We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in Morroco”
Review of Riad Benchekroun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Benchekroun
Ranked #9 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

This is probably also the nicest place I've ever stayed anywhere!
Well signposted so it's easy to find in the medina.
We were welcomed with a big smile, almond cakes and mint tea from the manager and chef.
The riad itself is beautiful, incredibly ornate original paintwork and stucco, luxurious cushioned seating areas to sit and not one but THREE amazing rooftop terraces. We spent both nights up there reading, lazing in the big beds, watching the sun set and listening to the call to prayer.
The manager couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming - a super nice man, and not overbearing at all - he knew when to leave us in peace :) he also spent a while helping us plan our journey to essaouira.
Our room was great - clean and well appointed, with the biggest comfiest bed and a decent shower.
On our second night there ( we were only booked for one night but stayed an extra night!) we ordered dinner on the rooftop - 15€ for salad, soup, bread, tagine and desert. I'm not exaggerating when I say it was the best chicken I've ever had!!! A really incredible meal, brought to us by the ever-smiling chef.
This is a really special place, not long opened but you can tell that there is a lot of care and attention taken over every detail, and they seemed genuinely happy to have us there. Meknes itself we enjoyed a lot, due to its old and laid back feel, but to be honest we were happy to spend most of our time in the guesthouse!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Soapywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

This little place made a perfect base for discovering Meknes. Really welcoming, friendly service; extremely affordable; great location. Perfect for exploring and discovering the medina. It really feels like a little sanctuary with beautiful stylized decor on the interior and the wonderful roof terrace providing the real highlight. Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leaf_on_the_wind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We only spend 2 nigts in Meknes at Riad Benchekroun and we were really sad two leave. Such a beautiful riad right in the medina of Meknes. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and offers great services.

Room Tip: try to get the root terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were on a tour through morocco during august (very hot) and ended up in this riad for one night. It's located in one of those quiet little streets in the medina - a little hard to find, but with that medieval feeling. The riad is very beautiful with a lot of details, very colorful, and an amazing terasse. I don't know about a pool or gym... We had a nice stay there:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annewill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had a lovely stay with two friends in beautiful Meknes at Riad Benchekroun. The staff were exceptionally friendly, welcoming, and did everything they could do to ensure we were as happy as could be. The riad itself is strikingly beautiful from the front door right to the top of the second terrace. (complete with comfortable furniture and lovely views) Breakfast was delicious, the beds were comfortable, the rooms and riad spotless, the shower very nice ... above all, everything was calming, comforting and peaceful. The location is great too. It's really a perfect place to stay in my opinion.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank wayfaring_straynger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I spent 6 nights at the hotel during SIAM trade fair 2013. The hotel is located in the old quater of Meknes, which is only few minutes on walk to the Ancient Medina where visitors can explore the culture of Moroccan (it's always very crowded in the afternoon & evening with lots of games, beggars, street sellers... and lots of sound). It's easy to walk around the old gates and wall around the old city from there.
The hotel is small with 6 or 8 rooms, i don't remember. But lovely and quite clean, daily reserved. It's interesting to enjoy breakfast in the terrace in the morning when sun shines warmly. Breakfast is quite good with bread, cakes, egg, orange juice, hot milk, tea & coffee. Sofas are available most everywhere in the hotel where we can have meals, drink or surf web. We ordered dinner for 4 days at the hotel. Mrs Bouchra cooks very well. We enjoyed a lot her Tajine and Couscous, soup and fruits. While we could not enjoy food in outside restaurants.
The staffs and boss are very helpful, kind and friendly. At the 2nd evening, we (are women) intended to go out for dinner but the hotel manager told us that it was not safe for us to go out in the evening, so he went out to find something for us but the shops were all closed. He called a man to come to drive us to the "new city" for dinner. Until we came back the hotel, did we know the driver was the hotel owner :)) Generally, we found the staffs very friendly and helpful. We were taught some French by them and recommended beautiful places nearby and transportation.
Although it was not ideal for those who prefer modern and full-equipped accommodation, it's a lovely and convenient one for those who love Morocco's featured decoration and to explore the culture and people here. I will recommend it to my friends and will choose it again if i have a chance to come back.
Morocco is really a beautiful country. Especially, don't forget to enjoy as much as you can fresh and delicious fruits at very cheap prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mỹ Hạnh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Excellent place to stay. Clean rooms and very polite staff: they did everything to make my stay more comfortable. The breakfast is more then one can eat. The optional dinner is complete and well-prepared. The view from the terrace over the old medina is lovely. The riad was recently renovated and is well decorated. Due to the location one can hear the appeal for prayer quite good, but this is similar to other riads in Morocco.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Dvl120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#2 of 43 in Meknes
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#7 of 43 in Meknes
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#26 of 43 in Meknes
89 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Menthe et Citron
Riad Menthe et Citron
#17 of 43 in Meknes
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Benchekroun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Benchekroun

Address: Derb Mekka 8 Tiberbarine, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: £34 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Benchekroun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing