We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of Ryad Zahraa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Zahraa
Ranked #19 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We found this place by chance, walking around Meknes and decided to stop for the night. The place is beautiful, with big rooms and hot water but the best part of it is the staff! Junes, the guy managing the place is so nice and friendly, he gave us tips and really went out of his way to help. In the end we decided to use the riad as a platform for day trips to Fes, Volubilis and Moulay Idriss and it felt great the get back to the riad after a hectic day in Fes. We also had dinner in the riad and it was really good!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
61
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

After spending a night in the Meknes new town, we decided to find ourselves somewhere in the Medina (the new town's pretty scungy and not too interesting). We found Riad Zahraa on the internet, and trusting people's reviews, we booked in for two nights. On arrival we instantly booked in for a third.
We found the riad without too much hassle. After walking to the main square from the new town we sat down for lunch at a cafe, where we asked our waiter for directions. From the direction he pointed us in we soon found the Riad's signs and followed them to the door.
The decor of the Riad is gorgeous without being over the top. All the common areas are well furnished, comfortable and home-y. The staff there are too good to be true! It's a family-run riad, and you really do feel like part of the family. I only wish my French or Spanish was better so we could have conversed better!
Our room, although a double, was technically a triple, giving us enough room for our enourmous packs. We had our own bathroom with a shower which gave great hot water. Our bed was the most comfortable we've slept on for ages, quite firm, just how we like it. Everything was very clean. If you want dinner, you just have to ask staff during the day. It might sound a bit expensive (about 130dhm per person) but it was some of the best food we had in Morocco, a real home-cooked three course meal.
The riad is also really quiet, and somehow gives a great buffer from the hustle and bustle of the meknes medina outside.
All in all, an excellent riad, worth every dirham!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlyn086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The host Jonas and his staff made our stay very pleasant. Riad Zahraa is nicely situated in the medina. The way to the riad is indicated by signs, so we could find it ourselves. The rooms are small but comfortable. As we hired three rooms we had a separate part of the riad to our own and lots of privacy. The food was fresh and very good. Our daughter was ill, but due to the care of Jonas and his medicinal tea she was quick back on her feet. Our thanks to the very nice staff who made our stay in Meknes very pleasant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed in Riad Zahraa with my boyfriend only for 1 night in March, but i am sure we are going back as soon as possible.
We arrived there very exhausted, tired and the first person who we met in the riad was the manager who showed us extreme hospitality. He was the friendliest person i have ever met in tourism. The Riad itself is beautiful, lively, clean. The breakfast was also cool.
In one word: everything is above the expectations.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Much nicer decor than suggested in the pictures. Rooms were very comfortable. Common area was peaceful, tastefully decorated and staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looking4unusual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Wow what an incredible place. We were a party of 5, and stayed for 2 nights at this Riad. We arrived in Meknes and couldn't find it, but after a phone call they came and met us and showed us the way, it would be impossible to find on your own, just ring as soon as you get to Meknes. The riad (courtyard) is amazing, and the rooms were beautiful traditional style. We had dinner there, a little more expensive than other places but by far the most delicious tajine we had in Morocco. Nothing was too much, they escorted us to the local hamman, took us around the medina and told us where to get beer and stored it in their fridge for us. They got breakfast ready early on the day we were leaving. Nothing was too much. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Spent two nights at Riad Zahraa and we were made to feel very welcome by the owners who shared some interesting history about the Riad. A calm cool escape from the hustle & bustle of the medina in surroundings that take you back in time, beautiful artifacts rescued from the Mellah and indepth information from the owners who are lecturers at the university.

A joy

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlGhajaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#21 of 43 in Meknes
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#14 of 43 in Meknes
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ryad Bab Berdaine
Ryad Bab Berdaine
#12 of 43 in Meknes
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Al Meknassia
Ryad Dar Al Meknassia
#31 of 43 in Meknes
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#1 of 43 in Meknes
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Zahraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Zahraa

Property: Ryad Zahraa
Address: 5 Derb Abdellah El Kasri, Touta, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Zahraa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zahraa is an andalusian guest house situated in the heart of the medina in Meknes, Morocco. Its proximity to hammams, souks, mosques... makes it an ideal place for cultural enlightenment. It is composed of two suites and four rooms, a pacio and a splendid terrace with a view on all the medina. Most of its furniture and decoration are deliberately intended to allow tourists discover real Moroccan arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ryad Zahraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing