We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For travellers who would like to mitigate the guilt of being an archetypal tourist”
Review of Riad Lahboul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Lahboul
Ranked #6 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The most salient sensation experienced at the Riad Lahboul, was that of integrating into a family home that is fully assimilated into the the local community. Situated on the periphery of the ceaselessly stimulating Medina, Riad Lahboul allows one to experience a genuine slice of Moroccan life that is refreshingly far removed from the tawdry hotels that isolate themselves from the heart of Meknes. Guests are unhesitantly accepted as if consanguine, a trait which evokes a unique charm and character which is so often lacking from impersonal and businesslike accomodation.

The interior of Riad Lahboul is perennially enchanting and will very likely induce a stiff neck due to the consistent surveying of each impressively decorated wall and ceiling. Although a mere minute's meander from the buzzing, central hive of the old city, retreating to the Riad during the often intense heat of midday is an immediately therapeutic and calming experience. It is equally meditative to relax and socialise on the beautiful open terrace that, with dusk's arrival, unveils a mesmeric sonic panorama of live music and the myriad voices of gregarious locals.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_Stapleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is a true Moroccan house based around a courtyard and fabulously decorated and located in the old medina, so that you experience the real flavor and essence of Meknes.The owners Simon and Mouna live on the property and provide super service along with insight into the culture of Morocco and expert guidance on what to do and see. Be sure to eat at the hotel during your stay. Mouna's meals are the best food I had during my month-long stay in Meknes. The terrace is a wonderfaul place to relax and absorb the atmosphere. The rooms are the size of European hotel rooms (small for Americans) and for the most part you are living out of your suitcase. The bed is very comfortable and each room has a bathroom with a decent size shower. Allin all it is a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yohoho777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

A very good riad in Meknes whoch is THE real Morocco. Beautiful decor with lovelly rooms. We stayed in a room on the terrace decorated in the local farm style. Excellent bathroom in which everything worked; great fluffy towels! The terrace overlooks gardens and the town and you can see the mountains. We spent a lot of time just chilling out on the terrace.
The food was so tasty. A choice of courses at dinner numerous side dishes and some dishes we had never seen before in Morocco. Mouna of Simon and Mouna, the owners, is Moroccain and these were her old family recipes.
Lovely lazy breakfasts on the terrace!
Simon and Mouna were so hewlpful, organising visits and taking us to the markets and leaving us with good guides.
the staff are very kind and helpful and we were made to feel very special.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themillersHellingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I had an amazing stay at Riad Laboul. Simon, Mouna and their staff couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent and my bed was so comfortable!
We had a personal guided tour of the medina, Mouna gave us guidance and helped us to get the best prices! We tried out the local hammam and on the last night had a rocking performance from the Riad Laboul band where we danced and enjoyed an evening of traditional music and dance whilst having our hands henna-ed!
Can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieHGoa_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Mouna (from Morocco) and Simon (from UK) who also lived in France for many years welcome in traditionnal Moroccan home where each detail takes you in different regions of Morocco. Facing the labhoul garden, the riad is well situated between the medina (5 minutes away walking) and the new town.
They shared their love and knowledge of the country. The cooking is fantastic.
Stop and stay here if you are around, you won't regret it

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank drups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Very friendly British owner and his Moroccan wife really knows how to cook ! Very convienently located. Et oui, ils parlent français.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had Riad Lahboul recommended to us by a number of people so decided to head to Meknes and take the cookery course offered and stay the night.

We absolutely loved it. Simon and Mouna, who own it were so friendly and easy going and the best I can say is that they are just perfectly suited to hosting guests in this setting. Their lovely kids are playing in the street and there is a real community feel around the place which just makes you relax and take in your surroundings.

The riad is right on he edge of the médina so is easy to find, there's convenient parking and you have the new-town and médina within minutes' walk.

The riad itself is gorgeous. Traditionally decorated, the courtyard in expansive and comfortable. You won't feel cramped as you can in some riads. We got a little tour and each room is well turned out and each has it's own decor. Every room is en-suite. We chose a room on the 3rd floor, by the terrace, which has great views of the Atlas Mountains and is a great place for chilling with a beer or wine in hand.

The cookery course was great fun. My wife and I cooked along with Mouna, creating a number of traditional dishes which we then are for our evening meal (with wine!). Mouna was full of top tips and made the day fun and relaxed. The course wasn't technical, just laid back and soulful - just like Moroccan cuisine.

Mouna also took us round to the neighbourhood bakery (a communal oven where people of the neighbourhood take their bread, biscuits or anything else which needs baked and the man who runs it fires it all into a massive wood-burning stove) which was great to see. She and Simon also offered to walk round the médina with us to make sure we went to the right stalls and got the best from out trip.

If you head to Meknes, which is well worth a visit - tourism hasn't quite kicked in here so it hasn't lost what Marrakech unfortunately has - I'd highly recommend Riad Lahboul.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Cam4Sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#3 of 43 in Meknes
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#7 of 43 in Meknes
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#2 of 43 in Meknes
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Bahia
Ryad Bahia
#5 of 43 in Meknes
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lahboul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lahboul

Address: 6 Derb Ain Selfi | Rouamzine, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: £50 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lahboul is a traditional Moroccan guest house, beautifully restored in the elegant Andalusia style of hand made mosaics. Ideally situated on the edge of the Medina, the Lahboul area has both the atmosphere of the medina as well as its own architectural style and lovely botanical gardens. All the bedrooms are en suite and combine traditional Moroccan style with modern facilities providing atmosphere and a high standard of comfort with European facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Lahboul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing