We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!!”
Review of Riad Lahboul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Lahboul
Ranked #6 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Cowes, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The best place we stayed in whilst in Morocco,due mainly to the staff and owners Simon and Mouna,They couldn't have done enough for us,Mouna introduced my wife to the bathhouse,even took her there,what an experience!! Simon was always available to help in anyway possible,eg,walk with us so we didnt get lost finding our way back,giving us his phone number should we get lost,and promising to come and get us should we need help. Mouna even took us and showed us where to catch buses to various towns. The Riad is unbelievably beautiful with its tiled columns and walls and such a surprise . Like I say further on,"its a hidden gem" ! Itsthe must place to stay when visiting Meknes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
84
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlaar
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Great place to stay from one night to an entire week. Meknes is a wonderfull city and with the help and tips from Mouna and Simon it was a great experience for both the parents and the children.
Lovely decorated rooms, a friendly reception with all the help you can imagine and great cooking.

Simon and Mouna, .... Thanks a lot !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lies1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I stayed here for 3 days and loved every minute of it. The Riad is absolutely beautiful with the most intricate and amazing mosaics - the best I've seen in a Riad, and the stay was a home-away-from-home - I really felt comfortable here. The rooms were spacious and clean and Mouna and Simon could not have been more helpful.

After the craziness of the Souks & Place el-Hedim it was a joy to return to the tranquillity of Riad Lahboul and relax on the terrace.

Definitely try out Mouna's food - it was amazing, and is a great opportunity to eat Moroccon food other than the Tajines and Couscous that we were normally served elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The most salient sensation experienced at the Riad Lahboul, was that of integrating into a family home that is fully assimilated into the the local community. Situated on the periphery of the ceaselessly stimulating Medina, Riad Lahboul allows one to experience a genuine slice of Moroccan life that is refreshingly far removed from the tawdry hotels that isolate themselves from the heart of Meknes. Guests are unhesitantly accepted as if consanguine, a trait which evokes a unique charm and character which is so often lacking from impersonal and businesslike accomodation.

The interior of Riad Lahboul is perennially enchanting and will very likely induce a stiff neck due to the consistent surveying of each impressively decorated wall and ceiling. Although a mere minute's meander from the buzzing, central hive of the old city, retreating to the Riad during the often intense heat of midday is an immediately therapeutic and calming experience. It is equally meditative to relax and socialise on the beautiful open terrace that, with dusk's arrival, unveils a mesmeric sonic panorama of live music and the myriad voices of gregarious locals.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Stapleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is a true Moroccan house based around a courtyard and fabulously decorated and located in the old medina, so that you experience the real flavor and essence of Meknes.The owners Simon and Mouna live on the property and provide super service along with insight into the culture of Morocco and expert guidance on what to do and see. Be sure to eat at the hotel during your stay. Mouna's meals are the best food I had during my month-long stay in Meknes. The terrace is a wonderfaul place to relax and absorb the atmosphere. The rooms are the size of European hotel rooms (small for Americans) and for the most part you are living out of your suitcase. The bed is very comfortable and each room has a bathroom with a decent size shower. Allin all it is a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yohoho777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellingly
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2010

A very good riad in Meknes whoch is THE real Morocco. Beautiful decor with lovelly rooms. We stayed in a room on the terrace decorated in the local farm style. Excellent bathroom in which everything worked; great fluffy towels! The terrace overlooks gardens and the town and you can see the mountains. We spent a lot of time just chilling out on the terrace.
The food was so tasty. A choice of courses at dinner numerous side dishes and some dishes we had never seen before in Morocco. Mouna of Simon and Mouna, the owners, is Moroccain and these were her old family recipes.
Lovely lazy breakfasts on the terrace!
Simon and Mouna were so hewlpful, organising visits and taking us to the markets and leaving us with good guides.
the staff are very kind and helpful and we were made to feel very special.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themillersHellingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I had an amazing stay at Riad Laboul. Simon, Mouna and their staff couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent and my bed was so comfortable!
We had a personal guided tour of the medina, Mouna gave us guidance and helped us to get the best prices! We tried out the local hammam and on the last night had a rocking performance from the Riad Laboul band where we danced and enjoyed an evening of traditional music and dance whilst having our hands henna-ed!
Can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieHGoa_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tafilalet & Spa
Hotel Tafilalet & Spa
#3 of 19 in Meknes
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#15 of 43 in Meknes
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#3 of 43 in Meknes
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Yamcha
Riad Yamcha
#7 of 43 in Meknes
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lahboul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lahboul

Property: Riad Lahboul
Address: 6 Derb Ain Selfi | Rouamzine, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lahboul is a traditional Moroccan guest house, beautifully restored in the elegant Andalusia style of hand made mosaics. Ideally situated on the edge of the Medina, the Lahboul area has both the atmosphere of the medina as well as its own architectural style and lovely botanical gardens. All the bedrooms are en suite and combine traditional Moroccan style with modern facilities providing atmosphere and a high standard of comfort with European facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Lahboul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing