We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a one night stay”
Review of Ryad Zahraa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Zahraa
Ranked #19 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice for a one night stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hidden in the streets of the medina, we needed a guide to find the riad. Beautiful building, wifi is available, rooms are okay, nothing special. They did a real good job on the roof terrass. It is nice to sit here and enjoy the evening sun. Don't expect much of a view though.
The service is okay, they could try to do their best a little more. No advice on what to see or do, referred us to a tourist office which was closed.
All in all an average riad, we've seen better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThoiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
61
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The reception guy was very helpful and gave us only good information. The room was couzy, however there was only one bathroom. The breakfast was very good. I would absolutelly suggest this hostel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rneia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I'll admit, we probably let our imaginations get the best of us, but we were convinced that we were going to be murdered in the night at this delightful riad. The place is _gorgeous_, with tons of old-fashioned authentic decorations, furnishings, and archetecture. It's in the middle of the medina, and a little difficult to find, but so is everything in the medina. Our room was wonderfully decorated, with antiques, beautiful fixtures, and lovely furniture.
Here's the bad part: every other room was unoccupied, with the furniture piled in the corners. It made the riad feel spooky. We were greeted by and taken care of throughout our stay by a creepy young man, who often wasn't wearing shoes and whose hair was disheveled, who spoke little (in French or English; I'm fluent in both), and who lacked real personality. We were put off by his demeanor and I hardly slept thinking that the end was near for us.
I wish that someone else had been in the riad, as it's beautiful, well-located, and well-priced. The empty feeling and lack of welcoming professionalism by the caretaker, however, made this is horrible experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was a delightful riad - one of the five we stayed in during our holiday in Morocco. The decor was lovely and the room we stayed in was very nice and large enough. The people were friendly and we were greeted with the usual mint tea. Getting to the riad through the maze of streets in the medina was interesting especially since this was our first time in any medina in Morocco - glad we had our guide! The early wake-up call at 4.30am from prayer time of the surrounding mosques wasn't too much of a disturbance and was really quite fascinating. This riad had an air of authenticity and not trying to be too over the top like others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrariedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

First place we stayed and after 3 weeks of travelling around it ended up being our favourite. Right in the middle of the medina but still nice and quiet (but surrounded by mosques so very loud at prayer times!) really well decorated.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The folks at Riad Zahraa were very nice. When we still hadn't checked in hours after we said we would, they called. Our train broke down and we didn't know how much longer we would be. The riad told us to call them when we arrived in Meknes and they would send someone to meet us outside the medina (so that we wouldn't have to navigate our way to the riad after a stressful train ride).

Our room on the top floor was on the small side, but it was very quiet. The riad itself is very large and the common areas are spacious.

The staff was very helpful and assisted us in arranging a taxi to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Riad Zahraa is nicely presented although the rooms are small and I found my four night stay to be very noisy (from next door neighbours). Communication with staff is limited unless you speak French and it is difficult to get advice. The breakfast is standard Moroccon/French fare. Overall I feel it was definitely not worth the 40 Euros a night I paid...I found clean, comfortable and quiet riads throughout Morocco for half that price. One consolation is the small restaurant Konouz Al Madina next door which does serve top quality traditional Moroccon food in a quiet and
comfortable environment (just remember to bring your own wine).
Will, Australia... 20/09/12

Room Tip: If you must go there opt for a room well inside the riad away from outside walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#21 of 43 in Meknes
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#14 of 43 in Meknes
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ryad Bab Berdaine
Ryad Bab Berdaine
#12 of 43 in Meknes
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Al Meknassia
Ryad Dar Al Meknassia
#31 of 43 in Meknes
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#1 of 43 in Meknes
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Zahraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Zahraa

Property: Ryad Zahraa
Address: 5 Derb Abdellah El Kasri, Touta, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Zahraa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zahraa is an andalusian guest house situated in the heart of the medina in Meknes, Morocco. Its proximity to hammams, souks, mosques... makes it an ideal place for cultural enlightenment. It is composed of two suites and four rooms, a pacio and a splendid terrace with a view on all the medina. Most of its furniture and decoration are deliberately intended to allow tourists discover real Moroccan arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ryad Zahraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing