We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superbly restored riad”
Review of Riad El Ma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Ma
Ranked #2 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulogne sur Gesse, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A superbly restored riad”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Meknes is my favourite Moroccan city and this was my favourite riad. We always stay in riads when we can, there is something about the geometry of these buildings, with the central courtyard, the greenery and roof terraces that makes one feel welcome. Some Moroccan renovations always add a degree of kitch, patterned tiles, glitzy cushion covers etc, but this one had been restored sympathetically, and unlike the others, there was no plastic structure to keep the courtyard dry in the winter, instead the original system of drains with a central fountain. The manageress organised a car to meet us at the station, take us to Volubis and Moulay Idriss and return to the hotel.. We were given a very friendly greeting and as it was the low season we were upgraded to a big double room which opened onto the courtyard. We had an excellent meal ..a perfectly cooked tagine.. with two other friendly travellers who had bravely hired a car to get around Morocco. I wished we'd stayed longer than the one night, there's many sights worth a visit other than Volubis and the shopping was remarkably hassle free compared to Marrakesh and Fez. you can explore the souk without getting lost!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellersabroad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    40
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
185
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at this riad one night with my Dad and had a great stay. We booked our room by e-mail.
We stayed in the yellow room (chambre jaune) on the ground floor. The room was big, clean, with 2 beds (one queen and one twin). Nice bathroom also clean. The 2 ladies who manage the riad on behalf of the owner are very firendly, eager to help and to make you feel at home. Very professional and efficient. After visiting Meknes in the afternoon we went back to the riad to relax on the upper terrace and roof top where you can bathe in the swimming pool or enjoy the sight of the medina and the minaret of the Great Mosque right in front of you at sunset in lounge chairs. The courtyard of the hotel is beautifully decorated with wood carvings, mosaics, stucco, plants and a fountain in the middle.
We had an excellent dinner at the riad, creative and tasty. All you have to do is make them know by midday that you want to have dinner at the riad, so that they can cook for guests accordingly. Very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincesxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This Riad is a gem. The two Aminas were very helpful. The dinner was delicious but too much food for us and served too late. We like to eat dinner at 6:30 not 8:00 (I am 80). It was an easy walk out of the medina to other restaurants. They arranged a taxi to take us to Volubilis and then on the Fes which was very convenient but also lots more expensive than taking the train.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srscmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in this beautiful Riad for two nights in October. We booked one of their suites for the price of a normal room because all smaller roomd were booked. When we arrived we choose for the yellow suite because it’s situated on the ground floor. This suite seemed to be the most traditional bedroom of the house. We loved the room and it’s decoration. Like in Rabat it felt like we were sleeping in the Alhambra palace in Granada. The room and the bed were very comfortable. Unfortunately the big couch was a bed also. Because of it’s dimensions it was hard to sit on it. The bathroom had a good shower and all facilities we needed.

Like our room the whole Riad was a beautiful oasis in de medina of Meknes. Amina and Amina showed a huge hospitality during our stay. The youngest Amina was very helpful all day long and she spoke English very well.

Breakfast and dinner were served on the patio at the ground floor which we disliked. The patio was quite cold in October and so we preferred to have breakfast on the roof terrace. But we understand the ladies have to climb too many stairs to bring the food up there. Breakfast itself was fine but nothing special. The same about the dinner. The tajine was fine (nothing to complain about) but we got better ones during our three week trip through Morocco.

All in all we had a great stay at Riad El Ma, so we would recommend this Riad to everybody who wants to visit the medina of Meknes.

Room Tip: If you prefer a suite then you better book the yellow one because it's on the ground floor. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
206 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Meknes ,one of the four imperial cities with a wonderful Medina has a hotel / Riad that should not be missed.Parking the car outside the walls a friendly gentleman with a cart will take your luggage and lead you to Riad El Ma ( not so easy to find by yourself ) There one is welcomed by theladies of the house both named Amina and both lovely hosts where one is an excellent cook too for fine moroccan Tajines. Wine you have to bring yourself,whilst dinner is served in the open court yard with lots of plants and-- the special cat Mimi...For my friend´s birthday they even made a little cake with a candle. A very recomendable AND affordable place with very nice rooms / suites..

Room Tip: the yellow suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ovotherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Email and booking contact was very easy, and owner Francis very helpful...he even called me on the phone from France the week before my visit to answer questions in person.

We stayed in the red room/suite, which was pleasantly large and very good value for money. The riad was calm and tranquil, with a great dipping pool on the roof terrace (deep and big enough to actually get in rather than just dangle toes in). The main terrace had no view (a small sun deck above does) but this actually made it more private than a lot of other riad roof terraces.

The food was excellent, and all the staff very helpful, particularly the 2 Aminas.

The only slight down side was a lady staying in the room below (I think she must be a regular customer as she had her own seat down on the patio) who slept late into the morning (every morning) and snored really loudly, with her windows open to the patio. We had to sit eating breakfast with this loud chorus as accompaniment each morning, which was rather unpleasant. This probably was more apparent since this is one of the quietest riads we've ever stayed in (and they're all known for their calm and quiet nature!).

As a note, there is a cat who lives there, so it might not be great if you're not a fan of them.

I would definitely recommend this riad, and we would stay here again should we be in Meknes another time.

Room Tip: Red room is plenty big enough for a few days, and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A wonderful home from home with every whim catered for before you've even thought of it!
The dinners have been wonderful - beef and pear tagine, beautiful soup, pancakes for breakfast and homemade honey and almond cakes.
The staff are exceptional; gracious, accommodating and thoughtful.
Please do not miss it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FLN1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#1 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#8 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yamcha
Riad Yamcha
#6 of 43 in Meknes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Lahboul
Riad Lahboul
#7 of 43 in Meknes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Ma

Property: Riad El Ma
Address: 4 Derb Sidi Besri | Ancienne Médina, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad el Ma guest house is located in the heart of the historic city center, a few steps away from the town’s most famous monuments such as the beautiful Bab Mansour gate and the Bouinania Medersa.In the delicious atmosphere created by running water and foutains, you can relax in a fully renovated “Riad”, a traditional moroccan mansion built around an open courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad El Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing