no-so-pleasant room (not good value for the price); we asked for a change to a different, better room, and this was accepted by the managing staff. Still, this 2nd room wasn't so exciting.
2.- on our 2nd and last night in the hotel, when we arrived after dining out we found out that there was no water supply in our room. We complained and were told that some maintenance work had been done on the water conductions during the afternoon and the technician probably forgot to open again the water supply. After aprox 1/2 h and some kind efforts by the night staff, this problem was finally solved.
On the whole, its value as a hotel is not so good (I can't judge it as a restaurant).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    32
    14
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We have been for three days in this riad. The pictures in the website were beatiful and we opt for one of the best rooms. Once there we had the first problem: our reservation was not found (???). Then we got another room for the same price we paid, but with just a small window close to the ceiling (so with any view!!!). Then the bedding was not clean and we had to wait another our beofre to use the room. Finally we entered, discovering the wc was nor working properly. Luckly the day afetr we were given another room.
Staff was ok, very kind and helpful, except the lady staff manager: she was always frowning, fake kind and easily rude (in particular with staff but sometimes also with some client since she pretended to speak only French!!!). she should be fired!
On Sunday my wife had a gastroenteritis after the breakfast and she did not call even a doctor; I had to take a taxi and travelling around Meknes looking for a pharmacy.
Absolutely to avoid!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Meknes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I was surprised (not in a good way) when I finally got to Riad Meknes. This was for sure one of the usual nice-websIte-traps everyone probably already fell at least once.
Service was poorly, almost non-existent. There was no manager or anyone close to a manager to stand up for the hotel. Noone spoke english. There were employees sleeping on the living room during the day and the room and bathroom...argh, they were stinking cigarette and dirty respectively.

My recommendation is: STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargauxRibeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabat, morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2009

we took the name from the "lonely planet guide" as we wanted a restaurant for a one-day trip. We saw that the place is beautiful, all the descriptions above are right. But the staff is not friendly and the food is not fantastic. Maybe we were unlucky to get the only impolite (male) waiter. The menu is printed in plastic sheets, nothing " a la carte" but fixed menus, and nothing truly Moroccan, but only for tourists. I can say so as I live in Rabat, and I know the true Moroccan taste of the true Moroccan food. The bastilla was oily and greasy, the Moroccan salad came straight from the fridge (even the dishes that were supposed to be hot), we asked for olive oil (Meknes is the place of production of Moroccan olive oil) and the nice waiter said they did not have any (!!). In 4 we spent 50 euros, that is quite a price for Moroccan standards, and we left half of what we ordered. It is a pity as the place is really beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Riad Meknes is a lovely oasis amid the winding streets of old town, Meknes. Difficult to find: yes, as everything is in the Medina if you are not a native. Your best bets are to 1, be alert for signs for the "Restaurant Riad" immediately upon entering the medina; 2, e-mail the riad for their recommended walking route; 3, have a couple of dirhams handy and ask one of the kids in the neighborhood where it is, they will invariably be around and and waiting to direct you. I found the staff to be very sweet and helpful (nearlyall women, who only speak French or Arabic. NO English). Our room was huge and comfortable. The decor was eclectic, kooky and stylish, particularly in the courtyard of the restaurant and around the beautiful pool. The restaurant is superb and a real draw, many people who had no other association with the hotel dined there. This was a great place to escape the press of the rest of the city and relax. My only complaint is that our room overlooked an alley which served the restaurant kitchen and was quite noisy at night. ALSO, although I provided them a credit card number to reserve the room, upon check out they took cash only, so be prepared!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottignies, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We spent three nights in the Riad Meknes. The place is really charming and quiet. The small swimming pool is reall... good in the hot summer days. The food is fantastics, the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brother-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

I did not actually stay here, only dined, but my companion and I came for dinner and liked it so much we had to come back for lunch the next day and we ended up wishing we could stay here. The other reviewers are right that it is a little hard to find, but once you get in, goodness, what a beautiful setting! We ate outdoors on the patio surrounded by nicely tended gardens with lots of interesting plants. The service was gracious and every course of the traditional Moroccan meal was fantastic, from the salads to the bstilla to the lamb tagine. The bstilla in particular was outstanding; I liked the way they make it in briouates (small triangular deep-fried packets) for individual servings rather than the big sixteen-inch round for "family style" serving. Family style is more traditional for Moroccan food, but I was in a party of two, so the small servings worked for us. Between the food, the service and the atmosphere, we felt like we were in heaven. Then we got even closer to heaven when the handsome, charming owner Raouf came out and talked with us. Raouf is the current head of the family that has owned and run nearby Palais Didi for generations. He took us on a tour of both his properties (Riad Meknes and Palais Didi) and when he showed us a couple of rooms in Riad Meknes, we wished we were staying there instead of Riad Bahia. I have to say it amazes me that Riad Bahia is ranked #1 among hotels in Meknes because frankly, it seemed poorly appointed compared to Riad Meknes. Next time we visit, Riad Meknes will be at the top of our list. Again, we did not stay here, but I can say from personal experience that the restaurant is a winner. One thing--FYI, Raouf refers to this property as just "Riad" as opposed to Riad Meknes. That probably causes confusion because the website is www.riadmeknes.com. Whatever it's called, we can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Amazing restaurant, food and atmosphere equally great
  • Disliked — a little tricky to find
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad La maison d'a cote
Riad La maison d'a cote
#18 of 43 in Meknes
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#21 of 43 in Meknes
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Safir
Riad Safir
#11 of 43 in Meknes
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hiba Meknes
Riad Hiba Meknes
#10 of 43 in Meknes
176 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ryad Bahia
Ryad Bahia
#5 of 43 in Meknes
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Meknes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Meknes

Property: Riad Meknes
Address: 79, Ksar Chaacha-Dar Lakbira, Meknes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Meknes 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Meknes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Meknes Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing