We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely riad”
Review of Riad Yacout

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Yacout
Ranked #2 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely riad”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I must confess to feeling a little torn about how to word this review. We stayed at Riad Yacout for two nights and first impressions were that the location was a close to perfect as you could get - for us at least. We'd spend 6.5 hours on the train from Marrakech and the fact that the taxi could drop us right at the door to the riad was brilliant - no fear of getting lost down an alleyway.
We had booked a deluxe suite and it was lovely with a view from the windows over Place Lalla Aouda, a table and seats, an adjoining area with banquette sofa seating, a wardrobe, minibar fridge and AC. I'll admit that purple velour bedspreads and curtains might not be to everyone's taste but it was actually the reason I picked the room! The bathroom was on the small side compared to other riads I've stayed in but was clean and perfectly adequate, with the nice addition of bathrobes and towels embroidered with the Riad Yacout logo.
We ate our evening meal shortly after we arrived on the first night and it was delicious - the pastille, cous cous, tagine and pastries were all top quality and we enjoyed them on the roof terrace as we watched the sun set.
The bed was comfortable and there was no noise - note that Room 10, Suite Moulay Ismail does not have any windows opening onto the main courtyard of the riad. The acoustics of riads is such that any noise made in the open area down the middle of the building is amplified. Therefore, if you are a light sleeper, I always suggest booking a room that does not have windows onto the courtyard.
All in all this was a lovely riad with good food, good facilities and in a great location - so why am I torn? Well simply because the staff were almost too polite and courteous. Instead of feeling homely, it felt a little uncomfortable and more like an impersonal 5 star hotel in terms of service. The service was very good but came with an air of servility and detachment that makes me feel unworthy somehow.
The only member of staff who seemed open and friendly was the young lady at reception who arranged our transfer to Fes - the men of the riad were all very formal and stood to attention at all times.
All in all, I can't fault the riad itself and I would recommend it - it just wasn't a sit-down-and-chat place for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    159
    45
    14
    15
See reviews for
124
246
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we could have much better in the same area with less price. very noisy at night and early morning.we booked for one week but it was hard to stay for more than 3 nights.
sperm on the bedsheets plus dusty suite(not joking),

Room Tip: AC sucks in both suites, serious Parking probleme in all area. lake of cleaniness and its not soundp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadyacout, Gérant at Riad Yacout, responded to this review, 1 December 2014
We regret that you have not satisfied with your stay with us, we would like to remind you that your booking was for 1 night and not 1 week.
To relate the real facts: Mr Alimo your wife's uncle who spent three days with us, for which we had no room available for the 4th night asked us to find for him another hotel, so the manager did that personally and moved with his car, also once at the hotel Mr Alimo and in agreement with your stepfather "Mr Veccia" who spent 4 days in our Riad has booked a bridal suite as a wedding gift, and they asked us to do say anything to make you surprise. The same evening you came to the Riad to have the room you reserved in advance. Not knowing the ins and outs that motivated you to refuse this gift; and to repair the damage supposedly we are in no way responsible we have offered a suite for your wedding night and we gave you the refund of the room originally reserved (receipt of reimbursement in support).

However, we're sorry, and hope to have the opportunity to prove again our professionalism and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was tough to find but well worth it since it is a lovely riad.
We were greated by the staff. We were given the lowdown on the riad and a general overview of Meknes by Lala while drinking mint tea in the charming lobby. We had some room issues and they were remedied immediately.
Everyone on the staff goes above and beyond. The ladies did a terrific job on the laundry and cleaning.
Nordine is the possible stand-out of the staff but he serves breakfast, dinner, opens the door, and is super friendly and charming. He frequently tossed a few new Arabic words to learn.
Our room was a tad

Room Tip: the rooms are a tad small so rent the largest you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroqAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi
Level Contributor
234 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I work often for work and hardly ever it happened to me to have such a marvelous experience like this in one hotel.
Service, atmosphere, furniture are outstanding and the staff takes care of you.
The room was perfectly cleaned, spacious and picturesque, I could look at the ancient Medina from my window.
Just remember that every morning around 5 o'clock also the Muezzin will take care of you, by singing for a couple of minute the pray of the rising sun...
Yes, for sure he will wake you up because he is on the tower just in front of the hotel, but in my opinion it is part of the experience and just after that you keep on sleeping.
Food was excellent and I had a massage in their hammam; after many working hours it was worth it.
Does anyone say that they didn't get the warmest welcome possible?
Maybe, anyone has his character and I believe that the owners are reserved people.
Anyhow, make sure they are going
It is not cheap, but I believe they deserve all the money they ask for.
Definitely I would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kea75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not really a luxury Riad, but really well situated to explore Meknes from. The purple velour bed cover and curtains in our room were somewhat surprising.
We enjoyed the roof terrace with views of the old walls. The small plunge pool was empty in March, presumably as it was still a bit cold in at night.
Meknes was great for a day.....just wish I had had my golf handicap certificate with me so that I could have played the 9 hole course inside the walls of the Royal Palace ,which is open to the public and looked amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haaksbergen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful stay in this magnificant riad. Friendly welcomed by reception staff, excellant servant staff and a good and clean accomodation. Besides breakfast is my advice to have dinner as well in the riad; excellant food, well cooked, served by kind and good mannered staff. I certainly recommand this riad for a stay in Meknes; close to all activities, great terrace on the roof, magnificant interior.
Ruud and Diny van Leeuwen, Haaksbergen, The Netherlands

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolf v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were unsure when we booked, but super glad to have .Excellent location - an easy walk to everything, all his staff were wonderful and made sure we were well looked after. We got practical advice on where to go, what to go. The rooms were spotlessly clean and nicely decorated in local style. The meal we had at the Riad on the night of our arrival actually turned out to be one of the best meals we had in our whole 7-day stay - really good Tagine. Last but not least, if you're going there don't miss their hammam Thoroughly recommended - we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#8 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#33 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Yacout

Property: Riad Yacout
Address: 22 Place Lalla Aouda, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Yacout 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the district of lalla Aouda (approachable by car parking in front) at two minutes away from the place of El Heddim. It is next door of Bab Mansour and Kobt Souk, the breath taking view of the old Medina, as well as Royal Golf of Meknes. Pass the entry; you discover a beautiful patio with its water basin, 2 suites and 8 rooms are shelled marvellously well in this place, Benefiting each one from a refined decoration, the rooms are soundproof, air-conditioned, equipped with satellite television, telephone and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing