We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip 2 days”
Review of Ibis Meknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in November - having travelled for business. The hotel is comfortable and meets the basic needs. Clean and well maintained. The beds are very comfy with lovely fluffy pillows - a welcome after 14 hours travel. The breakfast was average, boiled eggs, scrambled, pastries, cereal, cheese and bread. Meknes is not a tourist area therefore you get to see the real morocco, the town is very busy and the ibis is between the old and the new town.

The old town is very traditional, lots of men sat drinking coffee in cafe's, woman do not frequent theses as it is not Culturally accepted. Whilst there are lots of men - it was by no way intimidating for a western woman. We could not find anywhere we would wish to eat in the town, therefore ate in the ibis which was very nice. Again this is not a tourist area - so limited shopping.

The new town is more vibrant - again lots of men meeting in cafe's, however there are a couple of bars where it is acceptable for woman to go and drink. Being a Muslim country alcohol is not widely available and is very expensive ( around £6 glass wine and £5 small bottle beer). Le pub is recommended - don't let the darkness put you off it is lovely inside and blacked out due to serving alcohol (as to not offend).

English is not widely spoken although the locals try, French is widely spoken as the third official language. The people of Morocco are extremely friendly, polite and helpful. They were a little curious of a blonde woman with an English accent!

Roads can be scary both for driving and walking - doesn't appear to be any system - free for all. Public transport is interesting - taxi's are public so expect to share! Travel first class on train (cheap and comfy) you are guaranteed a seat

Taxi from the airport is grande taxi - to rabet train station they charged 200d (v. Expensive) - negotiate!
Petit taxi - are local to area ( blue in meknes) (v. Cheap)

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - request smoking or non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Customer service leaves a lot to be desired.

We were at the pool and after paying for several drinks we gave 100 for a drink. We were not brought change, which was fine as we would have left it as a tip.

However tonight we paid for four drinks with a large bill. We were then not brought change. When we asked for the change we were told that we had not paid and needed to pay a second time. As a result we told the manager about this experience and she told us we were confused and she was not going to do anything about it.

We do not recommend staying at this hotel or patronizing this bar as they were dismissive and rude. It is absolutely not the level of customer service that you would expect from a well-known hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling around Morocco for about 10 days so far and this is the most 'western' hotel we have stayed in - quite normal in terms of room design/ facilities and service. Free car parking amd very easy to find just down from the Medina right next to MacDonalds and Pizza Hut (don't let that hold you back). It has a lovely pool area which provided great relief from the 47 degrees we experienced in August 2013. We had breakfast included - boiled eggs, bread, salad, juice , yogurt, cheese and cold cuts and coffee/tea - all nicely presented and fresh. Service was friendly with some staff ae to speak English (as well as the usual French, Arabic and Spanish). All up a welcome experience and highly recommended if you are looking for a break from Riad style stays.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Well located between the Medina and la cité nouvelle. 250mt from McDonald and Pizza Hut. Simple rooms, friendly and helping staff, wifi stable, clean and white showers. Bar and restaurant, laundry service, well kept swimming pool. Reasonable price. Great value!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1fretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It is at the best location. McDonald and Pizza hut are at it's door step. On one side there is old city and on the other side new city. Hotel is clean and staff is good. As usual in every IBIS hotel same breakfast every morning.
.

Room Tip: Facing old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is located in the new part of the city yet the old medina is not far away. Nice green space around it which is soothing to the eye on a hot day.
The hotel and the rooms were neat and service was great, with a smile! We usually had the local foods outside but did eat in the restaurant once and it was hygienic and made well.
Loved the tiles in the bathroom, some of the them had the local colourful Moroccan designs.
If you get tired eating Moroccan food during your trip, there is a Pizza Hut and a Mac Donald near the hotel! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The hotel enjoys a very good position between the old and the new town and is easy to find.The public areas bar and pool area were good but our bedroom, usual Ibis style had a pretty poor bathroom with cracked tiles and broken bracket on the shower head. The personal touch is absent and when we reported the shower we had no sense that much notice had been taken.
The breakfast was the usual buffet style, adequate but nothing more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueleeds186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
3.2 mi away
Menzeh Dalia
Menzeh Dalia
#16 of 19 in Meknes
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zaki Hotel
Zaki Hotel
#9 of 19 in Meknes
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Transatlantique
Transatlantique
#13 of 19 in Meknes
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Plaisance
Hotel Plaisance
#18 of 19 in Meknes
13 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#6 of 19 in Meknes
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Swani
Hotel Swani
#4 of 19 in Meknes
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Meknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Meknes Hotel

Address: Avenue des F.A.R, Meknes 50000, Morocco (Formerly Ibis Moussafir Meknes)
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Meknes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the old and the modern city, the Ibis Moussafir Meknes hotel offers you all the charm of Morocco. The different districts are accessible on foot and the hotel is located 20 km from the airport. Fès and the Roman city of Volubilis are a few km away. The hotel offers all moderrn amenities in a traditional setting: 104 air-conditioned rooms with traditional decoration, swimming pool with a terrace, bar open 24/24. A meeting room for 70 persons is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Meknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Moussafir Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing