We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet and a bit cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad La maison d'a cote
Ranked #18 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Nice, quiet and a bit cold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Wery exclusive, strategic position, nice people, great breakfast and price competitive compared to other riad nearby.
During the night the room was a bit cold, the bathroom was very very cold, I wish we had an extra blanket for us...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Riad La maison d'a cote for one night on our 3 week trip around Morocco and would HIGHLY recommend it if you go to Meknes. It actually is a real 'Riad' (not just a Dar) and was one of the largest and most beautiful family-run Moroccan houses we stayed in.

The door to the riad opens into a huge courtyard with orange trees and is open to the sky - a perfect place to relax. Our room was on the ground floor and was seriously large and very comfortable. The riad was clearly historic and had a lot of original architecture around but had strangely been renovated in a very modern way with modern furniture. Different to most other riads you will see but I think this is because it really is their family home.

We were the only people staying at Riad La maison d'a cote at the time (apart from Thami and his family) so our time there was very quiet and peaceful. It was just unfortunately that we only could stay for one night!

The location of the riad is very very good - a short few minute walk from the main square in the old town and literally in a quiet side street off one of the main souks - just perfect for us.

Thami had emailed us to confirm our booking a few weeks before we arrived and sent us his phone number and told us to call him when we arrived in town. When we arrived we called him and had no problems organising an easy place to meet which was very much appreciated. Thami was truly a nice helpful man.

You won't find the riad by yourself so it’s best to meet Thami when you arrive. But once you are shown how to get there it will be relatively easy to find on your own.

Meknes reminded me a lot of a 'mini' version of Marrakesh in its layout with a large central square and market streets coming off it in all directions.

Breakfast was the usual Moroccan pancakes, jams, orange juice and coffee - no complaints.

Thami even helped us look up the train timetables from his computer and showed us where we needed to go exactly on a map which was much appreciated.

Overall I would definitely stay at Riad La maison d'a cote again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here at the peaceful Riad La Maison d'a cote in Meknes.
Everything was great, the owners were very helpful( guided us to the riad, helped with directions to other places and were really just a lovely couple with a sweet little baby daughter). The outdoor courtyard was tranquil with orange trees and tables and chairs/loungers ( a great place to sip your mint tea). Our room was up some stairs but it was comfortable, cosy and very clean. We had a small adjoining bathroom which was fine, a shower head holder would have been handy but I don't think they are very common in Morocco. Overall we loved spending time here, as it truly felt like a little idyllic escape from the outside world.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Great hospitality. Although Riad was not accessible by car, host picked us up after SMS, call and guided and helped us with suitcases, it was a delight to enter the riad. Open courtyard with orange tree and spacious. Ground floor large room in traditional decor.
Good value and splendid breakfast. Meknes is a fascinating city and a great starter before entering Fes and Marrakesh.
Hope to return one day.
Karin et Mark (Australia)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLMabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed here for three nights in January, 2013. The owner and his wife manage this well run accommodation and are always available to offer advice and "tourist tips" as what to avoid and what is interesting to see. We arrived in a downpour of rain and were soaking wet when we got to the Medina from the train station. A quick telephone call to the Riad and the owner gave us precise instructions where to wait for him to lead us to his Riad. Upon arrival he had a fire going in the commons area in order that we could warm up and dry our clothes and luggage...he even provided a gas heater for our room to take the chill off.

A good place, a great location, clean and a damn friendly staff....recommended.

Room Tip: As I recall, all the rooms face a an enclosed central courtyard...and my guess is that they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyIdahoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Riad is well kept and tastefully decorated. The atmosphere is relaxing and in keeping with the more laid back vibe of Meknes in comparison with it's sister city Fes. The rooms are large, comfortable, clean and beautiful. I only stayed here a night, but could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mol, België
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The owners create a nice and very quite atmosphere in an amazing setting. The rooms are well decorated! You even wouldn't leave the Riad anymore.

The breakfast and dinner they cook on request is amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesbet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#36 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#7 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#22 of 43 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La maison d'a cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La maison d'a cote

Property: Riad La maison d'a cote
Address: 25 Derb Lakhouaja, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad La maison d'a cote 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad La maison d'a cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing