We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better hotel in Meknes”
Review of Maroc Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meknes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maroc Hotel
Ranked #38 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

A quiet and friendly place; the Maroc Hotel is well positioned relatively close to the famous Bab Mansour gate and Place el Hedim. The single room I had was very clean, well furnished (in a Morrocan hand painted style) and with its own sink. It had a window to a central orange tree courtyard. Security is excellent with CCTV and a night porter. There is excellent wifi to lounge areas on the ground and first floor. The shower rooms (shared) were perfectly clean and had good hot water. Breakfast was well done and the service was as good as it gets. I cannot think of anything bad to say about the place and wholeheartedly recommend it. It was terrific value (100dr a room) and if returning to Meknes I would make a beeline to the Maroc Hotel without any hesitation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Soupinmyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Maroc Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Rooms have two beds and a table, and a view of the courtyard.
Great price and location, friendly staff, quiet.
Downsides: two toilets (one squatting) and a shower per floor isn't really enough, wifi doesn't work everywhere in the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic budget hotel offering you all that you could need. 100dh pp for a double with shared bathroom. Everything very clean, always hot water, wifi worked in our room, staff very helpful. Yes the entrance and halls are dark, who cares! You don't stay in them. Our room had a huge window looking into a courtyard with orange trees...beautiful. BYO toilet paper or you can buy from reception. Good location, taxi can drop you right out front, everything is walkable distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NixxxyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The entrance is tucked away off the street and doesn't look inviting. But put that aside and inside you'll find a simple, clean hostel/hotel for a reasonable price - 200dh double/night. 2 toilets, 1 shower per floor but they were clean and tidy. BYO toilet paper and bath towel. The room was decent with a sink, desk and two beds and we took advantage of the couch area on the first floor to soak up the sounds of the street below and the free WiFi. More than adequate for passing through. The staff can arrange a grand taxi to Volubillis but bargain hard for a good price.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hotel Maroc is very close to the Medina and is surrounded by many cafe's, being only a 6 Dh cab ride from the train station (meter!). Rooms are very simple, with shared toilets and showers for the whole floor. We never had a problem and they were reasonably clean. Staff are unmemorable, no interactions beyond business. Its not that cheap considering what the hotel has, however it is good for one or two days (200Dh double).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackpackerNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Sparkling clean, really, the rooms and the bathrooms were super clean. However one toilette and one shower for the whole floor not a lot. When first entering the Hotel it doesn't seem inviting, quite the opposite the, the entrance area is very dark and gloomy and the staff is really unfriendly. But it really is super clean, can't stress that enough and there is wifi in the rooms, which is always a plus, and a sink. There really is not much more to stay about it. It is unexciting not that cheap actually but comfortable and the super clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This hotel is in the lovely old part of town full of history and character. A short walk to the sights in the medina and surrounding square. Close to good cheap cafes and bakeries.
Basic rooms, nice courtyard with orange trees, relaxing rooftop terrace. Traditional style lounge area, spotlessly clean bathrooms and floors.
The staff speak very limited English, except for one man. Great value for the money

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meknes
11.5 mi away
Diyar Timnay
Diyar Timnay
#2 of 3 in Moulay Idriss
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bab Mansour
Bab Mansour
#18 of 19 in Meknes
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akouas
Hotel Akouas
#14 of 19 in Meknes
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Zahraa
Ryad Zahraa
#19 of 43 in Meknes
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malak
Riad Malak
#30 of 43 in Meknes
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maroc Hotel

Address: 7 Rue Rouamzine, Meknes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing