We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home cooked Morrocon food”
Review of Mille et une nuits

Mille et une nuits
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Meknes
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great home cooked Morrocon food”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was one of the best meals that we had in Morroco, having travelled to Fes, Meknes and Marrakesh. If you can afford to wait a while for the food to arrive (or order beforehand!), then I'd recommend this restaurant - it's worth it, as it is proper home-cooked Morrocon food. Lovely hosts too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    16
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“VERY slow but delicious!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived "early" around 7pm. Initially we thought we had stumbled into someone's home only to discover it really was the restaurant we had been recommended. The family was very nice and it is definitely a casual relaxed place. Unfortunately we had to wait almost and hour and a half for our food, but is was delicious! The portions were generous and we shared one chicken tajine between to two of us. I would recommend this for people with a lot of time who want real traditional Moroccan food. Good tajines take time and Mille et Une Nuits is no exception.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home Moroccan cuisine.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Superb home made cuisine. We visited it two times, during our stay in Morocco. If you can afford wait more than 40 minutes, this place is for you. No meals from refrigerator.

Helpful?
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Restauran review”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This restaurant is a little off the main square in a small dodgy looking alleyway. The restaurant front room is used by the family as a living room! The restaurant itself is very dark and a little dingy (thus I would say it has bad ambiance)

The food however is better. My mum ordered the chicken tajine with vegetable and couscous. She swears it is the best chicken couscous tajine she tried in morocco. We also ordered pastilla and that was top notch. other dishes likes the harissa soup and vegetable tajine are standard. Alot of dishes need to be preordered (hours in advance) because everything is cooked fresh. Whilst this is commendable, it may not be worth the effort/time given the very very poor ambiance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“warm feet”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We got soaking wet at Volubilis and when we went searching for somewhere to eat lunch in Meknes, we hoped it would have heating. A fellow connected with one of the restaurants we visited and rejected because of a lack of heating, led us through alleys to this place. When we arrived the door was locked and it seemed like we were entering someone's house, the kid doing homework beside the heater. That's right--- a heater. We stripped off our wet socks and roasted our toes by the gas heater, which at this point had been relocated to sit right next to our table (poor kid). No food was ready so everything had to be made from scratch, so it was slow (much to our delight because that gave us more time near the heater). We both had couscous with vegetables. It was great...needless to say, fresh, and nicely spiced. Costs were the usual, about 60 or 70 MAD each, I think, for the couscous. It was hard to put our semi-dry socks back on at the end of our visit. I feel a real fondness for this family and its restaurant ( and heater).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mille et une nuits also viewed

Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Mille et une nuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing