We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Zahraa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryad Zahraa
Ranked #17 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The folks at Riad Zahraa were very nice. When we still hadn't checked in hours after we said we would, they called. Our train broke down and we didn't know how much longer we would be. The riad told us to call them when we arrived in Meknes and they would send someone to meet us outside the medina (so that we wouldn't have to navigate our way to the riad after a stressful train ride).

Our room on the top floor was on the small side, but it was very quiet. The riad itself is very large and the common areas are spacious.

The staff was very helpful and assisted us in arranging a taxi to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    39
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
19
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Riad Zahraa is nicely presented although the rooms are small and I found my four night stay to be very noisy (from next door neighbours). Communication with staff is limited unless you speak French and it is difficult to get advice. The breakfast is standard Moroccon/French fare. Overall I feel it was definitely not worth the 40 Euros a night I paid...I found clean, comfortable and quiet riads throughout Morocco for half that price. One consolation is the small restaurant Konouz Al Madina next door which does serve top quality traditional Moroccon food in a quiet and
comfortable environment (just remember to bring your own wine).
Will, Australia... 20/09/12

Room Tip: If you must go there opt for a room well inside the riad away from outside walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at this Riad for one night on our recent two week trip with Real Morocco Tours. The riad is located in the heart of the medina, just a few minutes walk from the central plaza.

The riad is close to the markets and restaurants, and its location down the maze of laneways gives you a true appreciation of what it is like tyo stay/live in an ancient Moroccan city.

The riad itself is authentic - much better than staying in a hotel - and the service is very very friendly and welcoming. The food (breakfast) is also a great way to start the day. The rooms are quiet, and face out to the central (indoor) courtyard. You can also walk to the terrace to see a great 360 degree view of the Meknes skyline.

Room Tip: Get one of the local porters to take your bags down the laneways, they're very efficient and wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTownPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in a room on the top floor. It was ok for one night. It didn't feel too clean though. Everything else was good. The breakfast and dinner were great! The common area were nice, and the staff are really friendly and hospitable!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We very much liked our stay in RIad Zahraa. It wasn't difficult to find with the help of the friendly locals. They still try to sell you things, but do so with a much less aggressive tactic than in other Moroccan cities. They will show you the Riad and ask you to come visit them afterwards.
The Riad is well located in the nice and relatively easy medina of Meknes. When you enter you will be astonished by the beauty of this place. There are decorations everywhere. You will be welcomed by the hospitable staff and tea will of course be served. They have a beautiful terrace with a magnificent view over all of the medina, which you're in the middle of.
Our room was nice and quiet, we could choose between different ones. The bathroom was clean, spacious and there was hot running water. The only comment we have is that the holder for the showerhead wouldn't keep it in the same place, which made it less comfortable to take a shower.
The breakfast was very good: everything you would expect if you've been in Morocco for a few days, but here there's home-baked cake every morning. And it is delicious.
And a minor detail: the creditcard machine appeared to be nonfunctional so we had to pay in cash.

All in all: would go here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaysan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We found the place on tripadvisor but didn't book it in advance because we were planning to follow our LonelyPlanet guide concerning accommodation in Morocco. Fortunately we noted the adress of this Riad in our book as a backup.
We only had one night to spend in Meknes otherwise we surely would have extended our stay in this Riad. We were welcomed by very friendly staff!! The rooms and the roof terrace were amazing and the breakfast was excellent! All of our questions were answered with a lot of patience and usefull tips to make our stay in Meknes even more pleasant.
Riad Zahraa is a well kept secret in Meknes Medina you certainly must pay a visit!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Welcome was correct and friendly but not as warm as in other ryads. Our blue room on the top floor was big but basic. We noticed a huge wet and moldy spot on the wall behind the third bed and some pillows. Matresses were very, very hard - my wife didnt't sleep well... Breakfast was very good. We also had dinner the first evening which was basic but good.

It was cold and not very cosy in the central area (white light, no candles, heater not on, tv on some arabic program).

Summarized : definitely acceptable but not the best we've had at this price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim_Jorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#22 of 43 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hiba Meknes
Riad Hiba Meknes
#9 of 43 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#1 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Al Meknassia
Ryad Dar Al Meknassia
#29 of 43 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#35 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Zahraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Zahraa

Property: Ryad Zahraa
Address: 5 Derb Abdellah El Kasri, Touta, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Zahraa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zahraa is an andalusian guest house situated in the heart of the medina in Meknes, Morocco. Its proximity to hammams, souks, mosques... makes it an ideal place for cultural enlightenment. It is composed of two suites and four rooms, a pacio and a splendid terrace with a view on all the medina. Most of its furniture and decoration are deliberately intended to allow tourists discover real Moroccan arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Ryad Zahraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing