We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in Meknes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Yacout

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Yacout
Ranked #1 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An oasis in Meknes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

What a calming oasis in the midst of chaotic Meknes. The staff made us feel we were more like family than guests and went out of their way to help us with everything from choosing a local wine to have with dinner, to helping book a driver to go to Volubilus. The lovely Leila came to our rescue when we had to get to Tangier to make the fast ferry on a certain day. She made some calls and hired a professional driver for us with a very comfortable car at a reasonable price. The location is excellent and is located in the actual city walls. Easy to get in and out. It was too cold for us to eat on the terrace, but we were able to go up for sunset with a glass of wine. Breakfast, by the way, was one of the best we had in Morocco. We were lucky enough to have the kitchen make us a beautiful, delicious bowl of soup for lunch one day, but the meal NOT to miss is dinner. Everything is prepared with care and respect....fresh ingredients with the menu changing daily. I would highly recommend staying here and appreciate how hard the staff works at making their guests feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalstormcindy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    155
    44
    13
    15
See reviews for
123
244
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived in Meknés in the early evening to be greeted at this lovely riad on the edge of the medina by the beautiful Layla. Her husband, a former football player for the national team, is part owner in this business lightened up by her amazing spirit. A welcome mint tea revitalised us after a jam-packed day of exploring nearby Fes and Volubilis. Our previous evening was spent in Fes.

We were given a spacious room with a perfect view of the square on which the riad is located. After relaxing in our comfortable room, we ventured downstairs to place our dinner order. A Flag beer, a local tipple, on the roof terrace followed and next up was a delicious, truly gourmet dinner accompanied by an impressive bottle of local red wine, Les vins de Cépage Cabernet Sauvignon . I ordered the lamb tagine with prunes and apricots, while my fellow traveller, Jinine, enjoyed a full-bodied meaty pasta dish. All this was devoured with the time-honoured fresh flat, round breads and glorious olives that seem to fall from the heavens in Morocco like manna.

Restful sleep and a splendid new day refreshed mind, body and soul and after a traditional breakfast we braved it outside to explore our near surroundings. Shopping is not as you would find in coastal hotspot Essaouira, but we managed to find a few treasures in the narrow avenues of this peaceful medina. Lunch at a nearby rooftop restaurant sealed our experience of this chilled, but impressive city. Riad Yacout is an excellent base from which to explore Meknés and its warm hospitality truly adds to the feel and ultimate emotion one seems to develop about a place. We also really appreciated Layla’s advice about Casablanca, the next and last city on our tour, and her unwavering willingness to assist with anything we asked. Well done, Layla and husband – AND A HUGE THANK YOU! We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Excellent service, the owners and the staff are friendly and make you feel at home. Lovely food in nice environnement...and dont miss having breakfast at the roof terrasse. It is a really quiet refuge in the middle of a busy Medina.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Katrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The riad is very conveniently located; in the Medina. It was a very pleasant stay and the place is well maintained. The dinner at the riad was excellent, they were very willing to adapt to our needs as vegetarians. Leila was very helpful with information on getting around Meknes, what to see and such.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shobha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The riad is is the main square of the ancient city. The ambiance is definitely 'old world'. Set in a beautifully old restored Moroccan house with antique furniture, mosaic tiles a lovely roof terrace with a small swimming pool. The restaurant serves good Morrocan cuisine and also has alcohol available..something not always available lie in Morrocan restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynandBarry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

this place is one of the best riads in morocco its in the midel of the ols medina verry close to all monuments and in the midel of place lalla aouda verry safe place and the place is well managed by its owner mr aziz benouna good service from all stuff well done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the second level rooms are a littel quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demiguel769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Very warm welcome by the friendly staff. Beautiful restoration of the riad makes you feel at home. Nice comfy room with an en-suite bathroom. (If you are looking for a bathroom which gives you absolute privacy from you co-traveler - this is not your place). Our room did not have an outside window, only one to the common courtyard area, and from what I could tell most rooms don't.
Te riad features a very nice roof terrace with a small plunge pool. If the weather allows they serve dinner on that terrace. We did not eat dinner here, but regretted it.... The breakfast was nice.
Very good value for the price. Would definitely stay here again! The location is absolutely unbeatable - right between all the important sights and still quiet and nice!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Lahboul
Riad Lahboul
#6 of 43 in Meknes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ryad Bahia
Ryad Bahia
#5 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#35 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Yacout

Property: Riad Yacout
Address: 22 Place Lalla Aouda, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Yacout 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the district of lalla Aouda (approachable by car parking in front) at two minutes away from the place of El Heddim. It is next door of Bab Mansour and Kobt Souk, the breath taking view of the old Medina, as well as Royal Golf of Meknes. Pass the entry; you discover a beautiful patio with its water basin, 2 suites and 8 rooms are shelled marvellously well in this place, Benefiting each one from a refined decoration, the rooms are soundproof, air-conditioned, equipped with satellite television, telephone and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Riad Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing